We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE GYM PHOTOS ARE WRONG!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   527 Prospect Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dubuque, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“THE GYM PHOTOS ARE WRONG!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is a great hotel. Beautiful. Nice staff. Tremendous location 5 minutes from Quicken Loan Arena and Progressive Field. Right on top of the nightlife. 2 blocks from the casino. You feel absolutely safe! The hotel is very historic, very clean, and the rooms are great. The big room where breakfast is served is sensational. BUT...the pictures of the gym on the hotel website are wrong, wrong, wrong! These must be pictures of the Titan Gym next door (closed on holidays), NOT the tiny fitness room. The fitness room has 2 treadmills, a bike, and an elliptical. Great equipment but very small. Other than this, the hotel was great. (We're gym rats and we literally pick hotels based upon their fitness centers, so it was a problem for us.) I can't think of a reason to NOT stay here. We'll be back. And with Titan Gym next door, our fitness center problem will be solved. :)

Room Tip: For the extra couple bucks, get the 1-bedroom suite as it's much bigger than the studio suite, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    131
    48
    16
    4
See reviews for
65
96
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I've stayed in a lot of Marriott's and was stayin in this Residence on points. Unfortunately, this was without a doubt the WORST check-in experience I've ever had. It took almost 30 minutes to get checked into the hotel. Only one person checking a long line of people. No apology. Nothing. Come on people. This is Cleveland, not Las Vegas. Once I got to my room, the bed felt as though it was a fold out sofa. Imagine lumps whenever you roll over. Yuck. One the bright side, the location is fantastic and it an easy walk to Progressive Field.

Find another hotel. Don't stay here.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, General Manager at Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Jilliandad,

Thank you for being our guest and for your comments. We take your comments seriously. We had a very challenging week and weekend. We were full every day with Indian's / KC Royals guests. So many guests waited until noon to check out and that delayed our team. Our 3:00 check ins did not have rooms ready. My sincerest appologies. We will be better prepared going forward and hope you give us another chance. Again, thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Tried to check in at 3:30 pm and am still waiting in the lobby for a room at 4:30 pm. I don't have enough confidence in this place to leave my bags with them to go enjoy the city for a while. And the horrible parking deck up the Street is downright scary. So I'm spending my <24 hours in Cleveland wasting time in a tiny hotel lobby. Thanks a bunch.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, General Manager at Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear CMSAB,

Thank you for being our guest and writing your review. We sincerely appreciate hearing your comments. We had a very challenging weekend. Full every evening with Indians and KC Royals fans. Everyone wanted in before the games started and we could not keep up. We dropped the ball but are perfecting our process going forward. Parking is a challenge downtown. We fill our garage and contract w/ the best garages for our guests. I am very sorry you found it unacceptable and we will monitor them for safety and cleanliness. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We recently stayed at the downtown Residence Inn during a 4th of July trip to Cleveland. The biggest perk to this hotel is the fact that it is less than a 5 minute walk to the casino, Quicken Loans Arena or Progressive field. If you are in town for a game this is your spot.

In terms of the hotel, it has a historic feel due to the old building but that brings with it your typical floor creeks, weird noises from the a/c, etc. One downside to point out is a very small bathroom... it is odd because the rooms are quite a bit larger than the standard Residence Inn so the space is really misallocated. For big families you should not let the small bathroom worry you because the rooms are huge and are perfect for big families who want to bring an air mattress (or 4).

While the quirks were a bit annoying they were not a deal breaker, the hotel is still a good choice. Plus they have pool tables in the lobby, how often do you see that at a Residence Inn?

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Perfect for walking to anything downtown. It is an older hotel. The staff was pretty nice. The women employees were very nice and chatty. The men staff seemed to want to be some place else. The breakfast is one of the best I have ever had for a buffet at a hotel. It ends at 9 though. I would have loved for it to go to 10. As a traveler I could eat a large breakfast at 9:30 and be set until dinner saving me a meal.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe Township
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed here with my friend who used her points so obviously the price was right. We found the staff to be very courteous and helpful. Our room was very clean. It is an older building but the room itself has been modernized so we had no complaints. The free breakfast was enjoyable and very filling. They also have a cocktail/meet and greet every evening at 6:30. There was ample food that you didn't really have to worry about dinner if you didn't want to go out. It's within walking distance to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and just down the street from their casino for those who enjoy gambling. There was a fee for parking onsite but worth it and the area felt safe. The bed was very comfy and shower was nice. It could have had a little better lighting around the sink for we women folk applying makeup. Nice kitchenette.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Hotel is rundown, aged, seedy in places with aged furniture, carpets and furnishings.Housekeeping was a nightmare. Did not restock needed items, ran the dishwasher for one (1) fork! Loads of dirty topes left in the hallways. Garbage left on the floor of the room as well as hallways for days. Free breakfast was only ok. Please get toasters that actually work.

While attitude of staff was pleasant, so what? it's a hotel - so it should be. Good location downtown if you don't mind walking past the omnipresent smell of stale urine. I would not stay here again. Definitely not worth price paid. Mgt is at fault for not creating and enforcing higher quality standards. They tried to make up for the overall rundown condition and poor housekeeping by offering points that were accepted, but after a while excuses can't make up for the overall port condition and experience.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, General Manager at Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Maclamb23,

Thank you for being our guest. My sincerest appologies for not enjoying your stay. We constantly strive to maintain our hotel. I am glad that you advised us of these issues and accepted Rewards points as compensation. If you would like further compensation, please contact me directly as I would like to discuss your stay and personally help you. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 527 Prospect Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#17 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio Suite with separate living room, sleeping area and full-size kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Residence Inn
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.