We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for downton location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway

Save Saved
You added Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   651 Huron Road, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings of 15%
Ranked #23 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good choice for downton location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My friend and I were meeting in Cleveland for a short stay and wanted a clean, safe hotel in the downtown area. The Radisson was a good choice and we're happy we stayed there. The rooms are clean, though a bit dated. The toilet required two flushes frequently and there was no fan in the bathroom so it fogged up quickly even with the door open. Given what we were looking for and our short stay, these were not major issues. And for the price, it seems like one of the better options in the downtown area.

It is walking distance to most any downtown attraction. 5 min walk to the baseball stadium and basketball arena. It took us about 15-20 minutes to wak to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, which is also right next to the football stadium. There are plenty of bars and restaurants in the area as well and a large mall that is 10 minutes walking distance, too. It does get quieter on a weekend when there is no game in town though, with restaurants harder to find open especially serving past 10pm -- this is not NYC or Chicago.

If you drive and need to park, there are plenty of parking garages in the area. They are cheaper than the valet at the hotel if you can walk 5 minutes.

Room Tip: request a non-ground level room for better privacy and safety If you drive and need to park, ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCleve, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and that you were pleased with the area attractions and what our location offers. I will share your comments with our staff in our daily review of our operation. Once again thank you and we look forward to serving you again when you return to Cleveland.

Best regards,
Leo Phillippi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    89
    54
    24
    19
See reviews for
44
82
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

I like staying at hotels that are in older buildings which have a character. This is one of those. I can say the building is a little tired and could use a freshing up but it was still pleasant. Next was a fun 'pub' with a great atmosphere. I would recommend this hotel to those who like old architecture and city life.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCleve, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. Weappreciate your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed tour stay at our hotel. In regards to your comment on needing some freshening up we are in the process of planning on starting that project in the very near future. Once again thank you for your visit and we look forward to serving you again when you retuirn to Cleveland

Best regards,
Leo Phillippi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My birthday, wanted to have a nice downtown experience with hubby, so booked at a very good rate. At checkin no upgrade available, but was given a rooom on a higher floor. View of parking garage on floor 7, but not there to look out window anyway. Great flatscreen tv, Very clean room, close to elevator, ice machine. Bathroom amenities generous. Ok, if a hotel has sleep number beds they should all work or just advertise the comfy beds and forget sleep number. We found the beds to be very comfy, nice bedding, pillows too. The clock radio didn't work at all, but was offered free valet parking as compensation. The breakfast room service was top notch. Even the toast was warm still. Loved the roasted potatoes and sausage links. It's hard to get good breakfast room service, but they sure got that right, and the price was about the same as we would've paid to eat in dining rm. Overall very helpful staff and clean room which was conveniently located near area attractions (casino, restaurants...) Will return!

Room Tip: Our room was one of the less expensive rooms, but we found it to be very roomy with a flat screen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCleve, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thankyou for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you enyoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with your room service. We have replaced the radio that was in your room to ensure that the next guest has a clock radio that works properly. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to serving you agin when you return to Cleveland.

Best regards,
Leo Phillippi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Au Train, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed two night at the Radison and was able to easily walk to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Browns Stadium and to great restaurants/bars...(check out the Harry Buffalo!). The room was clean, the staff was pleasant and breakfast "hit the spot". We had a little difficulty with the Sleep number beds but after a quick call, it was figured out and we were set. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had an executive suite for 5 of us....enough room for a roll away and all our luggage....wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCleve, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank youi for your recent review on Tripadvisor.I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Radisson Cleveland Gateway. I will share your comments with our staff during our next meeting to inspire them to continue to provide great service to our guest's. Once again thank you and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
Leo Phillippi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange Park, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was wonderful. The staff was very helpful and easy to work with. The room was very clean, neat, and beds were very comfortable. The front desk was very helpful and the valet service with the car was very quick. They even brought me my cell phone when I left it in the car, without me asking for it. They they called our room to let us know it was at the front desk. We did think that $20 was a little pricey for parking. There are lots of great restaurants within a couple of blocks. Being United Church of Christ members, without going outside, it was very convenient to be able to walk through the hotel to our National Church Offices and visit The Church House. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCleve, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts on your recent visit to our hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel accomodations were comfortable and the staff was so and helpful to you. Our staff puts a lot of pride in making our guest's happy and comfortable. I will share your comments with the entire staff at our next meeting. Once again thank you for your favorable comments on our facility and we look forwarf to serving you again when you return to Cleveland.

Best regards,
Leo Phillippi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of the Sip, Savor and Sleep package for the Cleveland Wine Festival. All the staff we encountered was very friendly and helpful from the person that checked us in and out, to the valet staff and the breakfast staff. Our room was spotless and very comfortable. The breakfast bar was excellent with many hot food choices. It was a very nice place to stay and I hope that this hotel will be part of the Cleveland Wine Festival next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCleve, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Radisson cleveland gateway. I appreciate your favorable comments and will share them with the staff in our next meeting.
Once again thank you and we look forward to serving you again in the future when you return to Cleveland.

Best regards,
Leo Phillippi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girard, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The location of this hotel was great since we were going to an Indians game and the casino. I agree with some of the other reviewers when they say that the rooms were clean and adequate. The bathroom in our king room was very small, and there is no extra sink outside of the bathroom so two people could get ready at once. There is no real restaurant or bar in the hotel, only what looked like a breakfast room. There was a pretty good-looking menu, but I don't know where the food comes from; there didn't seem to be any kitchen visable. There was only one server to take care of us. We were given coupons for a free drink; the server had to get a bottle of wine out of a cabinet in the breakfast room. We were the only ones there at the time. Breakfast the next morning was fine; there were eggs, bacon, breakfast potatoes, cereal, fruit, yogurt, waffle maker, etc. We would probably stay here again because of the location, not the amenities. P.S. They have sleep number beds, but I had trouble programming mine; consequently I slept on #80-the firmest setting. Felt like I had slept on the side of the road the next day!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonCleve, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us from your most recent visit to our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed our facilty and services we provided for you. Unfortunately the hotel was designed not to have a full service lounge inside due to the proximity of so many to choose from in the immediate area. To try and please our guests we have recently opened our restaurant for dinner and offer a complete menu of beverages to choose from. Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Best regards,
Leo Phillippi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway

Address: 651 Huron Road, Cleveland, OH 44115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Plaza Hotel Cleveland – Gateway, a newly renovated boutique style hotel, is located in the heart of the Gateway District, a step away from Q-Arena and Progressive Field. Take in some of Cleveland’s finest dining, entertainment and shopping in the new “hip” East 4th Street district… all just a short walk from our door. You’ll love our “Yes, I Can” hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway Ohio
Radisson Hotel Gateway
Radisson Cleveland
Cleveland Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.