We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel Downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 32 hotels in Cleveland
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel Downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Hotel is located in a nice area downtown. It is within walking distance for ballgames and casino. There are several restaurants very close to the hotel. The House of Blues is right across the street. The rooms are not small but not huge either. Very clean with nice hardwoods. Our room had a mini fridge and coffee maker. Check in was easy and quick. The only strange thing was self parking in the garage was like $2 more thru the hotel then if you just did park and pay. Not sure why they charge an extra $2 to validate but no other issues at all. I would recommend this hotel for couples and small families and will stay here if visiting the area again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    158
    45
    25
    24
See reviews for
77
130
18
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

-Stayed here on a Saturday night this past month. The hotel was fine, but nothing to write home about. It was very quiet, and actually seemed pretty dead. The front desk was courteous, and the room was cleaned to satisfaction.

The elevators were kind of creepy and very small. It was a squeeze to get 4 people in them. Also, the only thing that kind of worried me was that it seemed to have no security whatsoever. Anyone could just walk in off Euclid Avenue, and head up the elevators to the guest rooms without even walking past or near the front desk. This is kinda worrisome, but we experienced no problems. It would be nice if the elevators required you to have an active room key. The price is also a little steep. I believe the beautiful Marriott downtown was $140 a night, and this place was $130.00. Seemed pretty steep.

Other than that, it is a fine place to stay while downtown

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beau Vallon, Seychelles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have stayed here a few times when visiting Cleveland, and I won't stay anywhere else. The lobby leaves a lot to be desired, but the rooms are beautiful with large plush beds, high quality white linens, hardwood floors and a lovely view of downtown Cleveland.

The location is perfect--walking distance to many attractions, great restaurants and night life. The staff have always been warm, welcoming and helpful. It is a bargain for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canton, ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here once and just feel in love with the room. The room's all have nice high ceilings and big windows. They were doing updates as we stay for 2 nights. We did go back about 8 months later after it was fixed up. Must say it looks even better. They have a pool table that you can play at $1 a game and some video games. Coffee is down stairs next to where your breakfast would be for you in the morning. They have a nice range of breakfast items for your choosing. The Hard Rock is within a block and so is the new Cleveland Horseshoe Casino. We walked all the way to Browns Stadium and really was a blast and not too far. Stay other places but this one Rocks.!!

Room Tip: Haven't had a bad one Yet. Stayed on the 3rd floor and on the 6th Floor. The higher the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Great property housed in an old bank building. We were given a room on the 14th floor - high ceilings, hardwood floors, flat screen TV, great comfortable bed. You can imagine that you are staying in a hotel from days gone by. The breakfast room is overly large and very comfortable, although the usual paper plate and plastic cutlery brings you back to the present. 15 minute walk to the Rock n Roll Hall of Fame or ride the free trolley. Parking is around the corner in a public covered parking lot.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 14th floor have extra high ceilings and windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Hotel is a recent conversion from an old bank building. Other than the reception area which seems oddly placed in a through the block ground level corridor and the small lobby three steps up, the facilities are quite good. The rooms are high ceilinged, hardwood floored, and very spacious. The breakfast room is well appointed and the full H I Express breakfast (including biscuits in yummy if not healthful gravy and one minute pancakes) will start your day off right The service is very good.. The location near everything you want downtown is an A and the price is very reasonable.

Room Tip: Get a front room on a high floor (12-15) and you'll have a view of the Jake and the river beyond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Cleveland's Holiday Inn Express Downtown is a terrific hotel in a terrific location. The hotel is unusual for a Holiday Inn Express, in that it is a historic bank building that has been handsomely remade. The lobby is like a massive bank-building corridor from another era, all pale marble - not your conventional hotel lobby. The elevators are small, befitting the historic structure. But while you are often aware that this is a historic office building, hotel comforts are not neglected. Our room was HUGE. It was ENORMOUS. Also, it was sparkling clean and the beds were very comfy, the bathroom was spacious, and the wireless was wicked fast. When we were coming in to our room after dinner, in the hall we heard the people next door to us partying very loudly. We could hear every scream and shout in the hall, but once we got inside our room and closed our door, it was absolutely silent. It was like no one was next door at all. (I gather the same is not true of the rooms that share a communicating door, but we did not have that issue.)

Also wonderful is that this hotel is right in the midst of Cleveland's hopping downtown - a two-minute walk to the Arcade, and very near Town City Center. If you are doing anything in downtown Cleveland - going to a concert or the casino, for instance - this is an excellent location.

Next, I want to emphasize how terrific the staff is - patiently and kindly explaining to us things like how to find the parking lot and how to get around town. When we had a minor problem with our room, the problem was rectified swiftly and to our satisfaction.

Finally, kudos to Intercontinental Hotel Group for making this great building into a hotel, rather than shoving it into a landfill and building a boring new structure. We love this hotel and are already planning our next Cleveland trip around a stay here.

In sum, the Holiday Inn Express Downtown is an unusual place to stay, but still convenient, comfortable and a great price. Would I stay here again? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces Euclid Avenue (for the view) or else is far away from the elevators (less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Holiday Inn Cleveland
Cleveland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Ohio
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland
Holiday Inn Cleveland Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Ohio
Address: 629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#15 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a VIDEO TOUR of our hotel. Take a step back in time as you enter this 19th century historic Guardian Bank Building converted into one of the finest Cleveland hotels. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland - Downtown is located in downtown Cleveland's financial district between E. 9th St and E. 6th St on Euclid Ave. We are within walking distance from Cleveland s main attractions including: LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers Q Arena, Cleveland Browns Stadium, , Warehouse District, Scene Pavilion, Tower city, House of Blues, Cleveland State University, Playhouse Square, etc. With 9 different room types, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown has a room for every need. We feature the largest standard guest rooms in Cleveland, two room suites, Jacuzzi suites, rooms with kitchenettes and meeting rooms. We also offer vacation packages to Cleveland s major attractions including: The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Pickwick and Frolic Comedy Club, House of Blues and The Cleveland Clinic. We are now also offering free high speed Internet access in every guest room and meeting room. Visit Cleveland, OH and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.