We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting old property - close to the Q.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   527 Prospect Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Cleveland
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Interesting old property - close to the Q.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This location is across the parking lot from the Q (home of the Cavs) so that is the first big plus. The hotel is a bit dated (100 years old so I guess should be expected). Getting to our room was a bit of a maze and walk(nearly 10 minutes), but at the same time quite charming. The rooms were nice and the free breakfast was OUTSTANDING. Great option for those attending a Cavs game. Garage is rather small and was used for horse and carriage when built so make sure and inquire about size limitations if you have a larger vehicle.

Room Tip: For those who have mobility issues, best ask ahead of time about the location of your rooms as it ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Leonardo, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I just got back from a 4 day stay here. The room was large and very comfortable. I had a full kitchen so I was able to purchase food and warm it up for myself. They have daily housekeeping and drop off clean towels every day even if you decline housekeeping. But I have to say the staff here were outstanding. They were always pleasant and helpful; one of them remembered my name and greeted me every time she saw me. They made it feel even more homey. There are socials Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays with appetizers and free drinks, as well as a very nice daily breakfast spread. As others have noted, the parking is very tight and when there are events, you may not get a spot until the event is over. People seem to come in and stay overnight for Friday events, so Saturday morning breakfast is crowded. Overall, I had a very pleasant stay here.

Room Tip: I had a room that was off by itself - no neighbors on either side. There are 3 rooms in that section...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aloha-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The architecture of this hotel is beautiful, though the rooms need updating. The dining room where the amazing, gourmet breakfast is served is stunning!! We were willing to overlook the 80s style kitchen, soggy carpet & small bathroom because we slept great and we were so close to our main attractions -- the Indians game & Red Hot Chili Peppers concert at the Q. There is nothing better than sauntering less than a block away to your hotel room after the event while all the other fans are trying to get out of the parking garage! Plus the front desk staff was very helpful & courteous. We would stay again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AshleyMarie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I travel to Cleveland frequently for business, and though I always choose this hotel due to price and location, I really dislike it.

It's dated. The carpets and furnishings are worn. The property really has the bones to be something great, but it really needs to be freshened up and brought into the 21st Century.

On the positive side, the rooms are large, even the studios. It's right around the block from two of the best restaurants in town - Lola and Chinato. And it' s walking distance from Terminal Tower.

Room Tip: Ask for something near the elevator so yu can get out quick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank italionyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Very unique hotel in downtown cleveland. The location is perfect. close to Indians stadium, great places to eat and drink. I was there for the Marathon in May 2012, the staff went out of the way for us runners. opening breakfast early on Sunday so we could get some food in our tummies before start time. I called and spoke to the general manager to ask if they would open early for breakfast and made sure it happened! Room decor was a little outdated but not all hotels are new. rooms were spacious and up to Marriott standards. Parking was very interesting under the hotel, was a little tight but we had no issues! I without a doubt would stay here again. One small problem with the hotel, it does not have a pool. we had small children and the lack of the pool was kinda a bummer, but everyone survived. thanks for a great stay again Marriott!

Room Tip: Just remember, No pool at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank purduepete2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orwigsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Wife and I stayed here on Fri. night - 6/16. Unfortunately the Indians were in town. So their garage was full (they obviously don't plan space for guests), and there's no valet parking. Had to park 10 blocks away and carry some of our luggage 10 blocks through busy city streets. Many other guests had similar problems. Staff was as helpful as they could be, but finding out there's no parking anywhere nearby at 4:30pm during rush hour adds a lot of stress to what should have been a fun time.

Rooms were excellent, and close to ball park and great restaurants. Must have been an historic hotel back in the day. Breakfast (included in price) was poor. Overall rating reflects parking & breakfast - especially given the Marriott name and price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequentdiner27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel to go to a baseball game. The location was fantastic; about 3 blocks from the baseball stadium, a block from Horseshoe Casino, and tons of great restaurants (even one of Michael Symons' Lola restaurants) within steps of the hotel. We found everyone in the staff to be very friendly. Our room was spacious and clean (we were given a suite which was an added bonus). As someone said the building is old, but we too found it very interesting from an architectural standpoint. The location is very easy access to and from I90 which made it great for us out-of-towners. We would definitely go back to Cleveland and we wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maxros398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.2 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9
Metropolitan at The 9
#1 of 37 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cleveland at The Arcade
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel
#18 of 37 in Cleveland
3.5 of 5 stars 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 527 Prospect Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#12 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio Suite with separate living room, sleeping area and full-size kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Residence Inn
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing