We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A downtown gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
“A downtown gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel is in a FANTASTIC location! I travel to Cleveland frequently for work and I always stay here. It is within walking distance to many fabulous restaurants and other activities. The staff is ALWAYS so friendly and helpful. The rooms are huge. My only complaint is the TV remote- it frequently does not work well.
This is a great place to stay when visiting downtown Cleveland.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    195
    58
    27
    25
See reviews for
102
181
22
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We found this hotel, when searching through Trip Advisor. The rooms are unique with beautiful hardwood floors and high ceilings. The room was quite spacious, even with 2 queen beds. The bathroom was roomy and the AC excellent.

The parking garage was just around the corner. The elevators, though small, were quick. And of course, the complimentary breakfast was very good. The view was quite nice. We could see Progressive Field from our window. The hotel is close to everything: the casino, the ballpark, Q Arena, the 4th Street restaurants, the Science Center and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

I could not give this establishment 5 stars. Unfortunately, the mattress of the bed we slept in needed to be replaced. Each morning we would wake to the sheets and mattress pad off from the corners of the bed, at the top of the bed.

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: May want to stay away from rooms on 13th floor. Outside the windows of our room (1305), the lights t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, MS
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is an old property,renovated and extremely beautiful. Close to everything, you can park your car and not use it again until you leave. They have a great managers reception in the evening with free drinks and appetizers, and one of the best continental breakfasts I've ever had. The room was beautiful. The only problem, the doors in the hall you can hear all through the night slamming shut, you can hear the elevator ding when its on the floor (and our room was way down the hall from the elevators) and when the a/c fan comes on, you can't hear anything else because it makes so much noise! So,the only thing lacking was the quality of sleep because of the various noises, we did not sleep a wink!

Room Tip: We were way down the hall from the elevator and away from a lot of,the rooms, and it still didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This property is ideally located within walking distance of the sports facilities and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. The rates are reasonable for a downtown hotel. The full breakfast offers a variety of options. As a added bonus, there is a manager's reception every day at 5:00 pm.

Many restaurants are close by and offer you a range of options.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Came into town to catch an Indians game and couldn't have asked for a nicer hotel.

We arrived to the hotel and sadly they charge for parking which just sucks. It's $20/night for it to be valeted or you can self park it in the garage next door for $15 a night.

The rooms are pretty big with really high ceilings. Hardwood floor, desk, bed you know the usual and pretty clean. The view from the 14th floor was pretty awesome could see right over to the stadium and into downtown.

Within an easy walking distance to the stadium/arena with tons of food options nearby. There's a nice restaurant section a block away where Chef Michael Symon has his place Lola with other places of all types on a nice little street. Closer to the stadium you have a dozen or so different choices for food and drinks.

A little pricey for me, but the location of this place was totally worth it and when I come back to Cleveland one day I'll be staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We just plucked this hotel from the IHG website because it was located near he Rock &Roll Hall of Fame. The personal service is what made the difference. It's an urban downtown facility so I was not really looking forward to it. However the personal service from the support staff was out standing and it made all the difference. From the valet parking staff, the staff at the front desk and the most outstanding bellboy. A young man named Randie could not have been more helpful. He was friendly and even a little charming. It too a little while for,the front dest to accommodate our request to place us in adjoining rooms (my elderly father was traveling with us). He stood by and then showed us to our rooms and carried our bags in and made himself available for further needs during our stay. We left medical equipment in our car and he took charge in getting it to us. He provided us with a great recommendation for dining. The hotel was old but nicely updated and the rooms were outstanding. The location is great in terms of the R&R hall, dining, shopping, etc. if visiting Cleveland I would recommend this facility.

Room Tip: The views of the city are best from the higher floors. We stayed on the 13th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The situation of this hotel is optimal for easy in and out of town and lends an extremely walkable stay. Fourth Street restaurants, Indians game down a few blocks...walked to Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Warehouse District and passed the Casino on the way back to hotel. The building is beautiful. The room was spacious and unique with hard wood floors but horrible paint job, missing tile grout, damp feel to room, and saggy bed. No problems during stay except keys had to be recoded between nights. We didn't really run into anyone that worked there almost the whole stay except the breakfast bar staff. They were friendly enough considering how busy the guests keep them.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Brenda M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Address: 629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a VIDEO TOUR of our hotel. Take a step back in time as you enter this 19th century historic Guardian Bank Building converted into one of the finest Cleveland hotels. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland - Downtown is located in downtown Cleveland's financial district between E. 9th St and E. 6th St on Euclid Ave. We are within walking distance from Cleveland s main attractions including: LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers Q Arena, Cleveland Browns Stadium, , Warehouse District, Scene Pavilion, Tower city, House of Blues, Cleveland State University, Playhouse Square, etc. With 9 different room types, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown has a room for every need. We feature the largest standard guest rooms in Cleveland, two room suites, Jacuzzi suites, rooms with kitchenettes and meeting rooms. We also offer vacation packages to Cleveland s major attractions including: The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Pickwick and Frolic Comedy Club, House of Blues and The Cleveland Clinic. We are now also offering free high speed Internet access in every guest room and meeting room. Visit Cleveland, OH and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Ohio
Holiday Inn Cleveland Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;