We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   527 Prospect Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
Monroe Township
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed here with my friend who used her points so obviously the price was right. We found the staff to be very courteous and helpful. Our room was very clean. It is an older building but the room itself has been modernized so we had no complaints. The free breakfast was enjoyable and very filling. They also have a cocktail/meet and greet every evening at 6:30. There was ample food that you didn't really have to worry about dinner if you didn't want to go out. It's within walking distance to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and just down the street from their casino for those who enjoy gambling. There was a fee for parking onsite but worth it and the area felt safe. The bed was very comfy and shower was nice. It could have had a little better lighting around the sink for we women folk applying makeup. Nice kitchenette.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    116
    44
    15
    4
See reviews for
59
84
13
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Hotel is rundown, aged, seedy in places with aged furniture, carpets and furnishings.Housekeeping was a nightmare. Did not restock needed items, ran the dishwasher for one (1) fork! Loads of dirty topes left in the hallways. Garbage left on the floor of the room as well as hallways for days. Free breakfast was only ok. Please get toasters that actually work.

While attitude of staff was pleasant, so what? it's a hotel - so it should be. Good location downtown if you don't mind walking past the omnipresent smell of stale urine. I would not stay here again. Definitely not worth price paid. Mgt is at fault for not creating and enforcing higher quality standards. They tried to make up for the overall rundown condition and poor housekeeping by offering points that were accepted, but after a while excuses can't make up for the overall port condition and experience.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, General Manager at Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Maclamb23,

Thank you for being our guest. My sincerest appologies for not enjoying your stay. We constantly strive to maintain our hotel. I am glad that you advised us of these issues and accepted Rewards points as compensation. If you would like further compensation, please contact me directly as I would like to discuss your stay and personally help you. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPE CORAL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My husband and I checked in for one night for our anniversary. I had stayed there a year prior for my bachelorette party and it was great, so we thought we would get away for a night. It is located right next to East 4th St with lots of bars and restaurants. It is also right next to the casino and stadium. It is a safe area!

We checked in and were asked what the occasion was for. A half hour later, we had a bottle of wine and chocolates delivered for our anniversary! What a nice surprise by a friendly staff member! The room is very large with a living room and kitchen. It had great views and we were very pleased! They have weekday happy hour and free hot breakfast also.

This is a great place to stay in downtown Cleveland! We visited the great Lakes Brewery which was not even a 5 minute drive. We would recommend this hotel to anyone going to downtown.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore Maryland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is a great downtown hotel. The suites were large and I felt like I was staying in an apartment. There is a full kitchen with a dishwasher, disposal, and full size refrigerator. There are also, plates, glasses, and flatware. The bed was very comfortable and the bath was nice. There was a couch, chair, flat screen TV, and a table with 2 chairs. It had recently been remodeled and you can tell by the nice floors and carpeting. There is a free breakfast buffet every morning and there is a free evening cocktail time with food on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Wednesdays. The food provided is enough for a meal, so we did not have to spend money at a restaurant. There is also complimentary beer and wine from 6 - 7:30. It was very nice and well attended. You do have to pay $18 a day for parking in an underground garage attached to the property. It is walking distance to the arena, baseball and football stadiums, and to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway, Maine
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I was in Cleveland on business and stayed at this hotel with two collegues. So the positives first.... Hotel is in a great location. The baseball stadium is in walking distance along with many bars, shopping and restaurants. Nice downtown! I loved the architecture of the building - it had alot of character. The staff was very pleasant.
The room was spacious - I was in room 411 which had a Queen bed with a fireplace, kitchen, etc. The negatives - I could not get the room to cool down. It was like sleeping in a sauna. Also the phone in the room didn't work so I could not call the front desk to let them know and at midnight I was in no mood to take the elevator down four floors in my nightgown! Along with that the bed was not that comfortable nor were the pillow selections. Hence, I got very little sleep!
The next morning I went to plug in the hairdryer and curling iron and found that the GFI outlet in the bathroom did not work. I tried to reset it but it did not work.
The parking in the garage was narrow - just be aware.
Complimentary breakfast on the second floor was okay... nothing great but not terrible.
I would definately travel back to Cleveland as I loved the downtown area and would like to do some more exploring. However, I probably would not go back to the Residence Inn as there are lots of other options downtown.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Awful. Stained carpets and items on the carpet so you KNOW it was not cleaned well. Stains on the 'clean' towels that are provided. The beds are old and mattress saggy, very-very dated and old. Basically I canceled my second night reservation and am leaving-there is NO way I can stay in this dump 2 nights. Avoid.\
Staff at the desk was pleasant-that was nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We were delighted with our stay at the Residence inn Cleveland Downtown. We arrived at 7:30 p.m. after a long drive from Toronto and we were immediately impressed with the excellent service from Arlene at reception. From there, it only got better as we entered our massive studio suite on the fifth floor. It was about three times the size of an average hotel room with a full kitchen.

The breakfast each day was fairly comprehensive and we soon learned that all employees were a pleasure to deal with. Parking at $18 a day is getting up there but it is a downtown location and if you are in Cleveland to see a ball game or one of the other local pro teams then you can't complain with where you're situated. If you like a beer check out the Winking Lizard or Flannery's Irish Pub. Both are nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, General Manager at Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Jimmy Comms,

Thank you for being our guest during your recent stay in Cleveland. I am very glad you enjoyed our unique hotel in downtown Cleveland. We hope to see you again during future visits and are here to help if there is anything you need. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 527 Prospect Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio Suite with separate living room, sleeping area and full-size kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Residence Inn
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.