We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and value with kids.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   527 Prospect Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place and value with kids.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I found this hotel to be excellent when traveling with our three kids. We had a king suite room which provided two separate rooms with a foldout sofa. The full kitchen and two TVs also make for a relaxing atmosphere.
Excellent choice for visiting venues including the casino and browns games. Also, nightlife and restaurants are very close within walking distance.The only drawback is parking which is limited. We've stayed at all hotels in downtown, this is the best value for kids (rooms, location, food), however no pool.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    119
    44
    15
    4
See reviews for
60
84
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great location, can walk to so many great restaurants and attractions.
Entry lobby small, but beautiful rear sitting area and breakfast room.
Very interesting building attached to elegant arcade.
Room enormous, but not clean enough for me (though when I complained housekeeping was very responsive)....it seemed that cleaning was perfunctory (dusty tables and floor), furniture a bit worn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The two best things about staying here: the location and the price. Because it is a VERY old building, the rooms are huge; however, as others have noted, they are tired: scratches, wallpaper coming loose, etc. The hot breakfast is very good with more variety than the usual "breakfast included" places. The staff--very spotty in terms of attention. When we arrived: the bell person watched us unload our car on to one of their luggage carts and THEN offered to help us!,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed at the Residence Inn Downtown Cleveland for 3 nights. Have stayed at other Residence Inns but this one was beautiful and unique. The architecture and finishes are consistent with a more upscale and more expensive hotel. The hotel has a great location within walking distance of the Indians, Cavs, and Browns games, and many great restaurants and bars are around the corner.
The hotel staff was extremely helpful starting with manager Steve, who even helped carry our bags to the room and gave us some history of the hotel. The front desk was able to extend our stay an extra night even though the hotel was showing no availability on line. Parking was not a problem. We did have to park in the overflow garage the first night but since it was an Indians home game the parking rate was the same as the hotel garage. Some reviews have complained about the parking rate but it is consistent with downtown hotels in other big cities.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cleveland for the Rock and Roll museum or any of the pro sports games.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed here this past week and the location was great, its a short walk to to Progressive field, Tower City and the Casino. The staff was fairly nice and helpful. When we arrived parking was full and we had to park at an overlfow garage. It wasn't a huge a deal, but we just wanted to park and check in our room rather then deal with going to the garage and walking over. The room was clean and decent sized. The decor was outdated, but it wasn't a huge deal. I liked how the bathroom was seperate from the sink and mirror, but I didn't like how small the bathroom was. It could have been a better location and not so close to the bes as well. The building itself is pretty cool, an older building with cool architecture, however getting to our room was a challange. You had to take the elevator up floor 2 and then take another elevator up to floor 5. After that we had to make our way across the building to our room. A pro was the breakfast. The buffet was great and full of selection. The staff there was constantly refilling items that were empty and cleaning. I would stay here again if I got a good price, but it wouldn't be my first choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Overall this is a decent property; not at Marriott standards though. The building is nice, old historical but that doesn't mean the rooms have to be the same. Furniture is old, with some scratches; wallpaper not in shape condition in the bathroom; kitchen equipment very old style; I haven't seen those yellowish fridge and dishwasher models in a long time. The suites are large and clean but with a little bit of renovation they could become stunning. We've got one of the suites with fireplace that was a very nice touch. Overall was a good experience; we enjoyed having the pool tables room for ourselves. As usual there is a little market at the reception where you can buy sodas and drinks. This is a beautiful property but very tired in terms of amenities. Mattress is not Marriott standard and this is a huge minus.
The staff is nice but poorly trained; they should check the guests rewards status ahead of time and welcome them accordingly. It is not a big deal but we asked to do a late check out and the answer was almost negative; after checking the rewards status, they granted it.
Considering I've booked this on points, it was very good and we really enjoyed it; however I wouldn't pay more $100 a night on this hotel. Location is good but Cleveland is a small city and any other downtown hotel location would be good as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were here for two nights last week, and some aspects were terrific, while others were pretty bad.
The great:
-Location. Easy walk to Progressive Field and to the sites on Euclid Street. The R&R Hall of Fame was also within walking distance.
Size of the suite - They upgraded us from a one bedroom suite with a sofa bed to a two room suite, and the space was huge. There were three closets, three TV's and two bathrooms, plus kitchen and a living room.
Common Areas: The breakfast/evening reception room was quite nice, as was the downstairs lobby and billiards room. There was also a gym and laundry facilities. Walking through the shopping arcade was interesting.

The bad:
Parking - While struggling to find a space in their tiny garage, I was hoping TripAdvisor had the option to give a place negative stars. Their lot was a disaster - why not just have a valet option? We eventually got to park in their overflow garage on the other side of the hotel, which was fine. If I could have avoided the disaster of their garage, I would have had a much better experience here.
Walking to the room - We were staying in the Euclid tower, which is a block away from the check-in area on Prospect Avenue. While this really wasn't a problem, it was quite frustrating to enter the arcade on Euclid, then have to walk through that to Prospect, go up one elevator to the floor where you can walk to the Euclid Tower, then walk the other way through the second floor of the arcade to the stairs to take you to your room. It was quite frustrating to have to walk through the arcade twice (although in most buildings/hotels, you likely wouldn't be aware or care that you had to do so much walking - it was only noticable here since you had to go through that arcade area).

Overall, this place is good if you aren't driving, or know enough to go to their overflow lot - we were still changed the Residence Inn price at that lot, rather than that lot's normal price. The room was also big enough if you are with a family/larger group of people, and need to stay for a longer period of time.

Room Tip: Be careful with the parking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 527 Prospect Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio Suite with separate living room, sleeping area and full-size kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Residence Inn
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.