We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Holiday Inn Express” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Unexpected Holiday Inn Express”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

This charming hotel is situated downtown Cleeland close to the stadium and casino. The lobby was beautiful and spacious. I think this building was an old bank, the ceilings are so high. I had room1304, it was massive. Kitchenette, large sitting are and big comfortable bed. Be sure to use the games room with pool table and arcade games if you bring the kids. The complementary breakfast buffet was just right. The best part of this experience wa the warm and friendly staff. One lady wished me a "blessed day". It stayed with me all day. Great value and amenities. If you need a taxi, arrange one at the front desk. They aren't easy to find on the street.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    182
    51
    27
    24
See reviews for
93
158
20
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I was on an annual baseball trip with friends. We were heading to Progressive Field to catch an Indins game. This location on Euclid Ave is great. It is old. And it is really an old bank. But it made for a good hotel to sleep at one night. We had enough hardwood in the room that it was like we had our own personal basketball court! Free breakfast with bacon and eggs and a waffle maker was extremely good. Tip the workers well as they deserve it.

The only negative I have is two part. One, after I booked they told me it is no longer an IHG hotel and therefore there are no priority club points for the stay. And two, they had one person working the desk at 4pm for check in. One person for a line of ten. Unacceptable.

Room Tip: The elevators are TINY. We had a view of Progressive field and Quicken Arena.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express in Downtown Cleveland has got be the best hotel that I've stayed in... I've always had good luck with HIE and I'm loyal to the chain but this Holiday Inn Express has really set the bar.

What's not to love? It's in a great location (just a short walk to Terminal Tower, easy access to RTA, and seconds from great restaurants and nightlife), it's in a great building (the former National City building), with an excellent view (our room's windows looked like a cityscape portrait of Cleveland with great views of the terminal tower, KeyBank building, Huntington tower, and others).

While located in a historic building, it has been restored beautifully with contemporary touches. Guest rooms have floor to ceiling windows, hard wood floors, and modern contemporary furniture and art. They actually seem more like high-end lofts then hotel rooms. The lobby has kept many of the original (at least it looks like) fixtures and details while upgrading some things to the modern/contemporary look. Simply put, it's a great example of old meets new. Our room had great A/C, cool mini-fridge, and the normal amenities of hotel rooms.

We did not interact many times with the staff, however, they seemed friendly enough. However (and I understand it's a new hotel) needs better training on how the parking system works (more on that below). Staff members we encountered in the halls provided a friendly "hello" or smile. The housekeepers did a great job at cleaning the room.

This hotel lacks valet, a huge opportunity the management should look to really make this hotel pop. Here's how parking works: Unload your car at the spots located at the front of the building, check-in and put your bags in your room. Then park your car around the corner in the public parking garage and take the ticket. When you wish to return your car, you have to take the ticket to the front-desk and have it stamped. At which time you return to your car and insert the validated ticket in lieu of cash. The hotel then adds the parking fee to the room rate ($16 per day, unlimited enters/exits). The parking garage is a 5-minute walk and it's safe at night but at $16 per night, I'd expect a valet service. At one point, front-desk staff didn't stamp the ticket and instead handwrote it, which the machine did not take.

Overall, the hotel experience was great, however, the devil is the details. The tub in 1210 had handles which twisted off completely, fuzzy television reception, bad selection of travel brochures (luckily, a tourism board office is nearby), key-cards that were deactivated, and the employees that need better training. However, these are easily fixed and again, it's a new hotel so glitches are expected.

So if you want great city views, a great location, in a great building... Pick this hotel. The management and owner have done a fabulous job thus far, and I can't wait to see how far this hotel goes!

Room Tip: Pick a room that faces terminal tower, KeyBank tower, and Huntington Tower. Higher levels are better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I had chosen this Hotel because I liked the interior pictures and the location. Was on a short trip with my 10 year old son to see the Science Museum and the Cleveland Zoo. Heavy traffic, but hotel was quiet, very friendly staff, great room. Loved the clean hardwood floors, the room made me feel like a guest rather then a tourist. Overall the hotel had a European flair to it, which made me feel at home even more. Breakfast was plenty, fresh coffee and pancakes, cereal and yogurt. A smorgasbord for every taste. Plenty of restaurants around the corner. Son and I will be back!

Room Tip: I doubt there are any bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night during our honeymoon road trip. We mentioned that we were on our honeymoon and got upgraded to their amazing honeymoon suite. The room was great. It came with two plasma screen TV's a king size bed, living room area, a jacuzzi tub and a separate bathroom and shower. The continental breakfast was great and open later then most hotel breakfasts. We came to Cleveland to see the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and the hotel was in a great location to get to the museum. The Holiday Inn Express Downtown is located right by East 4th Street, which is a local hot spot filled with restaurants and bars. Guests do have to pay for parking it's $14 a night if you get your card validated by the front desk ($22 a night if you don't). The only reason I didn't give them 5 stars is we booked our room through Orbitz and then got charged again through Holiday Inn. It was a long process trying to get credited back our money but they eventually credited our account back. (About 2 weeks after the incident) However, even with the mix up on being charged twice I would still stay here again next time we are in Cleveland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherstocking Region New York
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Arrived at 12:30 PM to "no clean rooms ready". Not that busy, and not that helpful. Later on other clerks were friendlier and more helpful. Not a big problem, but after you park in the parking garage around the corner, you will need to carry your bags in, or pull out, go around the block, and stop out front again to unload, that is what we ended up doing.

