We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older hotel but still great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   527 Prospect Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Fishers, Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Older hotel but still great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Very unique hotel in downtown cleveland. The location is perfect. close to Indians stadium, great places to eat and drink. I was there for the Marathon in May 2012, the staff went out of the way for us runners. opening breakfast early on Sunday so we could get some food in our tummies before start time. I called and spoke to the general manager to ask if they would open early for breakfast and made sure it happened! Room decor was a little outdated but not all hotels are new. rooms were spacious and up to Marriott standards. Parking was very interesting under the hotel, was a little tight but we had no issues! I without a doubt would stay here again. One small problem with the hotel, it does not have a pool. we had small children and the lack of the pool was kinda a bummer, but everyone survived. thanks for a great stay again Marriott!

Room Tip: Just remember, No pool at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    123
    46
    15
    4
See reviews for
60
89
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orwigsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Wife and I stayed here on Fri. night - 6/16. Unfortunately the Indians were in town. So their garage was full (they obviously don't plan space for guests), and there's no valet parking. Had to park 10 blocks away and carry some of our luggage 10 blocks through busy city streets. Many other guests had similar problems. Staff was as helpful as they could be, but finding out there's no parking anywhere nearby at 4:30pm during rush hour adds a lot of stress to what should have been a fun time.

Rooms were excellent, and close to ball park and great restaurants. Must have been an historic hotel back in the day. Breakfast (included in price) was poor. Overall rating reflects parking & breakfast - especially given the Marriott name and price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel to go to a baseball game. The location was fantastic; about 3 blocks from the baseball stadium, a block from Horseshoe Casino, and tons of great restaurants (even one of Michael Symons' Lola restaurants) within steps of the hotel. We found everyone in the staff to be very friendly. Our room was spacious and clean (we were given a suite which was an added bonus). As someone said the building is old, but we too found it very interesting from an architectural standpoint. The location is very easy access to and from I90 which made it great for us out-of-towners. We would definitely go back to Cleveland and we wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Top Contributor
790 reviews 790 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 360 cities Reviews in 360 cities
308 helpful votes 308 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed in a two-bedroom suite for 4 nights during the Cleveland marathon and had no complaints. The building was old and really interesting from an architecture aspect. Breakfast was nice and available every morning. Every employee from the front desk, to parking, to breakfast attendants, to the maids were nice and helpful. Great location to walk anywhere downtown. Yes, the parking lot is small and cramped. I wouldn't attempt to park with anything larger than a mini-van. However, if there is a sporting event in town, their parking is the best option price-wise.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This hotel used to be the best in Cleveland. People like the Rockefellers used to stay. It's ok. You can tell it used to be something special. The room was nice and big but dated and worn. No view whatsoever and I stayed 2 weeks in what was supposed to be a better room. It did have a fireplace which was nice.

The parking below is ridiculously tight. I was scared to leave once I got into a parking place.

The staff was very nice, but I complained 3 times about someone smoking a very strong Indian incense and they claimed they couldn't find it. I even gave the room number!

The laundry was nice, breakfast was good and the room it was served in was nice. The location was good. Close to 4th Street with all it's cool restaurants, an easy walk to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, across the street from Indian Stadium and where the Cavaliers play. The Casino opened while we were there also, it's 2 short blocks away as well as shopping in Tower City.

I would stay again though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I booked this hotel for the weekend through the Marriott website. Senior rate was $209. This was busy a weekend, with a concert, Indians game and new casino. All of these venues can be glimpsed from the front entrance of the casino, and all are a safe two or three block walk. Restaurants and pubs are even closer next door on fourth street. Lots of foot traffic this weekend. Perhaps too much sometimes. A sign on the front door reads, "This hotel has no public restroom, ATM or pay phone."

The hotel is vintage but with modern fittings. High ceilings and windows. Modern appliances and air conditioning. We had a one-bedroom suite on a corner. The room was quiet. There is a small fitness center with only four machines on the second floor. Free hot breakfast is on foam plates but you eat in an elegant room with a stained glass skylight. A small pantry in the lobby with fair prices. No bar or restaurant in hotel. As is typical in a Marriott, all staff, whatever their role, had a friendly hello.

A couple of minor gripes: maid service seemed to have been only to make the bed and provide clean towels. no evidence of her tidying the living room or kitchen. lights in bathroom made 60 cycle hum.

Jim in Ohio

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I booked this hotel because I was only going to be in Cleveland for one night to see a show at the House of Blues and it was SOOOO CHEAP!! At the cost for which you get a huge room and friendly service and walkability to a few bars and venues...not to mention you can throw a rock at the new casino. I wouldn't plan a long vacation stay here-but then again I wouldn't plan a long stay in Cleveland. The parking could have been a little easier to maneuver, but there are a lot of lots at street level if it is truly an issue. I would absolutely stay here again if I were to go to another show or take in a game...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 527 Prospect Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio Suite with separate living room, sleeping area and full-size kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Residence Inn
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.