We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway

Save Saved
You added Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   651 Huron Road, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings of 15%
Ranked #23 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Glendale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Hotel was clean, the staff seemed to care less about its guests. Lots of standing around chatting, very free on the language. Even standing in line they were not in hurry to put their conversations on hold to assist me. Lots of snow and ice in front of the hotel, could have been cleared out by the staff versus socializing. Breakfast was good and the buffet was in expensive. I also could hear the elevators running all night from my room, luckily I sleep hard.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    89
    54
    25
    19
See reviews for
45
83
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

As an employee in the hospitality business, I don't give rave reviews often but my experience with the Radisson Cleveland downtown has been superb. I have been staying for extended period at this hotel and cannot say enough good about the experience. The staff has been extremely friendly and helpful (even if I wasn’t), the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the hotel/Radisson brand does little things that I appreciate (like loofa scrubs in showers for example). The hotel is extremely convenient for any downtown activities too – right across from the stadiums and in the central business district. Easy parking next door or valet, good staff there too. All in all, a great value, best rate I could find coupled with the best experience in hotel stays in Cleveland I have found. Again, I work for the hotel industry throughout the Midwest so I’m not shy for criticism if deserved.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed there the Friday after Thanksgiving this year and everything started out well. Our package included the Valet parking and breakfast. I thought this was a great deal knowing my car would be parked safely while we were downtown. We checked out on Saturday morning and when the valet came back, the car had been gone through and everything in the glove box and center console were all over the car. Apparently the valet never locked the doors the night before when they parked the car. Luckily the person who went through the car was only looking for cash and credit cards and the most valuable items were still there. Other than the inconvenience of canceling a couple cards that were in there, filing a police report and talking to a couple detectives, nothing much needed to be done. My total dissatisfaction in in how the hotel has handled the situation. After the valet brought me the car, I went in and asked for a manager. The person at the desk said they could help me and we filled out a repot. There was no real sympathy from the person helping me and I have never heard from someone at the hotel since. I did fill out a survey and gave them a very detailed account of the problem and all I received was a standard form response from the front desk manager. I responded to them and still have not received a response. In the end, the room was very nice but I would not recommend this hotel or would never stay at a Radisson brand based on how this situation was handled.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Hello Sir,

Unfortunately I was away from the office and could not reply back at the time. Because the police are now involved, you should proceed with the police. I'm sure that is not what you were hoping to hear, but it is now out of our hands. We have provided the police with all information they have requested. I do apologize for any inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We were overall quite pleased with this downtown hotel! It is almost right across the street from the Quicken arena (purpouse of our trip) and baseball field. We booked a suite with a bedroom (with sleep number bed) , living room with fold out bed, 2 desks, mini kitchen area. We were quite pleased the room was huge ! plenty of room for our family of 4 to relax and not be on top of each other- a plus when staying in a hotel.
The staffing at the front desk and valet was slim at times. I even called ahead and my car was still not ready. The staff was friendly though.
Nice bath amenties (bath pouf! and body wash)
I would reccomend bringing a few bottles of water and snacks (as we typically do) , as we could not find a convenience store close to this hotel. The vending is extremely limited.
The 'Christmas Story House" is a close family excursion

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I've stayed at many Radisson's over the years, and none of them have been like this hotel. We checked into a room that didn't have any heat. I immediately called the front desk and was told a maintenance person would come up shortly. After 20 minutes, I called again and was told the person was on his way up. I opened the door to see a security guard standing at my door. He told me the front desk sent him up to check my heat. He didn't know where the thermostat was or what was wrong. After a second conversation with the front desk, we asked to be moved to another room. He moved us to another room, only to give our previous room to a couple that checked in while I was getting my new room key. I told them we didn't have any heat, and we were still in the room, waiting for our new room. It was a fiasco, to say the least. Will never stay there again! Incompetent front desk manager.

Room Tip: Hotel is close to bars/restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
We are sorry you were not satisfied with the conditions of your room in regards to lack of heat. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Radisson standards. Also, we apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Pro's - Location (close to anything you want in Cleveland), Clean, Service (see also Con's), Breakfast in the "Library", general service from staff

Booked at King, Non-Smoking and when we checked in, we had had Doubles. We called downstairs and was told that because we used a third party (Hotels.com), they don't "guarantee" you get what you book (i.e...a King bed). I was told by the front desk that no rooms with King beds were available because of a wedding. I found the original email that stated we booked a "King" bed, then went down to the front desk. The young man there found a King room, no hassle.

Con's - Sleep Number bed did not work, immediate "no we don't have a king even though that's what you booked" answer from woman at front desk and if you like a dark hotel room, don't get room 315 - there is a quarter inch gap all the way around the door letting light through

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel is situated in a perfect area right between Jacobs Field, the Q, and the Casino. One block from the fourth street bars and restaurants. Also walking distance to the Cleveland Browns stadium and the train terminal is one block away. Now the not so good. Service very spotty but friendly. Seems quite understaffed, and we stayed a weekend of a Browns game. The internet works fine, so that is a plus, but we were hardly ever in the room. The elevators are VERY slow, so plan ahead for that if you are short on time. Very loud at night in out room, as there is an outdoor dance club very close to the hotel. All in all, a good value and location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway

Address: 651 Huron Road, Cleveland, OH 44115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Plaza Hotel Cleveland – Gateway, a newly renovated boutique style hotel, is located in the heart of the Gateway District, a step away from Q-Arena and Progressive Field. Take in some of Cleveland’s finest dining, entertainment and shopping in the new “hip” East 4th Street district… all just a short walk from our door. You’ll love our “Yes, I Can” hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway Ohio
Radisson Hotel Gateway
Radisson Cleveland
Cleveland Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.