We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in downtown.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   527 Prospect Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Baltimore Maryland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in downtown.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is a great downtown hotel. The suites were large and I felt like I was staying in an apartment. There is a full kitchen with a dishwasher, disposal, and full size refrigerator. There are also, plates, glasses, and flatware. The bed was very comfortable and the bath was nice. There was a couch, chair, flat screen TV, and a table with 2 chairs. It had recently been remodeled and you can tell by the nice floors and carpeting. There is a free breakfast buffet every morning and there is a free evening cocktail time with food on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Wednesdays. The food provided is enough for a meal, so we did not have to spend money at a restaurant. There is also complimentary beer and wine from 6 - 7:30. It was very nice and well attended. You do have to pay $18 a day for parking in an underground garage attached to the property. It is walking distance to the arena, baseball and football stadiums, and to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    110
    42
    15
    4
See reviews for
57
79
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway, Maine
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I was in Cleveland on business and stayed at this hotel with two collegues. So the positives first.... Hotel is in a great location. The baseball stadium is in walking distance along with many bars, shopping and restaurants. Nice downtown! I loved the architecture of the building - it had alot of character. The staff was very pleasant.
The room was spacious - I was in room 411 which had a Queen bed with a fireplace, kitchen, etc. The negatives - I could not get the room to cool down. It was like sleeping in a sauna. Also the phone in the room didn't work so I could not call the front desk to let them know and at midnight I was in no mood to take the elevator down four floors in my nightgown! Along with that the bed was not that comfortable nor were the pillow selections. Hence, I got very little sleep!
The next morning I went to plug in the hairdryer and curling iron and found that the GFI outlet in the bathroom did not work. I tried to reset it but it did not work.
The parking in the garage was narrow - just be aware.
Complimentary breakfast on the second floor was okay... nothing great but not terrible.
I would definately travel back to Cleveland as I loved the downtown area and would like to do some more exploring. However, I probably would not go back to the Residence Inn as there are lots of other options downtown.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Awful. Stained carpets and items on the carpet so you KNOW it was not cleaned well. Stains on the 'clean' towels that are provided. The beds are old and mattress saggy, very-very dated and old. Basically I canceled my second night reservation and am leaving-there is NO way I can stay in this dump 2 nights. Avoid.\
Staff at the desk was pleasant-that was nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We were delighted with our stay at the Residence inn Cleveland Downtown. We arrived at 7:30 p.m. after a long drive from Toronto and we were immediately impressed with the excellent service from Arlene at reception. From there, it only got better as we entered our massive studio suite on the fifth floor. It was about three times the size of an average hotel room with a full kitchen.

The breakfast each day was fairly comprehensive and we soon learned that all employees were a pleasure to deal with. Parking at $18 a day is getting up there but it is a downtown location and if you are in Cleveland to see a ball game or one of the other local pro teams then you can't complain with where you're situated. If you like a beer check out the Winking Lizard or Flannery's Irish Pub. Both are nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, General Manager at Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Jimmy Comms,

Thank you for being our guest during your recent stay in Cleveland. I am very glad you enjoyed our unique hotel in downtown Cleveland. We hope to see you again during future visits and are here to help if there is anything you need. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We were planning on dining and going to the Cleveland Indian game against the Twins.
We were able to walk to Eerything.Indoor parking was terrible very narrow drive and shorter than normal length for parking spots. We parked at another facility. Comp breakfast on 2nd floor was okj however during my 1 breakfast the coffee had run out 2 times. The hotel I was told is around 130 years old but had some ambience . View out the window was Quicken Stadium and Progressive Field

Room Tip: I was on the 6th floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, General Manager at Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Dan,

Thank you for writing about your stay with us. Hearing your comments is greatly appreciated. As a historic hotel we do have challenges with our garage but hope the convenience of parking within the hotel helps compensate this. I hope being within walking distance to Cleveland's best restaurants, casino and sports venues helps you consider us for a future stay. Please contact me directly if you wish to discuss your stay further. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I was very pleased with this hotel. Great location, nice and comfortable room, and the staff was wonderful! Loved the schedule of local events and list of restaurants nearby.
Only stayed one night and didn't get up early enough for the free breakfast.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, General Manager at Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Princess Cher,

Thank you for being our guest and writing about our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again on future visits to Cleveland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The room and hallways are pervaded by cooking odors. I don't know whether these emanate from the hotel kitchen or the individual suites, which include kitchens with vent hoods that do NOT vent outside but rather back into the room. The windows do not open, so the odors are inescapable. We ended up buying air fresheners--a first for a hotel stay.
We had a king suite, with a spacious living room. But the layout of the suite defeats the purpose of having a suite, in that the bathroom vanity is IN the bedroom--not walled off into what we think of as a bathroom. So if one guest is trying to sleep and the other is washing up, there is no privacy. The "bathroom" is miniscule and includes only the toilet and bathtub, with literally no room to turn around. It would have been so easy to built a partition wall between the bedroom and the vanity, thus making the bathroom much larger and allowing a truly separate bedroom.
The parking garage is very crowded, with pillars and other obstructions that make it tricky to get into and out of a space without dings. And we don't even have a big car. . . we ended up parking at the far end of the garage to have a little more maneuvering room.
This really is a minimal-service environment; our room was made up only once after our arrival for a 4-night stay, and that was probably because we specifically asked at the desk to have it made up. Nobody helped guests at the entrance door who were dealing with luggage and trying to get in the door. The breakfast was uninspired and lacked cut up fresh fruit.
That all said, the staff was friendly and polite for the most part.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve R, General Manager at Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Janet B.,

Thank you writing and advising us of your stay. Please accept my apologies for the odors you encountered as well as our lack of service to your suite. Concerning the odors, we are adjusting our building's HVAC system to bring additional fresh air into the hallways. This will push a guest's cooking odors outside via their own suite's exhaust system. I would like to know your suite number, and additional information, to better solve these issues and further discuss your stay.

Concerning our building and parking garage I am aware that, as a historic property, some of our suites are not traditional but do offer touches of our historic nature. We have many room types and can help select a suite that matches your needs. The convenience of our parking garage, located within our hotel, hopefully makes up for some tight spaces.

Again, thank you for writing. I look forward to discussing your stay with you directly and inviting you to again be our guest.

Sincerely,
Steve R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 527 Prospect Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio Suite with separate living room, sleeping area and full-size kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Marriott, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Residence Inn
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.