We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool building, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Cool building, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown for three nights while visiting the Cleveland area. It is a decent choice when staying downtown, with one concern.

VALUE: The price was reasonable, but I booked through Priceline. That said, the posted rates are comparable to similar properties.

LOCATION: The hotel is conveniently located near major downtown attractions, such as Progressive Field and the restaurants on East 4th St., as well as rapid transit. I walked to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

SLEEP QUALITY: Just fine! Downtown Cleveland is not especially bustling, so outside noise was not a factor.

ROOMS: The hotel is located in an old bank building, so you hardly feel like you're in a typical HI Express. My room had a loft-like quality to it with very high ceilings. It was a nice change of pace.

CLEANLINESS: I am loathe to mention this, but I found small roach-like insects in my room on the day of my departure. However, the room seemed like it was cleaned thoroughly, so the source of the problem wasn't obvious. I mentioned it to the hotel staff as I checked out and they seemed alarmed, but I don't know how they followed up.

SERVICE: Good overall. When Priceline booked me in a smoking room, they graciously switched me to a non-smoking one even though they had no obligation to do so (and to a suite, no less!). Breakfast was standard HI Express fare, but was fully stocked.

I would gladly give this place another dot, but I'm always going to prefer a bad hotel without an insect problem, than a good one that does. That said, I would not object to giving this place another shot in the future.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Aaron R,

Thank you so much for staying at the Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown. I am so sorry to hear about your experience. We did follow up, in fact, we are on program with Certified Pest Control, the highest ranked pest control company by the Health Department. We do not take pests lightly. Because we are a downtown hotel, some sightings are impossible to avoid, especially with all the construction they have been doing downtown, but we do feel confident we do everything in our power to keep our rooms clean and pest free. Again, I am so sorry about your experience. It is not common of our hotel at all and we hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
216.443.1000
mariap@experiencecleveland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    211
    60
    27
    25
See reviews for
109
190
24
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed one night (October 10, 2013) on our way to memorial service in NY. Newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, located in Cleveland's financial district between E. 9th St and E. 6th St on Euclid Ave. formally 19th century historic Guardian Bank Building high-rise, built in 1894 and originally known as the New England Building and later known as the National City Bank Building.

Friendly and accommodating staff. Every employee we encountered treated us very well and were warm and friendly..... now how rare is that! Beautiful HUGE room with extra high, 13 foot ceilings and floor to ceiling drapes, natural wood flooring and oversized windows. Beautiful lobby, turn of the century moldings and chandeliers. Would definitely stay again.

Free continental breakfast and pinball machines in the game room. Many nearby attractions (superb restaurants, bars, sports venues, concert halls, museums, etc.) however, like many cities DON'T walk around alone in the streets at night.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi Room costs just a bit more but well worth the price. Interesting set up with shower in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here for a night to catch an Indians game in late August. The hotel is set in a classic bank, which makes for an interesting lobby. However, the elevators appear as if they are originals; wait time for them was longer than average. Parking is right next to the hotel and is very reasonably priced.

My friends and I stayed in a very nice suite, fully upgraded will all of the amenities one would want. Room was quiet, AC strong, and the bedding was excellent - grabbed a great night of sleep. Lock was squirrely, but after the 2nd or 3rd time, it would work.

The surrounding area was fine by day, but started to get sketchy by 10 p.m. Front desk staff were generally useless when we asked them about the surrounding area and places to eat - a map, a directory, or even some take-out menus would have been helpful.

It was towards the end of the trip when everything started to come apart. The morning we were leaving, a very large bug ran across the nice hardwood floor in our suite. Then, the lock to the room completely broke - it took us 20 minutes and 4 keys to get out stuff out and hit the road.

