We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base if watching a Cavaliers game. Newly renovated rooms, Exhaust system problem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   527 Prospect Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Manila
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good base if watching a Cavaliers game. Newly renovated rooms, Exhaust system problem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

Hubby and I went to Cleveland just to see a Cavaliers game, and the location of this hotel could not have been better! It's just a stone's throw away from the Quicken Loans Arena. Our room was huge! And being newly renovated, everything was shiny and new :-) Beds were king size and comfortable, bathroom was spotless. Having just stayed at a Residence Inn in Beverly Hills CA, we liked our room here better (bigger room, bigger bed, better furnishings, more natural light, huge windows, separate dining area)

The hotel was being renovated during our stay so the walls in the guest room hallways were ugly and unfinished but it wasn't a very big deal. What we minded though, was the exhaust system. During our entire 2 night stay, the hallways (and on one night, including the inside of our room) smelled strongly fish being fried. I noticed there was a family occupying one of the rooms on our floor --- I am guessing they were cooking in their kitchenette. We reported the exhaust problem to the front desk, and they promised someone would look into it but there was no action done.

The Residence Inn is a good base to explore downtown Cleveland, even on foot... as long as you do it during the day. At night, you will see several dodgy characters just on the other side of the street. In my opinion, the area is not safe after dark. You'll need your guest card key to get into the hotel's main entrance after 10pm as the doors are on auto-lock. We dined at the 4th Street .... a relatively busy strip of restaurants just a block away from the hotel, so a brisk walk will take you there safely. Try The House of Blues restaurant/bar -- the food's good.

Other likes: free internet, free parking, guest laundry room, very friendly breakfast room staff

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    104
    42
    15
    4
See reviews for
55
76
12
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

The Hotel was good.The location of the hotel in the city is one of the best places in Cleveland.The facilities were superb.

  • Liked — The rooms were damn good along with the faclities
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

I have stayed at this Residence Inn before and there were really no surprises. I had thought it was the best choice for an extended stay (I was there for 12 nights). However, I guess I am becoming more critical, particularly after spending three weeks at the wonderful Residence Inn in downtown Denver. Let’s start out with the positives –

1. This is renovated historic property (as in a 20 percent federal tax credit). Although the rooms lack adequate closets and drawers for two people for an extended stay, they are still comfortable and clean.

2. As with all Residence Inns, the internet is free and it worked fine at this location.

3. The front desk staff were pleasant and helpful.

4. Residence Inn guests have free access to a health club less than half a block away. This is a much better fitness option than the “exercise room” found at most hotels.

5. This property has a good location for an extended stay. It is close to the baseball stadium and the basketball arena. This means that there is something going on for at least 130 days a year. As a result there are a lot of people on the streets and there are a lot of bars and restaurants that cater to “after work activities.” If this is important to you, this Residence Inn may be your only viable choice. However, the other hotels are closer to the office towers and business center and that might be more important. The nicest area of downtown, in my opinion, is the warehouse district but it’s not particularly close to either the sports venues or the office towers.

On to the negatives –

1. Breakfast is monotonous. Breakfast is basically the same at all Residence Inns but most of them try to add cheese or ham to the eggs occasionally to make them different from the previous day.

2. The “social hour” is unpleasant. I stopped going and decided I would rather meet my co-workers at one of the nearby bars having a “happy hour.” Some of this may be beyond the control of hotel, such as the pack (about six or eight) of unsupervised children that were there the entire time that we were at the hotel. The guacamole is not very appetizing after you watch a four year old stick his hand in it. Maybe unsupervised children should not be allowed or maybe no children at all since alcoholic beverages are being served and “social hour” is basically an adult thing. One thing that the hotel does have control over is the attitude of the staff at this event and this definitely needs improvement. The woman who does this is probably overworked since she has to keep up the beer and wine and also the snacks and other edible items. However, she never smiles and, in my opinion, gives the impression that she would prefer that you didn’t bother her and that you leave as soon as possible. I also never saw the manager at the “manager’s toast.” This is so much different than other properties where the staff that handles this function are so much more friendly and pleasant.

3. Apparently this hotel does not have enough towels to replace the soiled ones with clean ones each day. The procedure is to pick up all the soiled towels in the morning, wash them during the day, and then bring them back late in the afternoon. This works ok unless you want to take shower in the middle of the day and then you might not have a towel. Considering the guest inconvenience and the extra time spent by housekeeping, it looks like it would be easier to just buy more towels.

I think I will try the Embassy Suites on my next trip to Cleveland. It’s supposedly just been renovated and I’m sure the breakfast and social hour situation would be preferable. However, I have heard complaints about the housekeeping there and it is not a good location for being out in the evenings. I’m not expecting perfection but my recent experience with the Cleveland Downtown Residence Inn was not positive enough to earn my loyalty and I would like to try somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

This is a gorgeous property in an excellent location. The lobby was beautiful. There was a wonderful sitting room and a separate area for billiards. It definitely had an “old world” feel to it. The staff was friendly. We had a studio suite, which had a king bed, pull- out couch, and kitchen area. Everything was very clean. The lounge area – where they served happy hour and breakfasts – was delightful. It was huge with stained glass windows – very comfortable. The happy hour was like a full meal with hamburgers, hot dogs, and all the fixings, and of course beer, wine & soft drinks. The breakfast was also very good. We really appreciate free internet in the room. There were many restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, and we could also walk to the baseball field. The only fault we could really find was that our room was near the stairs, and on a weekday morning you could hear people going up and down on their way to work. It was quiet on the weekend, though. This was one of the nicest Residence Inns we have been to. We would definitely return.

  • Liked — The beauty of the building and large lounge area
  • Disliked — noise from stairs
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

I have stayed in this hotel a number of times over the past 5 years. This recent stay, 6/16/08, was the best. Front desk people are NICE to you, and helpful. Parking lot person was very nice too. The rooms are huge, with kitchens and very comfortable beds. The architecture is unique, not your cookie cutter hotel chain drab. The location is great, near the ballpark, basketball arena,and tons of restaurants. Easy walking distance to the Rock and Roll H of F, Musum of Science, Browns Stadium and Lake Erie. Great value.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

Stayed here during a February weekend and won't hesitate to stay here again! Spacious suites, delicious breakfast, friendly staff. Very convenient to Jacobs Field and Quicken Loans Arena.
Suite had a king bed and sleeper sofa, dining room table, desk, and kitchen. Larger than some of the other Residence Inns we've stayed in. Very comfortable bed and nice shower in the bathroom! Our room was in the Euclid Tower which was a couple minute walk from the lobby. Oh-lobby had a market-everything from ice cream to champagne! Breakfast offered waffles, fruit, eggs, cereal etc.
Parking was $16.00 and underground-tight parking spaces!
Front desk staff always were saying "hello" to us whenever we walked by. They even asked how our evening was when we returned at 12:30 in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2008

Went for a getaway weekend with the girls. Booked a king suite which was huge! Very charming hotel. Older yes but in great shape and very clean. Great location. Booked through Marriot website as hotel gave me higher rates over the phone. No valet parking when we where there. Self parked but still was charged valet rate. A great stay overall.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 527 Prospect Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio Suite with separate living room, sleeping area and full-size kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Residence Inn
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.