We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has everything you need” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Ottawa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Has everything you need”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

From the location to the rooms to the breakfast, it has everything you need. With a couple of buddies on an annual pilgrimage to see the Browns, we have stayed at other locations over the past several years and this was the best for our needs.
In and out parking nearby, breakfast every morning and great location.
The room was well laid out and large enough to hang out in. Within walking distance to Browns Stadium, many restaurants and bars. Just a short taxi ride to Ohio City for some of the up and coming restaurants to the area.
Minor issue with the housekeeping one day, which has been addressed. If not for that it would have received an excellent rating.
All in all will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    216
    62
    27
    25
See reviews for
114
193
24
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Beautiful room. Super spacious, gorgeous wood floors with high ceilings. Parking is pretty reasonable as well. Fifteen minute walk to Rock and Roll hall of Fame. Down side.... asked twice over a five hour span for a razor that never came, but the worst was the luke warm water that dripped out to fill the tub....by the time it was deep enough to cover the jets, the water was freeeeezing.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrill, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Visited Cleveland for a Browns game and stayed at this hotel. It is right in the heart of downtown and convenient to everything there. Within walking distance of nearly everything and room (#411), was huge to the point of appearing sparsely furnished but really had plenty of furniture (and open space) two flat screen tv's, two double beds and a sofa bed (3 adult males). A small kitchenette and the bathroom, while not huge was more than adequate. Parking was very close and easily accessible (garage in the next block). Had a nice hot breakfast in the morning. Staff was very helpful and friendly, although I had trouble accessing their Internet (wifi) the night we checked in, but it came up the next morning. Price was more than fair for what we received. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Again stayed in 411 - no view per se. Nice convenient downtown hotel. Old, but nicely restored and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We thouroughly enjoyed this hotel! We stayed in room 1510 on the top floor. It was one of the rooma with the wood floor, super tall windows, jacuzzi tub and GREAT view! Staff was extremely friendly! I've heard some bad reviews about this hotel. A couple have complained about the complimentary breakfast.......first of all, it's not going to be a 5 star breakfast! It was more than adequate.....eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, pancakes, donuts, bagels, yogurt, etc, etc. Also heard people complain about not knowing where the check-in desk was.....HELLO, it is right inside the door!!! True, it's an old bank so it's not your normal set-up but come on, use you brain, it's not that difficult to figure out. I would definitely reccomend this hotel!!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiting, IN
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I think this hotel should be rated higher on trip advisor than it is. I had read some negative reviews over the last few months and was concerned a little about what the hotel would be like. We booked it because it appeared to be close to 4th Street and we had a $116 AARP rate and $14 for parking. We had wanted to stay at the Hyatt but they wanted $188 per night plus a higher parking fee. When we got to the hotel it was quite interesting. An old bank building retrofitted into a hotel the check in is in the lobby and there were 2 clerks. Both were very helpful and nice and answered all our questions regarding directions. We checked in a little early at 3 PM and went right to our room. The room was huge. We were on the 15th floor and looked had a nice view. I was afraid of the wood floors, but when walking on them barefoot we did not feel any grit, so the room was cleaned very well. The bathroom was very clean and huge. The internet and TV worked fine. The beds were very comfortable and we slept very very well. The pillows were a little different, two firm and two soft, but they worked. Breakfast was just typical. They were a little slow on replacing some things and I couldn't find any fruit, but it was sufficient and filled us up. The location to 4th street was phenonmal. We had great weather Oct. 24-26 and were able to sit outside on 4th and have a drink and dessert. We also ate at Lola, Michael Symon's restaurant. Would highly recommend eating there even though it is pricey. We drove to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame because of some walking issues and it was very easy to get to and only about 5 minutes by car. The garage is not in the hotel but right outside of it and it was no problem getting our car in and out. They validate the parking ticket at check in whenever you go in and out. I absolutely am glad we decided to stay here. If we ever go back we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We went on the road to Wisconsin for a wedding and along the way we took in sight seeing and baseball games.
This stop was in Cleveland, Ohio and the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Cleveland. The hotel is an old bank from the 1800's and it was amazing to stay there. At first we were not sure if we were at the right place due to the lobby of the building handling the hotel and offices in the building. We were able to check in early, around 1:00 p.m., and that helped so much. The elevator was so small and cool to be in, it was an old building and they kept the elevators... The ceilings were very high and I loved the ceiling in the lobby.
Our room was so large; the hardwood floors were such a change for me. The room was very clean and our room attendant was very nice, she just finished the room when we exited the elevator. We had a very quiet room on the 6th floor at the end of the hall. We did not hear anything at all during the night. The bed was very comfortable and we had the extra pillows we requested. The bedroom area, the seating area, the counter area and the bathroom were more then enough space for us. The room really is a big as in the picture.
The breakfast was fine for us; my husband only likes Starbucks for breakfast but I needed fruit and yogurt and it was free. The location for breakfast was odd for me; going to the second floor then walking down steps to get to a secluded area for breakfast, just odd.
The location made it great for walking to the Indians game in the afternoon and getting a chance to see the city. This is our second time in Cleveland and we liked this hotel more then the last one we stayed in, the only issue was not pool but we were so busy and only there for a night it was not an issue.
I will stay there again when we head back to Cleveland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here for only 1 night, but if I return, I would stay here again.
It was a surprising stay. We had a room on the 14th floor and it was so nice. Old wooden floor, beautiful view.
The food was the typical HIE fare, so nothing to comment about there.
The staff was very helpful. AJ, at the front desk was so helpful with suggestions. We used the free trolley to get to the R&R Hall of Fame, since 1 in our party couldn't walk that far. Plenty of restaurants nearby. We enjoyed the Black Dog. Excellent food and good price.
My only issue is we found a HUGE piece of glass on the floor, right in front of the closet/ entry door. How housekeeping missed that I have no idea. It was the size of a quarter. Also, the windows are old and there is a breeze coming through them. The heavy drapes help, but if you don't like cool, fresh air, you want like this. (we didn't need the fan going that night!)
Parking at a ramp around the corner was convenient. We checked out of the hotel & they kept our luggage while we were at the R&R, parking was good for 24 hours.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Address: 629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a VIDEO TOUR of our hotel. Take a step back in time as you enter this 19th century historic Guardian Bank Building converted into one of the finest Cleveland hotels. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland - Downtown is located in downtown Cleveland's financial district between E. 9th St and E. 6th St on Euclid Ave. We are within walking distance from Cleveland s main attractions including: LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers Q Arena, Cleveland Browns Stadium, , Warehouse District, Scene Pavilion, Tower city, House of Blues, Cleveland State University, Playhouse Square, etc. With 9 different room types, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown has a room for every need. We feature the largest standard guest rooms in Cleveland, two room suites, Jacuzzi suites, rooms with kitchenettes and meeting rooms. We also offer vacation packages to Cleveland s major attractions including: The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Pickwick and Frolic Comedy Club, House of Blues and The Cleveland Clinic. We are now also offering free high speed Internet access in every guest room and meeting room. Visit Cleveland, OH and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Ohio
Holiday Inn Cleveland Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.