We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful preservation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 32 hotels in Cleveland
Solon, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful preservation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The old National City Bank building looks awesome as a hotel. The hardwood floors were all preserved. The rooms are large and comfortable. The only issues we had was with our toilet (it didn't flush properly) and the heat. It was very cold outside when we stayed there so the heat came on quite often. It heated way up and then cooled way down.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Janet H,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience! I am sorry to hear about the heat and toilet issues. If there is anything about your stay you would like to discuss in more detail, please feel free to contact me at anytime. Thanks again!

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Cleveland Downtown
216.443.1000 ext 4402
mariap@experiencecleveland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    158
    45
    25
    24
See reviews for
77
130
18
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

My husband and I live 12 miles away, but we decided to make a night of it downtown for my birthday. We booked this hotel because it was perfectly located for all of our plans. We were pleasantly surprised. It was spectacular for a Holiday Inn Express! Located in a historic bank building, our room had the feel of a boutique hotel with its big rooms and windows, high ceilings and hardwood floors. We had a corner room on the 14th floor with great views and lots of privacy. The furnishings were cool and modern. The only thing I should mention about this particular room is the very loud heating unit. (And I mean it's LOUD!) Since my husband needs white noise in order to sleep soundly, it didn't bother us at all, but it would probably bother others. The breakfast room is also spacious and beautiful! We didn't eat there but the free breakfast looked to be a little above the quality of the usual fare you would get at this hotel price point. We opted for an old school diner breakfast at Sammy's in the lobby of the building. Yum! Parking is $15/night at an easily accessible garage next door. We will definitely come back to this hotel, and we will recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in the very center of the action in downtown Cleveland.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Goviemom,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Our guest's feedback means a lot to us! So happy to hear you were pleasently surprised :)

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Cleveland Downtown
216.443.1000 ext 4402
mariap@experiencecleveland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We've stayed at countless chain hotels and there's something special about this one. Actually, quite a few things. Our room was bigger than many one-bedroom condos, with gleaming hardwood floors and the ceiling height you find in a loft. The shower was world-class (a multitude of jets, great temperature control; wish we could take it home). No noise issues: guests must sign an agreement promising to be quiet after 9. Finally, every employee we met seemed to get a buzz out of making guests comfortable. (The staffer who helped me get a cartload of luggage to the curb seemed amazed to be offered a tip.) The decor is institutional and I wish this chain would lose the lumpy pillows but this location has a warmth that would bring me back if I return to Cleveland. Bonus: it's a short walk from the hopping restaurant/bar scene on Fourth St. and not far from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Gelatifan,
Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown! We are absolutely THRILLED to hear you had such a great time here. We hope to see you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Cleveland Downtown
216.443.1000 ext 4402
mariap@experiencecleveland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I usually stay with family when I am here but couldn't this trip. Best decision I made this weekend! Rooms are HUGE, ceilings are 12-14 ft, hardwood floors, granite countertops, wireless internet free & worked well, spotless clean room with a friendly staff that never fails to say 'hello' when you see them in the halls. Only slight negative was parking a very slight hassle but not bad at all by big city standards. Location is outstanding, 5 star restaurants literally 60 seconds from the hotel. I'll never stay with family Cleveland again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Mike J,
While we are all about Family Time here at the Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, we are very grateful that you decided to give us a try! Maybe they can join you for a game of pool next time and some Arcade games next time you are in town here at the hotel! We are very excited to hear you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Cleveland Downtown
216.443.1000 ext 4402
mariap@experiencecleveland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I took my university student group to Cleveland on a school trip and we stayed here. Tons of restaurants and bars across the street, free bus parking right in front of the hotel, friendly staff, very generous free breakfast (very important for college students). The staff was very friendly and helpful. Location cannot be beat! Also, the rooms (especially bathrooms) were spotless, which is very important to me.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
JosefH,
Thank you for staying with us! We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Cleveland Downtown
216.443.1000
mariap@experiencecleveland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratham, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This hotel is deceptively good! Located in a former bank building dating back decades, you have an unusual "lobby" and strange looking hallways. More like an office building. Makes sense, right? Our room was on the 15th floor and was absolutely massive! We had 14-ft ceilings, two queen sized beds (very comfortable), excellent WiFi reception (free) and just loads of space. The bathroom was immaculate. The service is truly excellent -- the people we dealt with at the front desk were great ambassadors for the hotel as well as for Cleveland, and they could not have been nicer. The hotel has a terrific location -- literally a 5-min walk from some of the best restaurants, including Chef Michael Symon's Lola on E. 4th. Parking is a breeze, as well. All in all, a great choice for downtown Cleveland. Weather depending, you could even walk to the Rock 'n Roll Hall of Fame. As we went in January, that was, uh, out of the question!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
blondventures,
Thank you for staying with us for your recent trip to Cleveland! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our property. I will be sure to share your kind comments with our Front Desk staff. We hope to see you again soon when the weather is better!

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Cleveland Downtown
216.443.1000
mariap@experiencecleveland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

On first glance, this hotel seems very basic and bare bones. But the rooms are huge with hardwood floors. You could have fit four queen-sized beds in my room. Comfy lounge chair from which to watch TV or read. Delicious hot breakfast. The great room is nice and roomy and light, they also have managers receptions there four evenings/week. I occasionally sat there in the afternoon and read the newspaper or used my laptop. Very small fitness room. I was planning to stay just three nights, but extended to six nights. The one negative comment I have is that because the ceilings are so high, the heat goes up and rooms are a bit cold. Except when the sun shines in, and then the room is very hot. Nonetheless, I would recommend this room wholeheartedly. It's not luxurious, but it's great for a mid-level hotel. Near lots of restaurants and right on the Healthline bus to Cleveland Clinic (20 min. ride).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Daryl H,
Thank you for staying at the Holiday inn Express Cleveland Downtown. We are glad that you made it down to enjoy our managers reception and our public Great Room. We are sorry that the heat in your room didn't keep you super warm and cozy. We have had a rough winter and the huge windows didn't make it any easier. Thank you for sharing your experience. Until next time, Happy Travels!

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Cleveland Downtown
216.443.1000
mariap@experiencecleveland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Holiday Inn Cleveland
Cleveland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Ohio
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland
Holiday Inn Cleveland Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Ohio
Address: 629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#15 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a VIDEO TOUR of our hotel. Take a step back in time as you enter this 19th century historic Guardian Bank Building converted into one of the finest Cleveland hotels. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland - Downtown is located in downtown Cleveland's financial district between E. 9th St and E. 6th St on Euclid Ave. We are within walking distance from Cleveland s main attractions including: LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers Q Arena, Cleveland Browns Stadium, , Warehouse District, Scene Pavilion, Tower city, House of Blues, Cleveland State University, Playhouse Square, etc. With 9 different room types, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown has a room for every need. We feature the largest standard guest rooms in Cleveland, two room suites, Jacuzzi suites, rooms with kitchenettes and meeting rooms. We also offer vacation packages to Cleveland s major attractions including: The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Pickwick and Frolic Comedy Club, House of Blues and The Cleveland Clinic. We are now also offering free high speed Internet access in every guest room and meeting room. Visit Cleveland, OH and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.