We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend road trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Aurora, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Weekend road trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Well, I've always wanted to see the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland, so when my son said "Let's go", I jumped at the opportunity. The drive from just north of Toronto through Fort Erie/Buffalo was around 5 1/2 hours. We drove all night to grab an extra day in Cleveland. After breakfast at a greasy spoon (is there any better breakfasts?) we swung by the hotel around 7:30am, knowing full well that our checkin time was 4 in the afternoon. I asked to check in and they did so graciously. That gave us a base to recharge our batteries before heading out to see the sites. A renovated old factory with 13 foot ceilings, hardwood floors and location, location, location! My gawd, this is right downtown and within walking distance of everything. We took in an Indians ball game at Progressive Field. Closer than the ball yard to the hotel is The Quicken, where The Cavaliers play NBA. In the other direction, the home of the Cleveland Browns is a stone's throw away. As is the RR HOF. Tired of walking? There are 4 trolley routes around the downtown core........all FREE. What I was amazed at was, for a city of 320,000, there was next to no traffic downtown!

Breakfast is included each morning at this hotel......buffet with lots of choices so come hungry. All in all, a fabulously located hotel, well within the budget of anyone. I'm not one that needs to have turn down service or chocolates on my pillows. Just give me a cheap, clean hotel......a place to rest my bones, and I'm happy. You'll find just that at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Cleveland.

Cheers. Gin

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    213
    61
    27
    25
See reviews for
113
191
24
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I only stayed one night, but I absolutely loved it. Literally the only flaw would be having the parking around the corner. The room was gorgeous with its high ceilings. I had a corner room, which I highly recommend requesting. Very comfortable!

Room Tip: Corner room on a higher floor. Better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel due to it's location and the advanced purchase deal. Met at the front desk by a lovely young lady. Check in was quick. This is an old bank building with a lot of charm. The room I had was a king suite with a double hot tub. The room was huge, high ceilings, hard wood floors and 1 ceiling to floor window. The only complaint I would have is you have to park around the corner in a weird parking garage that cost $14/day. You then have to walk with all of your luggage and the smoking floor that I requested really stunk (but my choice).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Had a wonderful time in Cleveland ! This hotel was within walking distance of everything we wanted to see and do for 3 days. The breakfast was great every morning. The staff was helpful. The room was lovely. Lots to do in Cleveland !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here one night to catch an Indians game. The hotel is definitely different than a regular Holiday Inn Express. The room we were given was huge with a separate living room and kitchen. It has 20 foot ceilings and hardwood floors. The odd thing was that the windows were up at the ceiling, so you could not really look out. The furniture was beat up, and there were water stains on the ceiling. The walls around the tub had blistering paint, so there was some sort of water problem there also. The shower head had black mold. They use the original building elevators which have very small cabs. That bothered by claustrophobic wife. Parking is across the street in a very tight garage. The breakfast area was very nice and the food was plentiful. We slept very well. As someone else mentioned, the maids were somewhat aggressive about trying to get into the room early in the morning. If you stay here, you need to put out the do not disturb sign.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has been updated very well for being in an older building. The room was very spacious with high ceilings & wood flooring. The beds were very comfortable as was the sitting area. The customer service from the front desk to housekeeping was also excellent. They were very helpful & accommodating to our needs. The manager Danielle was especially wonderful! The location was great for walking to eaterys, parks, etc. we will definitely stay here again when visiting Cleveland!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsville, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel years ago when visiting the House of Blues for a concert and it was alright, after the updates they did (hardwood floors, amazing bathrooms etc etc) it was like a completely new hotel! The location is perfect; not even a block away from the House of Blues and a couple blocks away from the casino. You really can't go wrong with booking this hotel because everything is within walking distance or a very short drive away. The hotel staff was very friendly; calling us a car to the pavilion we were going to a show at which only ended up costing us five dollars. The parking garage is right there and they stamp your parking ticket so it ends up being free and you can exit and leave whenever necessary. The rooms were clean and spacious, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was perfect.

I will be back at this hotel for every House of Blues concert in Cleveland which is quite frequent. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. I even recommended it to my mother and father who will be making a one night trip to Cleveland for their anniversary.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Address: 629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a VIDEO TOUR of our hotel. Take a step back in time as you enter this 19th century historic Guardian Bank Building converted into one of the finest Cleveland hotels. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland - Downtown is located in downtown Cleveland's financial district between E. 9th St and E. 6th St on Euclid Ave. We are within walking distance from Cleveland s main attractions including: LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers Q Arena, Cleveland Browns Stadium, , Warehouse District, Scene Pavilion, Tower city, House of Blues, Cleveland State University, Playhouse Square, etc. With 9 different room types, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown has a room for every need. We feature the largest standard guest rooms in Cleveland, two room suites, Jacuzzi suites, rooms with kitchenettes and meeting rooms. We also offer vacation packages to Cleveland s major attractions including: The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Pickwick and Frolic Comedy Club, House of Blues and The Cleveland Clinic. We are now also offering free high speed Internet access in every guest room and meeting room. Visit Cleveland, OH and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Ohio
Holiday Inn Cleveland Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.