We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpassed our expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Surpassed our expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Great property housed in an old bank building. We were given a room on the 14th floor - high ceilings, hardwood floors, flat screen TV, great comfortable bed. You can imagine that you are staying in a hotel from days gone by. The breakfast room is overly large and very comfortable, although the usual paper plate and plastic cutlery brings you back to the present. 15 minute walk to the Rock n Roll Hall of Fame or ride the free trolley. Parking is around the corner in a public covered parking lot.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 14th floor have extra high ceilings and windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    220
    64
    28
    25
See reviews for
116
197
24
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Hotel is a recent conversion from an old bank building. Other than the reception area which seems oddly placed in a through the block ground level corridor and the small lobby three steps up, the facilities are quite good. The rooms are high ceilinged, hardwood floored, and very spacious. The breakfast room is well appointed and the full H I Express breakfast (including biscuits in yummy if not healthful gravy and one minute pancakes) will start your day off right The service is very good.. The location near everything you want downtown is an A and the price is very reasonable.

Room Tip: Get a front room on a high floor (12-15) and you'll have a view of the Jake and the river beyond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Cleveland's Holiday Inn Express Downtown is a terrific hotel in a terrific location. The hotel is unusual for a Holiday Inn Express, in that it is a historic bank building that has been handsomely remade. The lobby is like a massive bank-building corridor from another era, all pale marble - not your conventional hotel lobby. The elevators are small, befitting the historic structure. But while you are often aware that this is a historic office building, hotel comforts are not neglected. Our room was HUGE. It was ENORMOUS. Also, it was sparkling clean and the beds were very comfy, the bathroom was spacious, and the wireless was wicked fast. When we were coming in to our room after dinner, in the hall we heard the people next door to us partying very loudly. We could hear every scream and shout in the hall, but once we got inside our room and closed our door, it was absolutely silent. It was like no one was next door at all. (I gather the same is not true of the rooms that share a communicating door, but we did not have that issue.)

Also wonderful is that this hotel is right in the midst of Cleveland's hopping downtown - a two-minute walk to the Arcade, and very near Town City Center. If you are doing anything in downtown Cleveland - going to a concert or the casino, for instance - this is an excellent location.

Next, I want to emphasize how terrific the staff is - patiently and kindly explaining to us things like how to find the parking lot and how to get around town. When we had a minor problem with our room, the problem was rectified swiftly and to our satisfaction.

Finally, kudos to Intercontinental Hotel Group for making this great building into a hotel, rather than shoving it into a landfill and building a boring new structure. We love this hotel and are already planning our next Cleveland trip around a stay here.

In sum, the Holiday Inn Express Downtown is an unusual place to stay, but still convenient, comfortable and a great price. Would I stay here again? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces Euclid Avenue (for the view) or else is far away from the elevators (less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brook Park, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were attending our niece's wedding being held at the Hyatt. This was more reasonable prices and the parking was cheaper than they Hyatt. I had 2 connecting rooms. They were extremely large for a hotel room. There is no carpet on the floor, instead beautiful hardwood floors. Other family came over the next morning and said the rooms looked double the size of theirs at the Hyatt.
The only downside was the continental breakfast. The workers that they did have were working extremely hard to keep up with the crowd. This hotel was packed because many people had stayed at this hotel because of the Brown"s game.

Room Tip: Very hard to find. The parking garage was across the street that is used by the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This building is absolutely beautiful. The hotel lobby is impressive, ornate, enormous. Hotel staff friendly, personable, efficient, and funny.

My son and I had a room on the 15th floor, facing Euclid Street. The bedding was fresh and clean. The bathroom has granite counters, is clean and everything smells fresh. Hardwood floors in a hotel...original hardwood floors...give this place so much character. 15-20 ft ceilings in the rooms, and three big windows facing Progressive Field. It says something about the size of the room that the 32" tv had to be cranked all the way up to hear it clearly in the room. Not a complaint, just a factor. And there was enough room for my son to do a (really terrible) cartwheel without hitting anything.

The location was perfect. Only a 15 minute walk to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame (our destination for Thanksgiving weekend). The House of Blues is across the street and just a block or two down. Parking was easy, just around the corner. For the price of the hotel ($106/night), I didn't mind paying $14 a day for parking.

I wouldn't change a thing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here one night. I booked it as a surprise birthday trip for my husband. There is 15 min parking in front of the hotel for registration and unloading luggage, which gave us ample time to do so and take our bag to the room. Desk staff was very friendly and explained the parking location and how to bring the ticket in for validation if you need to go in and out. The fee is $14 for 24 hour. Our room was on the top floor, a corner room. We had a beautiful view of the Terminal Tower from one set of windows and could see the lake from the other. The room was huge with lots of windows. The hardwood floors were gorgeous. Room and bath were very clean. I was worried the floors would be cold on the bare feet but they weren't. We had a jacuzzi, which my husband enjoyed. The ONLY complaint was the noisy fan on the heat/AC unit. We finally turned it off or we probably wouldn't have gotten much sleep. The weather was such that we didn't need either on. We thought the bed extremely comfortable. I did mention the noisy fan to the AM desk clerk. She was apologetic and said they needed replaceing. Overall we loved the hotel and the breakfast was nice.

Room Tip: Check your heat/AC unit before you settle in. You may need to be moved!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is located right on Euclid, perfect for a night out, game at the Q, or a concert at House Of Blues. check in was strange, right in a hallway, but that's due to the building being an old bank. The room itself was very spacious, beautiful hard wood floors and high ceilings. I found the bed to be terribly uncomfortable, but that was related to its firmness. I hate firm beds! My boyfriend however said it was the most comfortable bed hes slept in in a while. The bathroom was very clean and the shower was cool. Stand up shower with built in seats. Hit water was something to be desired. Breakfast was wonderful. normal things you'd expect at a continental breakfast with some hot choices too. The mezzanine where breakfast is held has plenty of seating, from tables and booths to couches. There also an arcade and a pool table. No charge to play pool. all over a nice place, but seemed a tad expensive for a Holiday Inn Express. For almost $200 a night in Cleveland I would have expected a pool or something.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Address: 629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a VIDEO TOUR of our hotel. Take a step back in time as you enter this 19th century historic Guardian Bank Building converted into one of the finest Cleveland hotels. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland - Downtown is located in downtown Cleveland's financial district between E. 9th St and E. 6th St on Euclid Ave. We are within walking distance from Cleveland s main attractions including: LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers Q Arena, Cleveland Browns Stadium, , Warehouse District, Scene Pavilion, Tower city, House of Blues, Cleveland State University, Playhouse Square, etc. With 9 different room types, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown has a room for every need. We feature the largest standard guest rooms in Cleveland, two room suites, Jacuzzi suites, rooms with kitchenettes and meeting rooms. We also offer vacation packages to Cleveland s major attractions including: The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Pickwick and Frolic Comedy Club, House of Blues and The Cleveland Clinic. We are now also offering free high speed Internet access in every guest room and meeting room. Visit Cleveland, OH and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Ohio
Holiday Inn Cleveland Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.