We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, terrible parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   527 Prospect Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great location, terrible parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The staff was polite, but informed us we would have to park in a public parking garage a few doors down. We weren't allowed to unload our luggage at the front door because there was an Indians game and the police weren't letting anyone stop on the street. The room was spacious and clean, and the location was perfect if you want to be close to everything downtown. The casino is so close as well as many bars and restaurants. Good place to stay

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    116
    44
    15
    4
See reviews for
59
84
13
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Our family stayed here on a visit to Cleveland for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. We were very pleasantly surprised! Apart from its very central location, the charm of this hotel includes the fact that it's in a historic building but completely updated with modern touches and pretty decor. Rooms are also fairly big for an urban, centrally-located hotel. The staff we encountered were really friendly and helpful.
Another cool thing about this hotel is that it's attached to an arcade which takes you to shops and restaurants on the street parallel to the hotel; very convenient. From the breakfast room as well as from the hallways there's a nice view overlooking the arcade and courtyard. We'd stay here again when visiting downtown Cleveland.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China, Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This hotel was in a great location. It is close to Progressive Field, Quicken Loans Arena and most importantly, the restaurants of E. 4th St. If you are looking to shop however, it was a virtual wasteland. It is only a few minutes from the West End Market by car though if you are only shopping for food. They offered us an upgraded room at no charge to compensate for not being able to provide us with a roll a way bed for our suite. This was unexpected and very appreciated. The two bedroom suite was huge and very clean. It even had an air purifier in it. The appliances in the kitchen were old but we only used the refrigerator. The beds were comfortable. The hotel was quiet the first night we stayed but the second night our floor had some young women who spent the night bar hopping and going back and forth to their room, very noisily. This was not exactly the hotel's fault but did make the stay less enjoyable. Breakfast was organized and plentiful. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totowa, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

great location. close in Indians and Cavs home. casino couple blocks away. walk to R&R hall of fame and other attractions. hotel was quiet and housekeeping was super nice and efficient. check in was delayed a bit but staff was also super friendly and handled the slight delay in a professional manner, offered us a beverage and kept us up to date as to when room would be ready. rooms real spacious and 1 bedroom suite is nice and a good value. parking is limited so yes check in early as you can. but there is an overflow lot a couple doors down that is fine so its not a big deal. breakfast is good too. dont miss. lot of choices. eggs. home fries. pancakes. waffles. yogurt. fresh fruit. granola and cereals, breads and muffins.

only issue unrelated to the hotel but speaks more about the activity in the area ie..lot of events etc held in the area. there was a fracas in the parking lot across the street in the wee hours of the morning one night of our stay that was fairly alarming police arrived within 5 minutes to disburse the crowd who look like they just let out of a concert or something. typical after midnight booze filled stupidity from miscreants unrelated to the hotel or hotel guests

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and have never been disappointed. We first picked it based on its proximity to The Q when we were coming in for a Cavaliers game.

The location really can't be beat, you are directly across the street from Quicken Loans Arena & Progressive field and the casino, great restaurants & nightlife are just a short walk away.

The hotel itself is comfortable with spacious rooms and the staff is friendly. It is located in a historic building which gives it a charming feel.

This has become our hotel of choice when traveling to Cleveland

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I was impressed by the size of the room and the location. It suited my needs perfectly. Location is fantastic and the hotel is situated in a historic building which added to the charm and removed some of the nay-saying remarks I have heard about Cleveland as a weekend destination (Cleveland is a great city to visit). The room was HUGE and very comfortable, equipped with a kitchen, which i did not use but looked adequate for food prep if needed. Breakfast was plentiful, although I am not a lover of eating from cardboard plates, the quality was good enough to suit my needs... coffee was also available throughout the day and free wifi. Gym was fine which I used briefly. Overall, would stay again and would use Residence Inn again when looking for hotel options

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, General Manager at Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Dan,

Thank you for being our guest and visiting downtown Cleveland. I agree that Cleveland is a great city. We hear it from guests every day. Safe travels to you and I hope to see you in Cleveland in the future.

Regards,

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We chose this hotel for my husband's birthday celebration. When we checked in there was a birthday surprise for us. They also offered us an early check in.The two rooms were spacious. The street view always had something interesting to see. The breakfast room was attractive with a large selection of food. There was an elegant foyer and a room with a pool table. The little convenience store in the lobby was nice for spur of the moment food or beverages. We also enjoyed the pop corn that was in the room. The hotel was located close enough to walk to the baseball game, Public and Playhouse Square, Casino and the pedestrian East 4th street stores and restaurants. The only disadvantage was that the attached garage was not large enough for all the hotel guests you had to walk from the parking garage to the hotel if the attached one filled up. We are looking forward to returning to the Cleveland downtown Residence Inn.

Room Tip: The fifth floor and up are quieter. Check in as early as possible to get a garage space. Unpack your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 527 Prospect Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio Suite with separate living room, sleeping area and full-size kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Residence Inn
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.