We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   527 Prospect Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed two nights at The Residence Inn in downtown Cleveland as a lower priced
alternative to the official wedding hotel of a wedding we were attending. The hotel is the refurbished Colonial hotel which was built in 1898. Upon checking in we were given an upgraded one bedroom suite. Check in was quick and efficient and the staff in all our encounters with them
were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and clean but that being said it still
has the look of a hotel built many years ago. Some people may appreciate the historical look
but since we spent little time in the room it was not a big issue. The room had two flat screen TV's, a full size refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave oven and basic utensils. The hotel advertises is that it will do complimentary grocery shopping for long term quests. Offsetting the
spaciousness of the room is the extremely small bathroom. There is a nice size vanity and sink
outside of the bathroom but an extremely cramped and tight tub and toilet area. I guess it is the
hazard or restoring a building over a century old. The free breakfast area is located on the second floor and is very bright and airy with a view of the adjoining arcade that runs between
Prospect and Euclid Avenues. The breakfast was ample and stayed well stocked throughout
the morning. The main advantage of the hotel is its location. It is a couple of blocks from the Baseball park and basketball arena. It is also less than a block away from the East 4th street
entertainment district which consists of a dozen or more restaurants with both inside and outdoor seating. It is also less than 3 blocks away from the new Horseshoe Casino. The streets were still well populated at midnight and we felt no security qualms about walking back to the hotel late at night. All in all it is the perfect location for a stay in downtown Cleveland
at a much lower price than the other downtown hotels and we definitely would stay there again.
Please be aware that the parking situation can be a little difficult. There is a lot next to the
hotel which provides you with in an out parking privileges. Space is limited in this lot and fills up.
If that is the case they send you to a private lot which is only 4 or 5 buildings away but you do not have in and out privileges. They give you a card which you insert after the card issued
by the parking garage and your fee is covered. They charge $18.00 a day for parking. The weird part was that i was in the private garage both nights,and when I pulled up and paid the fee showed up as $15.00 for Saturday and $10.00 for Sunday but i was charged $18.00 each day by the hotel. Overall a bargain and a good place to stay downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    103
    42
    15
    4
See reviews for
54
75
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The Residence Inn in Clevland OH was a nice stay. When you enter the hotel, you are greeted by a security guard and the front desk. The staff are very nice and patient. The room was spectacular. We had a king size bed and a pullout couch. Two TV's, a kitchenette, and a very nice bathroom with a nice shower. It is about a 1 minute walk to The Cavaliers arena and a 5 minute walk to progressive field. There is a parking garage down the street from it. They also offer a complimentary breakfast buffet. There is a billiards room and two computers with printers. I will definetly stay there again if I'm in cleveland.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is on the older side, but the location is excellent. You are in walking distance of some fantastic food, outdoor cafes, sporting events, a nice mall, and Casino.
The parking is a little weird, and our room was in a tower that used separate elevators, but it wasn't too bad.
Large space, laundry services, breakfast was good.
The location makes it ideal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a long weekend in December. Knowing nothing about Cleveland, I was incredibly happy with the location of this hotel. It's right around the corner from East 4th Street, a walking mall with some of the best restaurants in the city. It was also a 15 minute walk from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. The rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly. The price of our room was definitely reasonable for the convenience. They also have underground parking for their guests with access right into the hotel, just costs a little extra.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel's location was great, but that's about all. We pulled up to park and check in and the desk clerk was outside putting a "full" sign in front of the lot. When I inquired where we should park, she said they had an overflow lot we could use if I would check in first. I went inside to check in and she immediately changed and said we could park IN the main lot (apparently, if you make your reservation through expedia, they don't let you, but since mine was through marriott, they would. Odd)
We were directed to park and go to our room. First, we had to take one elevator to the second floor. Walk the length of the hotel and take another elevator to the 5th floor. She told me they upgraded me to a better room. Not sure what the ordinary room would have been like, but this was just ok.
Two king sized beds. Not necessary for just me and my husband. And the one we slept in wasn't comfortable and sagged in the middle. The room was gigantic but felt empty. Two small pictures on the walls. Old furniture. No plugs near the bed for phones. We felt like we were sleeping in a cavernous empty room. It was on the 5th floor, but all the noise from the street came through the walls and closed windows. Floor was uneven and creaky everywhere.
Glad we were only there for a overnight and glad I didn't pay too much for this room.
Had theater tickets that night and planned to walk but the desk clerk told us it was a 20 minute walk and not the best neighborhood to walk in, so we had friends pick us up and drive us. They told us it was a fine neighborhood to walk in and google maps said it was less than a 10 minute walk. Not sure who was right.
Breakfast was ordinary food, but too crowded. No room for us to sit down and eat.
With so many other hotels in the area, I would choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was here for a recent business trip - as with most RI's it's a wonderful hotel for the business traveler with plenty of room and good WiFi. There is a nice lounge/game room in the lobby as well, and as others note, it's right in the heart of the dining/nightlife/sports district of Cleveland. I'd definitely stay here again. About the only complaint is that they have a very limited delivery menu, only 3 local restaurants. But there are lots of places within walking distance. The underground parking garage is a tight fit as well, leave your suburban home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayson, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This Hotel is clean and in a wonderful
Location. We walked to the Browns Stadium, Indians Game, RRHOF and the theatre district.
The staff was so helpful and nice.
We had booked a studio and I called for a bigger room - I was told they were over booked however upon check in they had upgraded us to a 2 BR suite.
We will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 527 Prospect Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio Suite with separate living room, sleeping area and full-size kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Residence Inn
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.