We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a post-script.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bricco - CLOSED

Bricco
1438 Euclid Ave, Cleveland, OH 44115-1806
216-862-2889
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Just a post-script.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I had formerly given Bricco i Cleveland a less than stellar review. Bricco Cleveland closed it's doors in April 2013. Another establishment will open in the same location.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    4
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great salmon club sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

The fried pickles were good, although I like the winking lizard dipping sauce better. This is a nice place the food is great and well worth the cost; $6 for fried pickles and $9 for the salmon BLT. I would definetly recommend this place. Service was good, they have sirracha hot sauce

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I've eaten here several times in the past and it has always been great. The most recent visit was after a show for a drink and dessert.

This restaurant is in Cleveland's theater district and they are wonderful at getting great food to patrons quickly so they have time to enjoy it and then make their show on time. Even after the show, they're great at serving people quickly. All the employees here are also extremely friendly. One tip, make reservations. This place fills up anytime before a show. You're not very likely to get a table without reservations.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“not all it's cracked up to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Playhouse Square is the second largest performing arts venue in the country (Lincoln Center in NYC being the first). Downtown Cleveland is overall depressed, but these few blocks around Playhouse Square have been improving with a few new restaurants, etc. Bricco has been here a couple years now.

Impeccably clean, pleasant surroundings. Service is the worst here I have ever experienced in my entire life, anywhere----no exaggeration. I have never known service here to be anything but painfully slow. If you ask for water it can be 10 minutes before you get it. If the wait staff offers dessert they don't know what it is and it's another ten minutes before they come back to tell you the whole 3 or 4 items (wouldn't you think they'd find this out at the start of the shift?).

I only go to Bricco when I'm going to Playhouse Square with someone else who wants to go there for dinner first. Food is mostly just average. Pizzas are doughy. Salads can vary widely in size. Bacon spinach can be just right. Romaine is a bit larger than you would expect for full size. Mixed greens with beets full size is huge so at first that looks like a deal for $11, but it's really just a pile of flavorless but pretty greens, four slices of equally flavorless beets, a couple small crumbles of goat cheese (that does have flavor), sliced almonds. Adding salmon to the salad for another $5 at least adds some flavor. Might find some dressing on a couple pieces of greens. Asking for the dressing on the side might help.

The most expensive item on the menu is also one of the smallest---shrimp and scallops for $23. It's over risotto. Fresh, not bad, better than the average. I've heard the duck is good but haven't tried it.

On my most recent visit dessert (after the usual 10 minute wait to learn the desserts available) included pistachio gelato. Beautifully flavored, one of the better items I've had there.

I'm sure with their location almost directly across from the box office and the main block of theaters they'd like to think of themselves as the destination restaurant for Playhouse Square---but I say, pass. Your money is better spent over in Ohio City at one of the many fine restaurants there, and then drive the few short blocks to Playhouse Square.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The food was very average. Edible, but I wouldn't eat here again. One of those, nothing to complain about, but nothing to praise either, restaurants. We had pasta dishes. They were fine, just very bland.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bricco also viewed

 
Cleveland, OH
Cleveland, OH
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bricco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.