We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Convenient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   651 Huron Road, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 15%
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Freehold, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very Convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Arrived at the Radisson a bit before 8:00p and walked into a nice lobby, however, there was no one at the front desk. After waiting a minute or so, two pleasant desk clerks entered through a door and worked together to check us in. The elevators were very slow. This was something we noticed throughout our stay. The room was nice enough and fairly clean. I’m a stickler about bathroom cleanliness and finding a couple hairs from the previous occupant, didn't thrill me. Also the pink stain around the drain in the bathtub looked like mold. The bathroom was small and had an odd angle at the door way, which made the room a bit cramped. It also had a split toilet seat, which I find uncomfortable. We called and requested some extra towels and then went out to find a restaurant for dinner.

A few hours later the towels hadn't arrived, so we called again. This time they were delivered soon after. I had been excited to try a sleep number bed, as we are looking to replace our mattress. It may have been just a bad or overly used mattress, but you could feel the baffles inside no matter which setting it was on. And when I set my side and then my husband set his, I checked mine again and it had changed.

The next morning it was nice to be able to make a cup of coffee right there in the room. We had the breakfast downstairs, and it was very good. That evening we went to a ball game. This hotel is so convenient for that. In fact we had a nice view of the park from our room.

Did this hotel hit a home run with us? No. But it wasn't bad for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCleve, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for the travel opinion. We appreciate our guest feedback and utilize these comments to always strive for excellence in guest satisfaction. We look forward to your next visit to downtown Cleveland.

sincerely,
Juan G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    116
    61
    29
    22
See reviews for
62
109
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
East Aurora, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were in Cleveland for a concert at the House of Blues. We chose the Radisson due to the price and location which was only a short few blocks to the venue. There were 4 of us sharing a room so we asked for 2 beds. We were upgraded to a larger room than standard. The front desk clerk was incredibly friendly and helpful. She gave us walking directions and an upgrade! The room was spacious. We didn't care about the view - when you are in the middle of a city usually you just see other buildings! The bathroom was a bit "dated" but suited us fine for the night. The sleep number beds were wonderful - just wish they were at least Queen as 2 adults squished into a double makes for a rough night of sleep! The girls in charge of breakfast were incredibly polite and went out of their way to accommodate our late breakfast. I would recommend this location for a quick stay in Cleveland! Side note - we save $8 by using the parking ramp right next to the hotel as opposed to valet.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 523 and it was way down at the end of the hall, but incredibly quiet and removed f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here for a concert and then extended the stay for one night so that we could go to the Rock Hall for the next day.
When we arrived around 2:00 pm we were told that our room was not available. I had to ask if they had a luggage room. The totally disinterested person at the desk said that we could leave the bags with valet, nodded in the direction of the door through which we had entered, and added that valet should be back in a few minutes. I am sorry to say that I did not get the name of the man who appeared with a name tag that indicated that he was the General Manager because of all the people I encountered at this hotel, he was the most helpful. After he made sure that our luggage was checked with valet, he provided directions and suggested things close by to do.
When we returned to the hotel shortly after 4:00 pm, our room was "ready." When I made the initial reservation, I indicated that there would be three of us and that reserved a suite. When we arrived at the room, I did my usual check and found that there were no sheets and no mattress cover for the sofa bed. I called down to the front desk and asked to have sheets and a mattress cover sent up. Then we waited and waited. I called again and we waited and waited. We decided that we should go eat so that we could get to the concert on time. We ate in the grill and it took a long time for the food to come. We had ordered drinks, but when one component of one drink was missing, the drinks were just left sitting until I asked if those were our drinks and could I just go and get them. When the food did come, however, what we had ordered was quite good. When we returned to the room, still no sheets and mattress pad. I then called again. Finally someone came to the door with two sheets, one in tact and one half ripped across the bottom. Assuming that this was as good as it gets, I thanked him, tipped him and took the sheets. Not a great beginning, but "oh, well." Off to the concert, great location to return to after a concert. The rooms were fairly clean, but nothing to write home about. The towels were clean, but certainly not soft. I was not impressed with comforter, personally would have preferred a light blanket. Yes, I know that there was one in the dresser drawer, but it was being used by the occupant of the sofa bed. The sleep number bed had selected its number and that was the number that it was going to be. The air conditioning was set on 64 when we arrived and we were never cold.
The next morning, the bill was under the door. I went down to the front desk and asked if they had any record that we had extended the stay for another day. They did not. However, they said that they would extend the reservation. We then left for the Rock Hall returning late in the afternoon only to find that all three keys had been deactivated. Back down to the front desk which of course took some time since the elevators were extremely slow and even more so since the service elevator was not working. The lady reactivated or gave us new room keys and said she was sorry.
I do not rate the stay as horrible, just mediocre. Usually have better luck with another brand.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCleve, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, we will utilize your comments to improve our guest quality. It is not our standards to leave beds unprepared or offer poor quality of sheets, service, etc.. We appreciate the feedback and do hope you return to our hotel for another opportunity.

