We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; needs work on checkin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Chillicothe, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location; needs work on checkin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We have stayed here a few times; it's a walk to 4th street, Progressive field and the casino. The rooms are very nice and the breakfast is the usual continental you expect from Holiday Inn Express. However, they need to do checkin differently. We had requested an early checkin (which is only a request and isn't promised), however we waited an hour to get checked in. We weren't the only ones waiting but there were two front desk workers and they each had people waiting. What irritated me was that we were there before another two couples and the other front desk worker called them up when the king came available. We were there 20 minutes earlier and they were not platinum members but since there wasn't a list or anything, the desk clerks just called whomever.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
ashes33,
Thank you for continuing to stay with us. I am really sorry to hear about your experience. We really value your business as a guest and especially as a IHG Rewards Platinum member. We are not proud to hear that we kept you waiting or made you feel as if we forgot about you, and as a loyal member to us, I can see how this type of service would be frustrating. I did however review reports of most of our May check-ins and while I see that guests were checked into rooms before IHG Rewards members, in no instance were these the same room types. I am hoping that the reason they received their room before you is because they had a different one of our many different room types reserved. We have many different King bedded rooms with different features(ex. 2 person Whirlpool, Sofa bed, Honeymoon Suite, Garden Tub, Standard). I have forwarded your review to our Front Office Manager and Assistant General Manager for further review and training opportunities. You will be happy to hear we recently hired a fantastic Assistant General Manager, Jim, who has made one of his first projects to shorten the Platinum member check in at our hotel! So I hope you will give us another opportunity to show you how much we appreciate you by offering a much smoother check-in the next time you stay with us. Thank you so much for your feedback. I feel like we can really grow from it. We hope to see you again soon.

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
(216) 443-1000 ext 4402
maria@holidayinncleveland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    191
    56
    27
    25
See reviews for
100
169
22
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

My husband and I took a little trip to Cleveland - see the sights and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. This Holiday Inn is a real gem in the middle of the city. Very close to restaurants, shopping, a casino, walking distance to the Hall of Fame, very close to the stadiums, the hotel is a perfect place to stay. A converted bank from the late 1800's, the building has a lot of character. The room we had was amazing with ceilings that were greater than 12 feet high and the size of the room was that of a dance floor ! Wood floors throughout. No bumping into furniture in this room !!!! We were located on the 15th floor with views of the stadiums. Elevators are interesting - small and compact, but they date back to the early days of the bank. Staff was friendly, and helpful. The gals that ran the breakfast bar were very friendly and kept the receptacles for the food filled with a fresh supply of eggs , real bacon and plenty of hot coffee! They had a most unique gadget that made pancakes in a minute and they were really good. !!!! Ample room in the breakfast area. with plenty table and chairs Keep in mind that their is no valet parking, but there is a convenient parking garage just around the corner from the hotel. Cost is $15 a day with unlimited access ( you pay at the Holiday Inn , not at the garage. It is added to your bill. DON"T forget to get your ticket stamped !!) We had a wonderful experience at the hotel . Would definitely stay there again and recommend it to those who would be traveling to Cleveland.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Janice M,
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor! We are looking forward to serving you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
(216) 443-1000 ext 4402
maria@holidayinncleveland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed here the weekend of April 25-27th. I booked a room through expedia and had absolutely no problems checking in.
When you first walk in, you wonder if you're in the wrong place. The hotel used to be a bank I guess (?) and has ultra high ceilings and the most unique looking check-in desk I've seen- comparable to a stagger start in a race. The elevators also struck us as kind of freaky. They're small, which doesn't shock me considering how old they are, but one side warps inward. At first I thought it was really warped until I rode in the others and they were all designed the same. haha. Anyway, the front desk attendant was very nice & knowledgeable. She promptly checked us in and gave us directions to the parking garage next door. There is not a valet service at this hotel, in case you were wondering.
Next, our room was on the 7th floor facing Euclid Ave. Our view was great! We could see clear down to East 4th street through two large windows. Our room itself was HUGE! I was surprised. The floors were hard wood, so bring warm socks if your feet are cold. Our bed was comfortable with lots of big pillows and we had a decent flat screen to watch tv. I was pleased.
You can't beat this hotel's location. East 4th street is just a few blocks away with its' quaint restaurants, bars, and shops. The dangling lights over the ave make it seem so intimate. Also, farther down the street is the Horseshoe Casino, which we walked to & explored some. It's connected to the Terminal Tower mall (complete with more shops), and an RTA stop below. We took the RTA to W. 25th street, Ohio City, the next day to explore West Side Market and the local breweries in Cleveland. Also, if you don't mind walking some, you can explore W. 6th street or go to the waterfront on 9th street pier and enjoy the beautiful views of Lake Erie, The Rock and roll hall of fame, and the Browns Stadium.
Also, the continental breakfast is on the Mezzanine level. It's nice with lots of seating and good food. There was a selection for all, but most of us there really just wanted those delicious cinnamon rolls they had. ;)
Overall, I'd definitely stay here again and recommend it others as well!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
mdgorick,
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience here in Cleveland. I am happy to hear you were able to take advantage of our hotels location and appreciated its historic value. The elevators are bowed as the carts are original to the building, meaning, those are where the pullys used to be! They were updated as the first of 200 Original "Selectomatic" automatic floor selecting, electric elevators! Yes, the hardware has been updated since then, but we strive preserve the beautiful buildings historic nature, in this case, by restoring the original carts.

Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
(216) 443-1000 ext 4402
maria@holidayinncleveland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, ny
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I have stayed here before and will come back. Great location downtown for Indians games or Q Arena events. Staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel is clean and breakfast buffet was more than enough. I will return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
BillBuffalo_ny,

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We are looking forward to serving you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
(216) 443-1000 ext 4402
maria@holidayinncleveland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The hotel was nice but upon arrival on Tuesday, April 22nd we were informed the HVAC was being worked on. We checked out on Thursday, April 24th and the HVAC was not working.

The staff was courteous and friendly. I would stay again but only if the HVAC was working.

We were able to visit the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and other sites in Cleveland.

The staff did not offer us a break on the room for the HVAC not working. Not happy about that. I'm not one for looking for a hand out but the least they could have done was offered a discount for our inconvenience. The windows did not open so we couldn't get any air movement.

We should have been warned ahead of time instead of driving 7 1/2 hours to find out about the non-functioning HVAC. The hotel had both my cell phone and email and I am also an IHG member.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear tpw32,

Thank you for your feedback. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We appreciate you bringing your concern to our attention and apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Thank you again for your comments.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

The hotel room was good. We had a corner room, it was not noisy, was clean, with hardwood floors. Our issue was for the 2 days/nights we visited, the thermostats did not work. No heat or cooling in room. First night they took 1/2 off our bill. Then the staff found us a fan for the room which made us feel cooler and special. The entire staff was really friendly, very helpful. Hotel attached to a bank which was the most georgeously historic bank I've ever been in. It was like stepping back into the 1920's. The area was clean, safe, lots of restraunts, etc. We stayed here to be by Michael Simon's Lola, it was within 2 short blocks. Even with the heating issue, I'd stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
devolutionisreal,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your patience with the heating and cooling in your room. You will be happy to hear we brought the entire system down to be serviced resulting in a much more dependable system that we can be proud of. We hope that we have an opportunity to serve you even better in the future!

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
(216) 443-1000 ext 4402
maria@holidayinncleveland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed here April 18th to the 20th for our 5 year anniversary. We also went to the Indians playing Blue Jays game as we are from Canada, near Toronto.
We booked the king suite, and we were amazed at the room. The tall ceilings blew us away. And wooden floors made it beautiful. The staff was very friendly, the hot breakfast was very good. The gym was in very nice shape, and I was glad to see the Clorax wipes for cleaning.

A few things that I might suggest for the room that we stayed in 1210, is a fresh coat of paint on the ceiling, it looks a little yellow in one area. The garden tub dials needs fixing as well. All the jets worked so I did not complain, but the dials to control the air flow or whatever were broken right off. And I think that a makeup mirror on an extender might be a nice addition to the bathroom. I had to keep leaning over the sink in order to see, or go to the larger mirror near the front door.

But other than those minor things it was a very good stay!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Address: 629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#9 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#9 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a VIDEO TOUR of our hotel. Take a step back in time as you enter this 19th century historic Guardian Bank Building converted into one of the finest Cleveland hotels. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland - Downtown is located in downtown Cleveland's financial district between E. 9th St and E. 6th St on Euclid Ave. We are within walking distance from Cleveland s main attractions including: LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers Q Arena, Cleveland Browns Stadium, , Warehouse District, Scene Pavilion, Tower city, House of Blues, Cleveland State University, Playhouse Square, etc. With 9 different room types, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown has a room for every need. We feature the largest standard guest rooms in Cleveland, two room suites, Jacuzzi suites, rooms with kitchenettes and meeting rooms. We also offer vacation packages to Cleveland s major attractions including: The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Pickwick and Frolic Comedy Club, House of Blues and The Cleveland Clinic. We are now also offering free high speed Internet access in every guest room and meeting room. Visit Cleveland, OH and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Ohio
Holiday Inn Cleveland Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.