Downtown and centrally located to many eateries on 4th Street, and not too much of a walk to Progressive Field/Quicken Loans Arena area. We were in town to see the Red Sox.

Room was HUGE! Old bank building, but rooms are all renovated with high ceilings. Wood floors in room and in hallways. This was both good and bad. Good in room, since you don't need to worry about what is under the carpet, but socks ended up filthy each night. Hallway area was not cleaned regularly. What would it take to have someone run a swifter over the floor a few times a day? Probably not since there was only one cleaner per floor. One person to make up the rooms on each floor. They may have had more than one floor as well, but I did see several different maids and cleaning carts. They need a better union.

Saturday night we heard some guests going out about 7 PM, and they were talking loudly. Wooden floors do not muffle the noise well. We found this out when the same rude, obnoxious, drunk guests came back at 1:30 AM and continued to make noise until 2:30 AM. This was on a Club Floor, and after I had requested a quiet floor. Younger people who don't care about anybody but themselves. We have teenage boys and have always impressed upon them to be quiet in any hotel hallway at ALL TIMES! Also, don't let the door slam shut everytime you go in and out. MANNERS!

Breakfast area is on the mezzanine floor, which means that you take the elevator down, then walk down a flight of stairs from the game room area. Large space, but pretty typical Express breakfasts. Issue then becomes everyone trying to get back on the elevators up to your own floor. When cleaners are trying to go from floor to floor with their carts this can be a challenge. Very tiny elevators also.

View from our room was the back of another building with someone's office directly across from our room. Every other floor that we could see from our room was being gutted and renovated. Not an issue on Sat. and Sun., but we heard them working on Monday AM!

On Sunday we went to the ballgame at noon. We arrived back to our room after 5 PM to find beds not made up, and dirty towels still piled in the tub. Called down, and was told that cleaner would be up to take care of it. Not sure why they did not make a note to take care of it for the 5 hours we were out of the room. Talked to front desk person and gave them my number to call me after room had been cleaned. NEVER GOT A PHONE CALL. Had to go to dinner earlier than had planned in our sweaty ballgame clothes.

Not sure if we would stay here again. It is very conveniently located to things we needed to do, but after Red Sox fans left on Sunday afternoon, it was very evident that the neighborhood clientele had also changed for the worse (panhandlers, scalpers, etc.)

Front desk girl at check out was courteous and friendly, but we noticed overall that all seemed to be very young, and inexperienced with how to handle issues that arise.

Room Tip: Lobby is a common area shared with other places. Very strange set up, so keep track of your belongi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear ChrisnChris B,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. We are pleased our convenient location suited you and glad you liked our huge room. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. However, I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectations. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience or discomfort you experienced with the cleanliness of the rooms, parking situation, housekeeping services received and noise from our other guests and renovations during your stay. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

While I understand your stay was not 100% as it should have been. I do hope you can stay with us again so we can show you how truly great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

First time staying at hotel. Parking was easy 1 block away. Hotel lobby reminds you of a old bank. Room was was not ready at 5pm but I waited maybe 10 minutes in the waiting area. Room was very big. Hardwood floors. Only bad thing you could hear the people walking sometimes in the room above you. Nosie level in the hallways was kind of loud also. Seems like everything echoed. Morning free breakfast was very good. Location was close to Progressive Field, Rock and Roll Hall of fame. Lots of bars and restaurnat within walking distance. Horseshoe Casino about 3 blocks aways. Gets very crowded. Overall I don't have anything to complain about with this hotel. Would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown

Address: 629 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#9 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a VIDEO TOUR of our hotel. Take a step back in time as you enter this 19th century historic Guardian Bank Building converted into one of the finest Cleveland hotels. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland - Downtown is located in downtown Cleveland's financial district between E. 9th St and E. 6th St on Euclid Ave. We are within walking distance from Cleveland s main attractions including: LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers Q Arena, Cleveland Browns Stadium, , Warehouse District, Scene Pavilion, Tower city, House of Blues, Cleveland State University, Playhouse Square, etc. With 9 different room types, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown has a room for every need. We feature the largest standard guest rooms in Cleveland, two room suites, Jacuzzi suites, rooms with kitchenettes and meeting rooms. We also offer vacation packages to Cleveland s major attractions including: The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Pickwick and Frolic Comedy Club, House of Blues and The Cleveland Clinic. We are now also offering free high speed Internet access in every guest room and meeting room. Visit Cleveland, OH and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cleveland-Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Ohio
Holiday Inn Cleveland Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.