We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   527 Prospect Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice room in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed here the night before we visited the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland. Parking was right below the hotel. (Only a car will fit through the narrow passage to get to the parking facility.) It's very secure, though, and you can access the hotel directly from the parking garage. The room was huge, with the usual kitchen, etc, which we didn't need/use but was adequately provided. (The refrigerator was noisy, so we unplugged it for overnight.) We were there on Saturday and watched football though the afternoon/evening after having driven a long day to get there....nice TV, etc. Breakfast was terrific...lots to choose from, freshly prepared, and pleasantly presented in a large room. This is close to the Hall of Fame, as well as several sports facilities, so it would be a good place for sports fans to stay on game weekends. A short walk away are the famous 4th street restaurants, etc., so dinner was easy to walk to.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    102
    42
    14
    4
See reviews for
52
75
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011 via mobile

Room - dirty shower curtain, random hairs everywhere, rotten smell.

Hotel general areas - tile that needs to be grouted, uneven floors, strange layout

Parking - Great for a smartcar, horrible for any other type. Whoever designed this lot was on drugs at the time.

Service - nothing special, just typical people that complain about their jobs and have tons of excuses for all the problems.

Location - close to a lot of things, the only positive for this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
516 reviews 516 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel a few times. I love the location. It is right by the ball parks. you walk out your hotel and your there. I also love all the places to eat. They are so close. This is a very friendly hotel. I do like it, but its a little old. They need to update it. I will stay here again. The location makes up for the oldness. If you do stay. Make sure you check out all the great locations for eating. Its one block away.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middle tenn
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Friendly staff who seem to genuinely enjoy their job - everyone we had contact with were smiling and pleasant. Room was great - more like a one bedroom apartment than a hotel room. Clean, comfortable. An easy walk to the Indians' game (our reason for the trip). Breakfast provided offered a nice variety, not just cold cereal and coffee. The 4th Avenue area, just around the corner from the hotel, is a gold mine of restaurants and bars. (We opted for Mexican at Zoccalo's - very good.)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

What a wonderful stay! We traveled with another couple to Cleveland from London, Ontario, to do some sight seeing and visit the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.
Upon arrival at the Residence Inn, we learned that the parking lot at the hotel was full; it was no inconvenience, there was plenty of parking directly across the staff. When checking in, a wonderful woman working the front desk - whose name I regret I never got - upgraded our room to a suite at no additional cost due to the 'inconvenience.'
The suites are absolutely beautiful. My husband and I and the other couple each received our own room, bathroom, along with a kitchen, sitting and dining area, and a complimentary breakfast.
There is a recreational room on the main level with a pool table, and wonderful shops and restaurants near by.
The staff were exceptional - this trip has made us want to visit Cleveland again and stay at this hotel!
Thank you, Residence Inn!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The staff at the hotel were very friendly. The one bedroom was like an apartment! The building is over 100 years old, but well maintained. The breakfast area is beautiful and the free continental breakfast was very good. Just around the corner was a street (no cars) packed with numerous places to eat. Enjoyed both of the ones we ate at. There is also a comedy club. My wife and I went on a bus tour which was very enjoyable. The highlight was the Rock and Roll Home of Fame. We spent one day, but at least two days are needed.

It was a very enjoyable 2 days.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

This was a WONDERFUL stay!!

The hotel itself is architecturally stunning .. the room height must have been over 15 feet high.

The room was twice the size of most hotel rooms, but the bathroom was much smaller, There was a dressing area with double closet and sink on the outside. The kitchen was complete with dishwasher (although we only used the fridge) and dishes/cutlery. Housekeeping was extremely thorough and everything was quite clean. The breakfast was great (there was even salsa/sour cream/onions for the scrambled eggs) and on Tues/Wed/Thurs evening there is a "managers reception" which eliminates the need for dinner elsewhere.

We walked to the R&R Hall of Fame both days ... about 15-20 minutes.

Walked to Tower Center (indoor mall) ... about 5-7 minutes.

We did Lolly the Trolley ... well worth it. (If you show them your room key BEFORE paying there was a little discount ... we found this out too late!)

We went to Zocallo's for guacamole ... delicious ... 1-2 min. walk.

We picked up pizza at Vincenzio's Pizza and Pasta ... very good ...(not open Sat/Sun ... and weekdays only until @630P) .... -1 min. walk.

The front desk staff was WONDERFUL ... always cheerful and upbeat ... would stay there again, without any hesitations.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 527 Prospect Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio Suite with separate living room, sleeping area and full-size kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Residence Inn
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.