Got a great night of sleep in a nice room, and had a good time in Cleveland. In light of the issues that we encountered though, I'm glad we were only there for one night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
MKB1701,

Thank you so much for staying with us for your trip to the ball-game. I am so sorry to hear about the issues you had departing the morning after your stay with us. If you can find the time, please contact me so I can hear about your experience in further detail, this way we are able to pin-point the problem more accurately. Large bugs are not like this hotel at all (otherwise I would not be working here! I do not do bugs AT ALL!) and if there was a problem with your door lock, I would love to know what room so I can follow up and make sure it was taken care of. We never like to hear a guest was happy they checked out with us, we want our guests to love our hotel and service, that is why your feedback is so important to us. Thank you so much for taking the time out to review the hotel as it is reviews like this that help us improve. I am looking forward to hearing from you soon, and hopefully have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience in the future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
216.443.1000 ext 4402
mariap@experiencecleveland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My bride and I stayed at this hotel for approximately a month September-October. We were here for an appointment at the Cleveland Clinic (Excellent). Check-in was quick and the staff (Shelly, Garland) was awesome and made us feel at home. The main lobby has high ceilings and historical designs, however, you have a sense of old yet comfortable living style. The room where we lived was very nice. It had hardwood floors, refrigerator, microwave and office space. We had wonderful views of Euclid Avenue and could not have asked for a better hotel. The location is downtown and everything is within walking distance, make sure you bring your camera!!! The staff from the check-in to the dining area was excellent. We had a chance to meet Jeanette Burrell, S. Cade. Denita Ray and Alice which made us feel like we were in grandmas kitchen every day of the week. The dining area was very well prepared and the staff greeted you with a smile or conversation, which ever you prefer. The staff at this hotel was very flexible and catered to our needs. Anything we asked for we received in an expedient manner. The hotel is only 10 minutes away from the Cleveland Clinic, which was perfect for the amount of time of our stay. We highly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Well, I've always wanted to see the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland, so when my son said "Let's go", I jumped at the opportunity. The drive from just north of Toronto through Fort Erie/Buffalo was around 5 1/2 hours. We drove all night to grab an extra day in Cleveland. After breakfast at a greasy spoon (is there any better breakfasts?) we swung by the hotel around 7:30am, knowing full well that our checkin time was 4 in the afternoon. I asked to check in and they did so graciously. That gave us a base to recharge our batteries before heading out to see the sites. A renovated old factory with 13 foot ceilings, hardwood floors and location, location, location! My gawd, this is right downtown and within walking distance of everything. We took in an Indians ball game at Progressive Field. Closer than the ball yard to the hotel is The Quicken, where The Cavaliers play NBA. In the other direction, the home of the Cleveland Browns is a stone's throw away. As is the RR HOF. Tired of walking? There are 4 trolley routes around the downtown core........all FREE. What I was amazed at was, for a city of 320,000, there was next to no traffic downtown!

Breakfast is included each morning at this hotel......buffet with lots of choices so come hungry. All in all, a fabulously located hotel, well within the budget of anyone. I'm not one that needs to have turn down service or chocolates on my pillows. Just give me a cheap, clean hotel......a place to rest my bones, and I'm happy. You'll find just that at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Cleveland.

Cheers. Gin

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I only stayed one night, but I absolutely loved it. Literally the only flaw would be having the parking around the corner. The room was gorgeous with its high ceilings. I had a corner room, which I highly recommend requesting. Very comfortable!

Room Tip: Corner room on a higher floor. Better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel due to it's location and the advanced purchase deal. Met at the front desk by a lovely young lady. Check in was quick. This is an old bank building with a lot of charm. The room I had was a king suite with a double hot tub. The room was huge, high ceilings, hard wood floors and 1 ceiling to floor window. The only complaint I would have is you have to park around the corner in a weird parking garage that cost $14/day. You then have to walk with all of your luggage and the smoking floor that I requested really stunk (but my choice).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Address: 629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a VIDEO TOUR of our hotel. Take a step back in time as you enter this 19th century historic Guardian Bank Building converted into one of the finest Cleveland hotels. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland - Downtown is located in downtown Cleveland's financial district between E. 9th St and E. 6th St on Euclid Ave. We are within walking distance from Cleveland s main attractions including: LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers Q Arena, Cleveland Browns Stadium, , Warehouse District, Scene Pavilion, Tower city, House of Blues, Cleveland State University, Playhouse Square, etc. With 9 different room types, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown has a room for every need. We feature the largest standard guest rooms in Cleveland, two room suites, Jacuzzi suites, rooms with kitchenettes and meeting rooms. We also offer vacation packages to Cleveland s major attractions including: The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Pickwick and Frolic Comedy Club, House of Blues and The Cleveland Clinic. We are now also offering free high speed Internet access in every guest room and meeting room. Visit Cleveland, OH and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Ohio
Holiday Inn Cleveland Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.