We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, unique hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Ferndale, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Great staff, unique hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The staff was tremendous and very helpful. From the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out. The hotel was very clean and modern. The breakfast staff were very friendly and made sure we had plenty to eat. The hotel was the most unique hotel my wife and I have stayed at! The room was amazing! We enjoyed the layout of the room, especially the hardwood floors and large windows. It was our first trip to Cleveland and we would come back and stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My visit to this property was highlighted by my Intercontinental Hotel Group membership, which entitled me to a bottle of water and a a pillow chocolate. I got a great room on a high floor, which a great view of Cleveland, if there is such a thing. The room was a bit dirty and dusty, and the jacuzzi a bit ratchet, but overall it was a good look for a room. It was modern, had high ceilings, and wood floors. I felt like I was at a Holiday Inn Express +. However, the maid stole (accidentally, I'm sure) my iPhone charger so I was in a bit of a rut.

Room Tip: Higher Levels -- go for the rooms with a view if you upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel meets up to it's promotions... beautifully restored old building with high ceilings, hardwood floors and a convenient city location. It included free wifi and breakfasts. Parking is just next door and we were able to take advantage of nearby public transportation. The staff, however, failed to satisfy us on too many "little things."

We were finally able to reserve two nights after THREE calls to the 800#, yet still had difficulties at the front desk. It seems that one regular room night is just too difficult for them to book along with a second "package" night! The "package" included tickets to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame (but most people would not likely go two days in a row). It took THREE trips/lines to the front desk to get the tickets. They checked us out after the first night and our room keys were deactivated (despite earlier assurances from the front desk).

Breakfast was good, but the dining area staff was not in a good mood. They openly complained about some people taking too much and not leaving enough for others. They were slow to replace items, including coffee.

I also felt the staff was not all that helpful when asked about local trollies/shuttles. This is important to most visitors.

Room Tip: No complaints about our room... it was a large, corner one on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiTripLeader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear SkiTripLeader,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. It is great to know that you liked the breakfast served during your travel and our location was convenient for your needs. However, please accept my sincerest apology that you found this visit to be less than satisfactory due to the quality of service that you have received. Your comments will be forwarded to the management to consider for improvements needed at our property.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

a large group of our family stayed here mid april. very nice building mankes for an interesting hotel. there is not much room available for unloading of the car at the entrance to the hotel. once luggage was in the lobby, parking was not very convinient. the structure is not attached to or related to the holiday inn. fortunately for us the weather was dry. there were plenty of elevators available which made for easy access to and from our room. the room was great. very large and open. the building is a former bank so it made for some very tall ceilings in all of the rooms. also i believe the floors were the original/salvasged hardwood. good TV and comfortable bed. the breakfast was average for an included breakfast. all in all, a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear christopher c,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us a review. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on and sincerely regret that your stay was negatively impacted by the parking issue. We don't want any guest inconvenienced and rest assured that your comments will be used for the purpose of bringing future improvements.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were in for only one night, but the rooms were nicely done for being what appears to be an old bank. Parking cost $14, but everything we wanted to do, casino, nightlife, etc was well within walking distance. Wood floors in the rooms, clean beds, a shower I didn't have stoop down to take shower in (i'm 5 11) and free breakfast. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Hotel rooms very nice, but in the 3 days we were there, we had no maid service. We left early in morning and returned about 4:30 each day, our room had not been cleaned. On one day, the attendant was at our room just as we returned, we declined service because we needed to get ready for the evening. We never saw her any other day. WiFi very sketchy. Of and on constantly. Free breakfast was like survival if the fittest. Again, each morning the food containers and coffee containers were mostly empty with only one attendant on duty, it seemed like the hotel staff ( though nice and friendly) had little knowledge of the hotel services or info for area. The hotel computers for guest use were down as well as printers ( entire stay), we were unable to print boarding passes for return flight.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookevansville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Cookevansville,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests and for that please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience the service you received from our hotel may have caused. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for the review and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back and ensuring that you have a hassle free stay with us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on Euclid Ave, downtown Cleveland. The hotel is in an old building with beautiful architectural details. There's parking conveniently near the hotel, and a close walk to all important points of interest, the restaurant district, the base ball stadium etc.
The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was a spacious, super nice corner room with high ceilings, renovated old wooden floor and a very fine bathroom. Impeccably clean! The free wifi worked fine.
Due to time constraints, we did not have the time to eat breakfast, so I cannot review that this time, but I hope to be back!
My only complaint - as usual with me - is that the air conditioning was very loud. As per usual, I had to turn it off in order to be able to sleep. The room was hot and humid in the morning, but at least I could get some sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors if you like to get a view over Cleveland
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin-nitraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.1 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9
Metropolitan at The 9
#1 of 37 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Address: 629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a VIDEO TOUR of our hotel. Take a step back in time as you enter this 19th century historic Guardian Bank Building converted into one of the finest Cleveland hotels. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland - Downtown is located in downtown Cleveland's financial district between E. 9th St and E. 6th St on Euclid Ave. We are within walking distance from Cleveland s main attractions including: LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers Q Arena, Cleveland Browns Stadium, , Warehouse District, Scene Pavilion, Tower city, House of Blues, Cleveland State University, Playhouse Square, etc. With 9 different room types, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown has a room for every need. We feature the largest standard guest rooms in Cleveland, two room suites, Jacuzzi suites, rooms with kitchenettes and meeting rooms. We also offer vacation packages to Cleveland s major attractions including: The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Pickwick and Frolic Comedy Club, House of Blues and The Cleveland Clinic. We are now also offering free high speed Internet access in every guest room and meeting room. Visit Cleveland, OH and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Ohio
Holiday Inn Cleveland Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing