We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Luxury!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Downtown Luxury!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

So it is official. I have a brand new, favorite hotel. I would like to add that I do not alter my vault of "favorite things" that often. I am somewhat a creature of habit, but this time I have no choice. The Holiday Inn Express in downtown Cleveland has made the list... right above raindrops on roses.
A lot of people say that location is everything. If this is true, then this property wins every accolade imaginable. Situated close to Horseshoe Casino, Quicken Loans Arena, the Cleveland Browns Stadium, Cleveland Indians’ Progressive Field, and the magnificent Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Museum, visitng your favorite attraction or taking part of the sports and gaming action is a breeze! If flying in, the airport is about 25 minutes away, and the public transportation system in Cleveland is cheap, clean, and easily accessible... just steps from the Holiday Inn Express. Imagine that!
And at the end of a long day exploring, what could be better than relaxing in a jacuzzi suite? The rooms at the Holiday Inn Express are newly renovated, and they are truly nothing short of spectacular. The oversized windows offer beautiful views of the city and the lake, situated beautifully between 13 foot ceilings and shiny wooden floors. The bed is like a cloud, and adding to the overall "cozy" factor is the super comfortable chair... perfect for reading or surfing on the FREE high speed internet.
If things could possibly get any better... they do. Complimentary hot breakfast is also served, and if you've overdone it a bit, just head off to the 24 hour fitness center.
If you are anywhere near Cleveland, make the Holiday Inn Express Downtown your temporary home. Keep in mind that Cedar Point is also not a bad drive, so this property will make a great center base for all of your excursions.
Visit online for more information, or to book your next adventure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
DestinationDiaries,

Thank you so much for staying with us for your trip to Cleveland. We are so happy to hear that we can land your favorite things list. It has always been our goal to top whiskers on kittens =^..^= ! Thank you for taking the time out to review our hotel. I can not wait to see the staffs face when they read it! They will be so happy! We hope to see you again soon, and in the meantime, Happy Travels!

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
216.443.1000
mariap@experiencecleveland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    220
    64
    28
    25
See reviews for
116
197
24
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

You will be very happy if you stay at this hotel. I was surprised by our room's high ceilings and wood floor. I found that the hotel was an old bank before. Great location. Everything we needed was in walking distance. Breakfast was also very good. You won't be disappointed with this hotel. I will stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
89Bill,

Thank you for staying with us! We are so glad that we were able to meet your expectations and hope to see you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
216.443.1000
mariap@experiencecleveland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel was in a perfect location to visit the ballpark, eat at the 4th street restaurant area, walk to the casino and to the Rock and Roll Hall of fame. The room had two queens and was extremely spacious for a downtown hotel. The only drawback was that it was a little noisy. The floors are all wood and gives you a feeling of warmth and home. Breakfast was great with a lot of variety.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRP22, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
kshultz,

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown for your recent trip to Ohio. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your feedback too. You will be happy to hear that we are in the process of installing soundproof flashings around the doors of our guest rooms to assist with the noise. It is also our policy that every guest signs a No Noise/Party policy at check in to ensure our guests have an environment where they can relax free of disturbance. If there is anything else I can do for you, please feel free to contact me. Thank you again for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Maria Rose Puliafico
Guest Relations Manager
216.443.1000
mariap@experiencecleveland.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I took my grandson to a Cleveland Indian game and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown. Clean and neat, with a Huge room, tall ceilings and a great view. We could see the stadium's upper levels out our window. The staff were helpful answering questions both before arriving and during our stay. All were knowledgeable about the area always smiling. Everyone was very pleasant making our stay feel a little like home. The Trolley was free and took us up and down and around downtown as well as from the train station which we took from the airport. Most convenient. Everything about our trip was great and much credit goes to the Holiday Inn Express and their staff. My grandson only missed the no pool. I would recommend this as the place to stay downtown Cleveland

Room Tip: Stay high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We are a family of 5 - 2 adults, 2 teens, 1 tween. We had a very spacious, clean, updated room. Good price for good size room & location. Our room came with 2 tickets to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame per night. When I booked the room, I must've dealt with a new person and was told that we could pay the R&R HOF price for the 2 nights and get 4 tickets on arrival. She should have charged us 1 night at the R&R HOF price and 1 night regular but since she misinformed me, the manager gave us the 4 tickets and apologized. Very nicely handled.

Hotel location is excellent - Directly across the street is a lounge-like bowling alley/bar/restaurant and around the corner from that is a pedestrian only street with lots of restaurants with outdoor seating. You can walk or take short drive to Rock & Roll HOF, Great Lakes Science Center, USS Cod, Indians baseball & Browns football stadiums.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My friends and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. The hotel is in an excellent location if you want to see the entire city. The rooms are large and beautiful with vaulted ceilings and large over sized windows. The art work in the rooms is fantastic, we asked at the front desk and were told that they are from local artists. The beds are comfortable and the TV is a large flat screen with many channels. Our room looked out to the Indians Stadium and every home game ends with a wonderful fireworks display. The staff at the front desk was friendly and eager to answer any and all of our questions. We did have to park in a public parking lot, but that was just around the corner and as women felt quite safe walking back to the hotel. There were neighborhood watch patrolling the streets and when we were approached by someone looking for change, he stayed with us and asked the young man not to bother us! If we ever return to the area, we will definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a package that included tickets to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

Our room was fantastic. We had a 2 queen suite. It was spacious with a separate bedroom, a living room, and a small kitchen area. It was like having a small apartment for a few days. The beds were very comfortable and the room was spotless.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They could not do enough for you.

They serve a free breakfast daily and it was very good. There was sufficient variety including hot foods like eggs, sausage, bacon and pancakes as well as standard continental breakfast fare like cereal, fruit, rolls and yogurt. The breakfast area was spacious and had more than enough tables for everyone, even on a crowded weekend (many staying as participants in the Senior Games).

The hotel was in walking distance to the lake and museums.

A wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Address: 629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a VIDEO TOUR of our hotel. Take a step back in time as you enter this 19th century historic Guardian Bank Building converted into one of the finest Cleveland hotels. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland - Downtown is located in downtown Cleveland's financial district between E. 9th St and E. 6th St on Euclid Ave. We are within walking distance from Cleveland s main attractions including: LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers Q Arena, Cleveland Browns Stadium, , Warehouse District, Scene Pavilion, Tower city, House of Blues, Cleveland State University, Playhouse Square, etc. With 9 different room types, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown has a room for every need. We feature the largest standard guest rooms in Cleveland, two room suites, Jacuzzi suites, rooms with kitchenettes and meeting rooms. We also offer vacation packages to Cleveland s major attractions including: The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Pickwick and Frolic Comedy Club, House of Blues and The Cleveland Clinic. We are now also offering free high speed Internet access in every guest room and meeting room. Visit Cleveland, OH and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Ohio
Holiday Inn Cleveland Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.