We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a couple of nights” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   651 Huron Road, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Savings of 15%
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“OK for a couple of nights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Convenient downtown location. Lots of food nearby. travel from airport was 35 plus tip. Hotel is average business hotel but bathrooms are small. You step over the commode to get into the shower. Hotel was clean but has minor issues. Tub surface was peeling off, discoloration around bathroom vent.

Hotel has small restaurant. Food was not good for breakfast but edible and cheap. Suggest finding a diner close by as an alternative if you have time.

For comparison, this is just a notch below your average courtyard.

Room Tip: Avoid 509. too close to elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCleve, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your travel review, we appreciate the guest comments. We utilize our customer feedback to consistently improve our level of service. We will make note of the room and be certain maintenance repairs the tub issues. In regards to the restaurant, we are starting construction and plan to open another restaurant at the hotel by October 2013.

Sincerely,
G.M- Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    116
    61
    29
    22
See reviews for
62
109
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
dayton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I'm currently sitting in the hotel room surprised that a call about a hair found IN THE BED was met with relative indifference.

I got what sounded like an insincere apology and was told that housekeeping must have missed it and that there were blankets in the drawer. Then silence. Well, I'm concerned the sheets may have not been changed, I explain. Can someone bring us sheets and remake the bed? I'm put on hold. When the staffer returns she says housekeeping has left (I don't doubt this, it is a little after 1 a.m.). So now I'm silent. She then apologizes again and says, but we can move you to another room. She doesn't sound at all sorry. Plus, it's after 1 a.m. so we decide to stay put. The hair was gross for sure but I'm also bothered by the clerk's tone, which sounds as if she could care less about the situation. Oh, the sleep number bed didn't work, either and the bed is really uncomfortable! There was no offer of a complimentary breakfast or anything. Perhaps we should've just changed rooms but it was so late.
I'm also listening to music blaring from somewhere outside. There must be a club next door.

Location was great - we went to the NKOTB concert at quickens. Literally across the street.

Room was ok - nothing to write home about UNTIL I DISCOVERED THE HAIR when I pulled back the comforter.

Would I stay here again? Probably not. it was my first stay and I initially thought this would be a go-to because of the location but the cavalier attitude of the staffer really turned me off the place. I know hotels with such a great location don't care about the complaint of one guest but I'll try my hand elsewhere next time I'm in Cleveland.

Room Tip: We're on the second floor and all I can see is the wall of a building next door and a rooftop. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCleve, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and we apologize in regards to the bed issues. Unfortunately, we do not staff a housekeeping employee at 1am. Still, no reason for the error in our quality. PLease contact Ray Vallee at our hotel ray.vallee@radisson.com. We will make it right for 100% guest satisfaction. It is important for our guests to 100% satisfied.

thank you,
Juan- G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Pa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

First of all, we love this hotel. Go to the Tribe games a lot and always stay here. Always a
nice room and comfortable bed. However, last time we stayed, (second floor, just above the entrance) we woke up to the sounds of loud shouting outside at 2:50 a.m. A crowd of 8-10 people were in a shouting match. Not fighting, not in unison, just LOUD. After a full 5 minutes, called the front desk and they said they were on the phone with the police. Took police 10 minutes to arrive with an ambulance (?) and by then just one person was left shouting. They talked him into getting into the ambulance (after about 15 minutes of profanity shouting on his part) and shortly thereafter, he came back out. No handcuffs, no patrol cars, nothing. Huh? After he finally left (half hour by this time when all was said and done) went back to bed and then two people (maybe him again?) came on our floor and were shouting profanity out in the hall. They finally decided they were (a) either on the wrong floor or (b) in the wrong hotel and left. If I or my husband had been the nervous type, we would have been freaked out. I know the hotel didn't have any control over the issue beings it was outside, but our full-pay hotel stay was really a sleepless night. Told desk clerk in the morning and he said he had a lot of complaints. It really is a nice place to stay, however, I'd forgo the breakfast (which is a great selection including waffles etc.) but I'm not a fan of instant micro-eggs and sausage, and I'd opt for one of the coffee shops within walking distance. You can get the room minus breakfast for a cheaper rate. Also, if you want a quiet night, don't get the room right above the entrance.

Room Tip: room away from entrance/street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCleve, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate it very much. Yes, the downtown Cleveland nightlife is always exciting, even sometimes past 2am. We do our best to control our hotel environment when too much noise happens in our street area. We look forward to your next visit; GO TRIBE!

with hospitality,
The RAD Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Sleep Number beds are not a good idea for a hotel setting as they get too much use and wear out. It took us a long time to get the control to wake up and then it would only decrease the comfort level (A call to the front desk was no help and I am still waiting for the return phone call that I was promised). Our first night's sleep was not very good as the support system of this bed is so much different than a standard mattress. The second night was as good as I have had in other hotels.

We were in town to visit Horseshoe Casino and it is just a short walk and easily accessible. This hotel is very near Progressive Field and Quicken Arena. Lots of spots to eat and grab a drink. Close to the nightlife on 4th Street too.

Valet was $20 a night but worth it as it comes with in and out privileges (we did not have to use it as the city has free trolleys to get around to attractions).

Would definitely return to this hotel, especially if they replace the beds.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed here one night when having tests at University Hospital. Made the decision to stay so we wouldn't have to fight traffic coming into Cleveland for the early Dr. appointment. Worked out very well. Loved the sleep-number beds in the room and the had a great night's sleep. Morning commute to the hospital was effortless.
No continental breakfast, but they will pack you a grab and go bag with protein bar and water.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The staff was the most helpful and friendly I have ever seen at a hotel. The prices were very reasonable, and the hotel is in a great location (walking distance to several fun attractions). My wife and I will be visiting Cleveland again in the future, and this will certainly be the hotel we stay in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCleve, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Nick B, we appreciate the business and thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We are in the heart of downtown action for the city of Cleveland. We look forward to your next visit.

all the best,
The Rad Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel looks quite old with lifts taking couple of minutes to reach eight floors. However, I really liked the staff. All of them were very cordial and willing to help. The breakfast was regular. The rooms were a bit small. It is just a few minutes walk away from Public Square. Has good choices of restaurants around.Those sleep number beds were very good.

I will stay again just for those friendly people in there!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCleve, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We appreciate your business and thank you for sharing your guest opinion. We are an ideal choice and centrally located within downtown Cleveland; the central area for business, sports, dining and entertainment. All in walking distance to the hotel.

sincerely,
The RAD Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway

Address: 651 Huron Road, Cleveland, OH 44115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Plaza Hotel Cleveland – Gateway, a newly renovated boutique style hotel, is located in the heart of the Gateway District, a step away from Q-Arena and Progressive Field. Take in some of Cleveland’s finest dining, entertainment and shopping in the new “hip” East 4th Street district… all just a short walk from our door. You’ll love our “Yes, I Can” hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway Ohio
Radisson Hotel Gateway
Radisson Cleveland
Cleveland Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.