We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a good price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   527 Prospect Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Dover
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was a great hotel. Located near some great attractions in Cleveland. The parking was kind of tough (they contract with a garage a few doors down) and would have been really tough had there been en event like a ballgame going on. The room we had was HUGE and the full kitchen was great. Staff was friendly and very helpful. I will absolutely look to stay here again on our next trip to Cleveland. Beds were a little hard but still not too bad.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    103
    42
    15
    4
See reviews for
54
75
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stopped here on a road trip to Chicago. Very nice place to stay, and very helpful, friendly staff. Downtown Cleveland is not difficult to navigate, as there is not much traffic. The hotel is a very short walk from Progressive Field for baseball, and close to basketball arena as well. We did walk to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame (which was great!), but as it is nearly a mile from the hotel, the walk may not be for everyone. The hotel serves a very nice breakfast on the second floor, and they also hold evening receptions on some weekday nights. This is a good choice for downtown Cleveland!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location !! Great restaurants around the corner, comedy club, shops etc. AS WELL AS all 3 major sport venues (Browns, Indians, & Cavs) within walking distance ! Cleveland is a cool town (at least in the summer) with everything so close downtown. This hotel is very unique in that it appears to have been a restored older hotel (I guess anyway) the layout is quite strange in that you go up one floor then walk to the other end of the hotel (150 yd's.) to ANOTHER elevator to go up to the rest of the floors. The room while very large were a bit dated and the mattress on my bed needed to be "retired" ... the cleaning lady was VERY sweet and helpful and did a great job. Overall the location trumps any pitfalls the hotel may have ( other than needing new mattress's )... Oh yes they also have a pretty decent breakfast buffet every morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I found this hotel to be excellent when traveling with our three kids. We had a king suite room which provided two separate rooms with a foldout sofa. The full kitchen and two TVs also make for a relaxing atmosphere.
Excellent choice for visiting venues including the casino and browns games. Also, nightlife and restaurants are very close within walking distance.The only drawback is parking which is limited. We've stayed at all hotels in downtown, this is the best value for kids (rooms, location, food), however no pool.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great location, can walk to so many great restaurants and attractions.
Entry lobby small, but beautiful rear sitting area and breakfast room.
Very interesting building attached to elegant arcade.
Room enormous, but not clean enough for me (though when I complained housekeeping was very responsive)....it seemed that cleaning was perfunctory (dusty tables and floor), furniture a bit worn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The two best things about staying here: the location and the price. Because it is a VERY old building, the rooms are huge; however, as others have noted, they are tired: scratches, wallpaper coming loose, etc. The hot breakfast is very good with more variety than the usual "breakfast included" places. The staff--very spotty in terms of attention. When we arrived: the bell person watched us unload our car on to one of their luggage carts and THEN offered to help us!,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed at the Residence Inn Downtown Cleveland for 3 nights. Have stayed at other Residence Inns but this one was beautiful and unique. The architecture and finishes are consistent with a more upscale and more expensive hotel. The hotel has a great location within walking distance of the Indians, Cavs, and Browns games, and many great restaurants and bars are around the corner.
The hotel staff was extremely helpful starting with manager Steve, who even helped carry our bags to the room and gave us some history of the hotel. The front desk was able to extend our stay an extra night even though the hotel was showing no availability on line. Parking was not a problem. We did have to park in the overflow garage the first night but since it was an Indians home game the parking rate was the same as the hotel garage. Some reviews have complained about the parking rate but it is consistent with downtown hotels in other big cities.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cleveland for the Rock and Roll museum or any of the pro sports games.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
Charming, City...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
Quiet, Restaura...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
Romantic, Quiet...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
Romantic, Charm...
Show More
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cleveland
Restaurant, Mid...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 527 Prospect Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio Suite with separate living room, sleeping area and full-size kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Residence Inn
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.