thank you,
The RAD Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canal Fulton, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I don't think there is a more convenient hotel when going to an Indians game or going to Quicken Loans Arena, but there is room for improvement. Our first room had an issue with the toilet not flushing so we were immediately moved to another room. This room had no problems. We stayed on a night where there was an Indians game and a Justin Beiber concert. When we tried to get room service for a quick dinner before heading to the ballgame we were told that the cook was stuck in traffic and there was no food to be had. I find it hard to believe that a hotel with a restaurant on premise that offers room service has only one cook on the schedule for what could have been a very busy night. We had ballpark franks instead and they were delicious! Our room faced the front and unfortunately we were awoken by a bunch of drunks down on the street at 2:30am yelling and we were on the 7th floor. Not the hotels fault at all.

Room Tip: Request a room that isn't on the front of the building. Don't count on the restaurant being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCleve, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for the feedback, yes, an unfortunate situation for our hotel with our food service team. We appreciate your feedback and value our guest opinions. We look forward to your next visit to our city to enjoy the sport and nightlife.

sincerely,
The Rad Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. On website states free coffee and evening cookies. Never had cookies...which was a downer for my 13 year old and always out of coffee. Also...room service both mornings knocking on door at 800. One morning they even just let themselves in until they saw we were still in bed sleeping! Also housekeeping ran vacuum in hall and rooms around 830-9 each morning! Do they realize people are there vacationing up late night before and would like to sleep in??!! Also room doors slam loudly...also preventing you from sleeping since people are coming and going all the time. The location however is great..but I dont think that is enough reason to stay in this hotel unfortunately.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCleve, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your email, we strive for 100% guest satisfaction. We do provide coffee 24 hours a day, but cookies are only for certain periods of the afternoon. In the mornings along with the consistent coffee, we provide teas, hot chocolate, granola bar and all day long fresh apples. We apologize for any noise, we do try to keep our working noise to a minimum while cleaning rooms that have departed the hotel early in the day. We do hope you consider staying with us on another occasion, we are in a fantastic part of the city with several entertainment and business close to our hotel and easily walkable.

sincerely,
The Rad Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

great location next to Quicken Loans Arena & Progressive Field. There is an area with a bunch of bars and restaurants within walking distance. Only a 5 minute cab ride to Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Only valet parking here, who charge $20 per night. Rooms were pretty big and comfy. We had an issue with the toilet in the bathroom but once we alerted the front desk, they sent maintenance up to fix it within 15 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCleve, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for the guest feedback. We appreciate your business and happy to read you enjoyed the downtown experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here for two nights to see the Indians. The location is perfect - five minute walk from Progressive Stadium, area is safe and there are several nice restaurants nearby.
Room was attractive and spotless. Great bed. Air conditioner a tad noisy but this seems to be the case most places. Breakfast was just OK, food mediocre, breakfast room cramped and staff overwhelmed but cheerful and tried their best to please.
Best thing about the place - the staff. Incredibly friendly and helpful. We had a minor issue with our room and they immediately offered to move us to another room. Of course I left something behind in the first room and had to ask to be let back in to retrieve it - they cheerfully obliged.
Biggest beef - the valet parking puts your car in a lot about a block away. At rush hours, or before and after ball games, traffic in the area is brutal and it's impossible for them to bring the car to the hotel promptly. This means a long lineup forms at the valet desk. The valet solved the problem by herding a bunch of us to the parking garage so we could drive our cars away from there - he said it was against hotel policy but he took the initiative because he could see we were inconvenienced - really stepped up to the plate IMHO.
We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room with one king bed is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCleve, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for the travel opinion and staff compliments. We do strive for 100% guest satisfaction for all guest. Visiting downtown Cleveland is an experience not be missed! We have several entertainment options and yes... traffic! I'm glad our team took the initiative to assist as best possible when the difficulty of game day traffic creates situation. We appreciate your consideration is high volume experience.

with hospitality,
Juan- G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway

Address: 651 Huron Road, Cleveland, OH 44115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Plaza Hotel Cleveland – Gateway, a newly renovated boutique style hotel, is located in the heart of the Gateway District, a step away from Q-Arena and Progressive Field. Take in some of Cleveland’s finest dining, entertainment and shopping in the new “hip” East 4th Street district… all just a short walk from our door. You’ll love our “Yes, I Can” hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway Ohio
Radisson Hotel Gateway
Radisson Cleveland
Cleveland Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.