We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff impressive; comfort/hygiene issues need a second look” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   651 Huron Road, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings of 15%
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Staff impressive; comfort/hygiene issues need a second look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

My first impression at this facility was quite positive: excellent valet service and check-in service. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. We had two issues with our room. One, an unfortunate discovery behind one of the drapes which I reported to management. Two, our sleep number bed would not inflate and since the hotel was booked there was no other unit available. However, I really believe that both "incidents" were just a fluke. Furthermore, management went out of their way to compensate me for my inconvenience. I would definitely go back again and I am sure everything would be just fine; their service and kind intentions were so impressive. You just don't find that in a chain hotel anymore.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    101
    57
    27
    21
See reviews for
49
91
14
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 via mobile

Decent stay but the shower water pressure was very week on the 8th floor. Also the valet parking is weird as you can't access the parking and if you forgot something the attendant will have to pick it up. Breakfast not the best either

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I stayed here for TWO nights, on a business trip. Company paid. Otherwise, I would not have stayed.
Rooms are not very clean. Bathrooms had hair in tub, and floor. Had to request housekeeping on both rooms... and have recleaned.
Housekeeping VERY LOUD> > > Slamming doors, constantly.
Staff try to help ... but you've got so many employees.. all over the hotel... All are LOUD....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This is a good location if you're going to a sports game or walking to the Rock and Roll hall of fame. The listed rates are way too high and we booked using hotwire. But, even the discounted price wasn't worth it. There seems to be a mosquito/fly problem in downtown Cleveland (maybe because of the lake). There were bugs on the revolving door, in the lobby, in the elevator, and in the hotel room (if staff read this you desperately need to clean the dead bugs above the lowered ceiling in the lobby. While waiting for our car we looked up and saw hundreds of flys up there). The room just didn't seem clean (stains behind the bathroom door). The sleep number beds are horrific. Ours was broken (the screen that shows the number didn't work and we could not adjust the bed softer). Although there are signs stating the Radisson guarantees your satisfaction they were unable to fix the bed. The evening front desk staff was curt and borderline rude. The morning front desk staff were friendlier but were still unable to fix the bed ("either you love them or you hate them.") I don't understand why a hotel would only offer one type of bed. Especially if so many other people have complained about them.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

I don't like giving negative reviews, but I feel I have to be honest, and this review is honest.

I checked in and was given a room on the 5th floor. I open the door and see a lot of stairs. This is strange, but OK. The bathtub has water splash guards on both sides, they are both broken. See attached picture to see what I mean. One even has mold/mildew in it. There's a tiny little trash can in the bathroom that you have to step on a lever to open the lid. I step on the lever and it falls over and lots of trash comes out from the previous guest. Housekeeping never emptied it.

I got undressed for the night and went to sit down on the edge of bed and it went crashing down with a boom. I thought I broke it. This bed was so soft I had sunk into it. I got to the other side and it was as hard as a rock. Turns out it's a sleep number bed and you have to adjust it from 1 to 99. When people are tired they don't have time to learn a "bed system" and try 99 different numbers trying to find one they like. When people are tired they just want to go to bed. But now I had to learn this new device. I pick up the remote and start trying to change the settings. I get a "Low battery" symbol. I now have to get dressed and go all the way down to the front desk to get a battery. She doesn't have one. Says the valet will bring me one later. Now i can't go to bed because I have to wait for him. He finally comes and brings me a battery and I adjust the bed and go to bed.

The next morning I come out and in the 5th floor lobby there is an empty beer can (see picture). In the ice machine there is another empty beer can. The elevator opens. Someone has spilled grape drink (or wine?) all over the elevator (see picture). You can't stand in there without getting sticky shoes because of the splatter. Did no hotel employees see any of this?

I was headed down at 6am to get breakfast since I had to leave at 6:45am. The guy says on Saturdays and Sundays the restaurant doesn't open for breakfast until 7am. This is way too late. It should open at 6am, people have early morning flights/buses/trains to catch. So my breakfast was a vending machine breakfast of soda and cookies.

I like to give hotels the benefit of the doubt, but I found so many things wrong it seems to show a lack of caring or perhaps just incompetence/ignorance from the staff about the state of the hotel.

As the title states I can't recommend this hotel in good faith to anyone. There must be better hotels in Cleveland you can stay at instead.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Hotel is in a great location. We walked to a revamped downtown area (House of Blues, etc.). We also walked to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. This hotel is LITERALLY across the street from Quicken Loans arena. Sleep number beds are kinda' cool. Elevators are old and slow. Everything is relatively clean, although our room smelled like smoke even though it is a non-smoking room. I agree with past reviews that the front desk woman is gruff, especially on the phone. Breakfast was satisfactory, however I wouldn't have paid $10 for it like some reviewers chose to - it's not worth paying for. TIPS: Don't leave windows open, we opened our windows to air out the room and came back an hour later to a dozen mosquitos. Also, our window looked directly into some poor soul's office - pretty sure she saw my shocked face when I looked out the window partially dressed!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tkaehne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Picked this hotel for the location,walking distance to Browns stadium and close to nightlife.That was the only thing that was good, We checked into our room,open the door and the room looked like the ppl from the night before just left. Called the front desk,lady was pleasent. We descided since we were in a hurry,we left our luggage in the room and the maids cleaned it while we were gone. Since we basically dropped our bags off and left we didn't really get a good look at the room. We we came back,the room was cleaned but the bottom of the tub was chipping away and the wash clothes were ripped. Mind you we had 2 cars to park at $20 each. So for the $180 we spent on the room ,it was not worth it. Ice machines didn't work,outdated pop machines that onlyn took exact change!!! When i checked out out the lady at the desk was nice but she only compensated us for the parking. Very unhappy,wont be back..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway

Address: 651 Huron Road, Cleveland, OH 44115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Plaza Hotel Cleveland – Gateway, a newly renovated boutique style hotel, is located in the heart of the Gateway District, a step away from Q-Arena and Progressive Field. Take in some of Cleveland’s finest dining, entertainment and shopping in the new “hip” East 4th Street district… all just a short walk from our door. You’ll love our “Yes, I Can” hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway Ohio
Radisson Hotel Gateway
Radisson Cleveland
Cleveland Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Cleveland - Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;