We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A huge value for the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A huge value for the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Unbelievable experience! The hotel was absolutely beautiful and the room was gorgeous! My husband and I stayed in a king jacuzzi room and it was perfect. The sleep quality was excellent. The bed was comfortable with huge king sized pillows. The staff was very nice and accommodating, and the breakfast was great! A hidden gem in Cleveland! And not expensive at all! Thank you for an excellent get away!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
pagal1966,
It was our pleasure! Thank YOU for staying with us! We are so happy to hear you had a great experience.

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Cleveland Downtown
216.443.1000 ext 4402
mariap@experiencecleveland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    193
    57
    27
    25
See reviews for
100
176
22
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I stayed in a king jacuzzi room in February 2011for a mini get away with my boyfriend. The room was huge and gorgeous!! Not your typical chain hotel room. Hardwood floors, floor to ceiling windows, an entryway that doubled as mini kitchenette and a huge jacuzzi tub. This room was fabulously priced for the experience it offered. My 2011 visit was during the winter and it would have been chilly to walk too far, however this hotel is within walking distance of many great venues, restraunts, and bars. I have been waiting for the opportunity to stay again and excitedly booked a room today for a concert I will be attending with my friends. I can't wait to stay at this darling hotel again!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
JackieVdp,

Thank for staying at the Holiday Inn Expresss Cleveland Downtown! I am thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel so much! Thank you for sharing your experience. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Cleveland Downtown
216.443.1000 ext 4402
mariap@experiencecleveland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The old National City Bank building looks awesome as a hotel. The hardwood floors were all preserved. The rooms are large and comfortable. The only issues we had was with our toilet (it didn't flush properly) and the heat. It was very cold outside when we stayed there so the heat came on quite often. It heated way up and then cooled way down.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Janet H,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience! I am sorry to hear about the heat and toilet issues. If there is anything about your stay you would like to discuss in more detail, please feel free to contact me at anytime. Thanks again!

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Cleveland Downtown
216.443.1000 ext 4402
mariap@experiencecleveland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

My husband and I live 12 miles away, but we decided to make a night of it downtown for my birthday. We booked this hotel because it was perfectly located for all of our plans. We were pleasantly surprised. It was spectacular for a Holiday Inn Express! Located in a historic bank building, our room had the feel of a boutique hotel with its big rooms and windows, high ceilings and hardwood floors. We had a corner room on the 14th floor with great views and lots of privacy. The furnishings were cool and modern. The only thing I should mention about this particular room is the very loud heating unit. (And I mean it's LOUD!) Since my husband needs white noise in order to sleep soundly, it didn't bother us at all, but it would probably bother others. The breakfast room is also spacious and beautiful! We didn't eat there but the free breakfast looked to be a little above the quality of the usual fare you would get at this hotel price point. We opted for an old school diner breakfast at Sammy's in the lobby of the building. Yum! Parking is $15/night at an easily accessible garage next door. We will definitely come back to this hotel, and we will recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in the very center of the action in downtown Cleveland.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Goviemom,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Our guest's feedback means a lot to us! So happy to hear you were pleasently surprised :)

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Cleveland Downtown
216.443.1000 ext 4402
mariap@experiencecleveland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We've stayed at countless chain hotels and there's something special about this one. Actually, quite a few things. Our room was bigger than many one-bedroom condos, with gleaming hardwood floors and the ceiling height you find in a loft. The shower was world-class (a multitude of jets, great temperature control; wish we could take it home). No noise issues: guests must sign an agreement promising to be quiet after 9. Finally, every employee we met seemed to get a buzz out of making guests comfortable. (The staffer who helped me get a cartload of luggage to the curb seemed amazed to be offered a tip.) The decor is institutional and I wish this chain would lose the lumpy pillows but this location has a warmth that would bring me back if I return to Cleveland. Bonus: it's a short walk from the hopping restaurant/bar scene on Fourth St. and not far from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Gelatifan,
Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown! We are absolutely THRILLED to hear you had such a great time here. We hope to see you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Cleveland Downtown
216.443.1000 ext 4402
mariap@experiencecleveland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I usually stay with family when I am here but couldn't this trip. Best decision I made this weekend! Rooms are HUGE, ceilings are 12-14 ft, hardwood floors, granite countertops, wireless internet free & worked well, spotless clean room with a friendly staff that never fails to say 'hello' when you see them in the halls. Only slight negative was parking a very slight hassle but not bad at all by big city standards. Location is outstanding, 5 star restaurants literally 60 seconds from the hotel. I'll never stay with family Cleveland again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Mike J,
While we are all about Family Time here at the Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, we are very grateful that you decided to give us a try! Maybe they can join you for a game of pool next time and some Arcade games next time you are in town here at the hotel! We are very excited to hear you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Cleveland Downtown
216.443.1000 ext 4402
mariap@experiencecleveland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I took my university student group to Cleveland on a school trip and we stayed here. Tons of restaurants and bars across the street, free bus parking right in front of the hotel, friendly staff, very generous free breakfast (very important for college students). The staff was very friendly and helpful. Location cannot be beat! Also, the rooms (especially bathrooms) were spotless, which is very important to me.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
JosefH,
Thank you for staying with us! We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Cleveland Downtown
216.443.1000
mariap@experiencecleveland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Address: 629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#9 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a VIDEO TOUR of our hotel. Take a step back in time as you enter this 19th century historic Guardian Bank Building converted into one of the finest Cleveland hotels. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland - Downtown is located in downtown Cleveland's financial district between E. 9th St and E. 6th St on Euclid Ave. We are within walking distance from Cleveland s main attractions including: LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers Q Arena, Cleveland Browns Stadium, , Warehouse District, Scene Pavilion, Tower city, House of Blues, Cleveland State University, Playhouse Square, etc. With 9 different room types, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown has a room for every need. We feature the largest standard guest rooms in Cleveland, two room suites, Jacuzzi suites, rooms with kitchenettes and meeting rooms. We also offer vacation packages to Cleveland s major attractions including: The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Pickwick and Frolic Comedy Club, House of Blues and The Cleveland Clinic. We are now also offering free high speed Internet access in every guest room and meeting room. Visit Cleveland, OH and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Ohio
Holiday Inn Cleveland Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.