We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   527 Prospect Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Cleveland
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Location can't be beat especially for the Indians/Cavs. Upgraded us at check-in but check-in did take a long time. Arrived at 4 PM and couldn't get into our room until 8 PM. Otherwise, nice place for downtown.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed here during our drive from Baltimore to Chicago. We needed a one bedroom (with a door) so that we could put our baby in a separate area for her early bed time. The room did have a separate bedroom, but that is where our satisfaction ended. There was dirty kleenex on the living room floor when we arrived. The pull out mattress had a large (at least 12" stain). Every pillow was lumpy and old. The carpet and sheets had stains, as did the curtains. My children's feet were black from walking around on the dirty carpet.The staff was unhelpful and sparse. While loading up my car, I struggled with a full luggage cart that was rolling towards the street and the woman at the desk didn't offer to get someone to help (or help herself.) We got the distinct impression that this was an "you're on your own" type of hotel. Couldn't get out of here soon enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Walking distance to everything downtown. Good Breakfast. Large, some unique rooms. Good front desk, reasonable parking. Love having full kitchen in the room.
ON the need work side: Mattresses need to be replaced (Manager told me scheduled for November along with more renovation), workout room very substandard (4 pieces of equipment you have to walk through the breakfast room/lounge to get to...no comp gym membership).
Good value for downtown.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robym3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is a great hotel. Beautiful. Nice staff. Tremendous location 5 minutes from Quicken Loan Arena and Progressive Field. Right on top of the nightlife. 2 blocks from the casino. You feel absolutely safe! The hotel is very historic, very clean, and the rooms are great. The big room where breakfast is served is sensational. BUT...the pictures of the gym on the hotel website are wrong, wrong, wrong! These must be pictures of the Titan Gym next door (closed on holidays), NOT the tiny fitness room. The fitness room has 2 treadmills, a bike, and an elliptical. Great equipment but very small. Other than this, the hotel was great. (We're gym rats and we literally pick hotels based upon their fitness centers, so it was a problem for us.) I can't think of a reason to NOT stay here. We'll be back. And with Titan Gym next door, our fitness center problem will be solved. :)

Room Tip: For the extra couple bucks, get the 1-bedroom suite as it's much bigger than the studio suite, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBQfamguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I've stayed in a lot of Marriott's and was stayin in this Residence on points. Unfortunately, this was without a doubt the WORST check-in experience I've ever had. It took almost 30 minutes to get checked into the hotel. Only one person checking a long line of people. No apology. Nothing. Come on people. This is Cleveland, not Las Vegas. Once I got to my room, the bed felt as though it was a fold out sofa. Imagine lumps whenever you roll over. Yuck. One the bright side, the location is fantastic and it an easy walk to Progressive Field.

Find another hotel. Don't stay here.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilliandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, General Manager at Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Jilliandad,

Thank you for being our guest and for your comments. We take your comments seriously. We had a very challenging week and weekend. We were full every day with Indian's / KC Royals guests. So many guests waited until noon to check out and that delayed our team. Our 3:00 check ins did not have rooms ready. My sincerest appologies. We will be better prepared going forward and hope you give us another chance. Again, thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Tried to check in at 3:30 pm and am still waiting in the lobby for a room at 4:30 pm. I don't have enough confidence in this place to leave my bags with them to go enjoy the city for a while. And the horrible parking deck up the Street is downright scary. So I'm spending my <24 hours in Cleveland wasting time in a tiny hotel lobby. Thanks a bunch.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmsab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, General Manager at Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear CMSAB,

Thank you for being our guest and writing your review. We sincerely appreciate hearing your comments. We had a very challenging weekend. Full every evening with Indians and KC Royals fans. Everyone wanted in before the games started and we could not keep up. We dropped the ball but are perfecting our process going forward. Parking is a challenge downtown. We fill our garage and contract w/ the best garages for our guests. I am very sorry you found it unacceptable and we will monitor them for safety and cleanliness. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at the downtown Residence Inn during a 4th of July trip to Cleveland. The biggest perk to this hotel is the fact that it is less than a 5 minute walk to the casino, Quicken Loans Arena or Progressive field. If you are in town for a game this is your spot.

In terms of the hotel, it has a historic feel due to the old building but that brings with it your typical floor creeks, weird noises from the a/c, etc. One downside to point out is a very small bathroom... it is odd because the rooms are quite a bit larger than the standard Residence Inn so the space is really misallocated. For big families you should not let the small bathroom worry you because the rooms are huge and are perfect for big families who want to bring an air mattress (or 4).

While the quirks were a bit annoying they were not a deal breaker, the hotel is still a good choice. Plus they have pool tables in the lobby, how often do you see that at a Residence Inn?

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.2 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9
Metropolitan at The 9
#1 of 37 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
#18 of 37 in Cleveland
3.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 527 Prospect Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio Suite with separate living room, sleeping area and full-size kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Residence Inn
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing