We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay in a place with lot's of history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brownstone Inn Downtown

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cleveland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brownstone Inn Downtown
3649 Prospect Ave., Cleveland, OH 44115-2703   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Cleveland B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay in a place with lot's of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in the Brownstone Inn for 5 nights and I had a pleasant stay. It is a lovely old building with nice authentic furniture inside.

Robin the owner is very nice and provides a lovely breakfast in the morning and makes sure you have everything you need. Downtown is a short 15 minute bus ride which is easy to use and the stop is very close to the B&B.

I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    11
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
17
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

If you want a truly unique experience then you should stay at The Brownstone Bed and Breakfast.
Not sure where to start but the house is stunning; very old and traditionally furnished. You feel like royalty staying here.
The host, Robin, is one of the most helpful people I have met anywhere in the world and will certainly go the extra mile to help you out with anything you need. I was in Cleveland to find an apartment for my daughter and Robin took me around the town to show me the different areas; where to go and not to go etc. He went over and beyond what was required. He even took us to the West Side Market.
The atmosphere was very relaxed and you feel completely at home. Robin makes breakfast and asks what you would like. You can choose from cereal, fruit, granola etc or bacon and eggs. The best part is that the coffee is made when you come downstairs even if it is early.
The beds are super comfortable. You can choose a large room with an ensuite or a smaller room with a shared bathroom. We opted for a smaller room and we shared the bathroom between us. It was perfectly adequate. We didn't come to Cleveland to spend time in the room.
I was very grateful for that and for Robin's hospitality during our stay. Thanks Robin. You are the best!

Room Tip: Depends on your budget. This place is so reasonably priced if you can afford it, go for the big roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

This was our first trip to Cleveland, and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, so we didn't quite know what to expect. Though initially concerned about the neighborhood, any reservations we had were gone by day 2. Once we got our bearings, the location felt ideal. Robin is a great host, and obviously loves Cleveland. He was most helpful getting us where we wanted to go, and keeping us out of areas we shouldn't go. He is around when you need him. The inn itself is lovingly restored to a bygone era. Our room could use a bit of spicing up, but most rooms are brightly painted and furnished to compliment the age of the inn. Breakfast was served promptly, and we felt we could linger as long as we wanted. As another review mentioned, there are no TVs in the rooms, and the WiFi is a little weak on the second floor, but somehow we managed that disconnect and survived to write this review. Check this place out. You won't be disappointed. And add half a star to this review.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

My son and I decided to take a road trip to visit the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Football Hall of Fame. Cleveland was the logical base for us to use, and the Brownstone Inn had good reviews. When I called Robin sounded very accommodating ...and then we arrived to a B&B and innkeeper who far exceeded our already high expectations.

The Brownstone Inn is charming, and Robin, the innkeeper has restored it beautifully. The common rooms are welcoming and well furnished with antiques that fit the rooms well, and all of the rooms have wallpapers that work well with the furnishings. The bedrooms were also well furnished, the beds were comfortable, and during December the down comforters were great! The house is immaculate. Not only is it restored, but Robin enjoys discussing the history of the house from its earliest days in its prime through its more difficult years.

Breakfast was very good and filling. Robin was very accommodating of our dietary restrictions.

One of the advantages of staying at this B&B is that Robin truly loves Cleveland. As a direct result of having stayed with Robin we visited several gems that we would not otherwise have planned to see. We left Cleveland having enjoyed the city.....which was an unexpected surprise. We left the Brownstone Inn very happy that we had chosen to stay there .

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Okay. Here's a theme for you. Facing a second lay-off in two consecutive years, the wife and I decided to visit Cleveland and feel better about our lackluster professional lives. Fans of Anthony Bourdain and wanting to visit the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame for some time, we justified the mid-winter splurge with super-cheap Southwest airfare and scheduling an interview on the east side of Cleveland before our return home.
I seemed to remember rolling into CLE a bit late, but my wife and I were good communicators with our host and had no problem parking along the street, getting our room key, the nickel tour, and slipping under the covers for a decent night's sleep. Our second story room was functional and offered us a sleepy view of the wintry street below. Being an older structure with walls and floors that could talk, staying under the covers while the winds off Lake Erie blew by outside was imperative. [ROOMS-- 3.00 out of 5]
Innkeeper Robin has an entertaining, if not admirable, toughness about him. While I'd never call him at 1:30 in the morning to make a reservation, I did find his weighing in on local history, sightseeing, political corruption, et cetera, to be a big part of our delicious breakfast. Robin seemed dialed into what's going on in the world, and more importantly, exactly how much personality to dish out without overwhelming his guests. Still, I could see where the faint of heart might get rubbed the wrong way. [SERVICE-- 4.25 out of 5; DINING-- 4.50 out of 5]
The bang for your buck is pretty high here, especially weighing in the central location to Cleveland's top-notch culinary scene, world class museums, and nearby natural beauty. Granted, we visited in the dead of winter, but now that we call the eastside of Cleveland our home, we've had a wonderful time building on this initial weekend getaway to a very-much-alive city.
[VALUE-- 4.75 out of 5]

Room Tip: Think cozy, not posh.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

The Innkeeper Robin was terrific! Absolutely excellent food and hospitality in a great location just minutes from the downtown. We were awestruck from the minute we stepped in the door. Comfortable beds, clean facilities, cozy rooms and public spaces...what more could you ask for?

Robin also keeps plenty of literature on hand - in addition to his vast knoweldge of the area - for anybody looking for fun things to do in the awesome city.

Room Tip: E-mailing is more effective than phone calls for communication.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

The Brownstone Inn Downtown was built in 1874 and is a lovely home, with wooden banisters, with a delightful array of antiques and portraits from the 19th century. I enjoyed the historical nuances such as the so-called English basement with a lengthy corridor as the “servant’s entrance”. The proprietor Robin had plenty of brochures handy to guide each of his guests in their daily plans and was a fount of knowledge about the history, transit system and activities going on in Cleveland. He cooked a tasty breakfast each morning, varying the egg/meat accompaniment from mushrooms to asparagus to collard greens over the days of my stay.

While the immediate walking vicinity is pretty deserted, for those visiting without their own car, thankfully the “Health Line” (an accordion bus with a designated lane) runs every 5-15 minutes up and down Euclid Avenue and connects two interesting areas of Cleveland: Downtown and University Circle. There are ticket-dispensing machines at each “Health Line” stop, where I would purchase a $5 day pass, which one can use on the “Health Line”, rapid trains (red, blue, green lines) or RTA buses. From the Brownstone Inn, I tended to head over to “Asia Town” for supper, which was about a 10-15 minute walk from the B&B.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brownstone Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brownstone Inn Downtown

Also Known As:
Brownstone Inn Downtown Cleveland, Ohio
Address: 3649 Prospect Ave., Cleveland, OH 44115-2703
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brownstone Inn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Brownstone Inn Downtown to your Saves list