We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel , Fine Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
“Nice Hotel , Fine Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

The hotel is at a very convenient location, at the begining of the city center, closer towards the airport. The rooms are pretty spacious and well maintained. The best thing about this hotel is nice conference room. An excellant hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    257
    72
    37
    23
See reviews for
167
211
48
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

I have stayed at this Hampton Inn in years past and was disappointed on my recent stay. The hotel seems to have gotten dirtier and has really become dated. My first night in the hotel, I had heard a noise in the middle of the night. I awoke the next morning to find that the wallpaper had peeled off and was hanging down ! The desk chair appeared to be an old, kitchen table chair that someone bought at a garage table - it was stained too and looked pretty gross to sit on ! This hotel is in need of a major cleaning and renovation (during my stay they had notices in the room that they were having an outside company come in and professionally clean the carpets). Being a Hilton Honors member, I always stay at Hilton properties and would recommend staying at the nearby Embassy suites versus this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonClevelandGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Itsjustme47, we appreciate your feedback. I'm happy to contact you to let you know the Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown has recently changed ownership and management. As a result we are beginning a complete renovation as of September 1st of this year. I hope your travels bring you back to our area and your can experience the service and product that the new ownership and management are committed to. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

The hotel had all of the conveniences that we expected. The staff were frinedly and helpful.
It is convenient for downtown and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
521 reviews 521 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
473 helpful votes 473 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I know this hotel is downtown Cleveland, but really it's downtown Cleveland! We paid $229 plus taxes plus parking. A little much for rooms that were very ordinary and the service at the front desk was average. The beds were quite comfortable and the location to the sporting arenas is awesome, but the price is definitely way too much for what one gets.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin,TX
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Got to the hotel around 8. The valet line was full and there was no sign for where to self-park. After circling the block, a guy steps out and asks if we want valet. He wasn't wearing any kind of uniform and would have wondered about a scam, but I'd spotted him in the hotel in our first drive-around.

We valet parked, checkin, was fairly quick. The room had a mossy smell. The chair/ottoman were heavily stained, nothing was particularly dirty, but it the room was very dated and a bit decrepit. The TV was older and reception was bad. Internet was very slow. I usually get bottled water in the room. I tried 4 different floors for vending machines and none of them had bottled water or sugar free sodas in stock, which was annoying.

The staff was nice enough, but I hope there are better options in downtown Cleveland. Good news is that Michael Symon's Lola is just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

My wife and i just returned from a 4 night stay at the Hampton Inn in Downtown Cleveland. This was our first trip to Cleveland, and let me say, we loved it. There is a lot to see and do around Cleveland. The Hampton Inn Downtown is the ideal location for visiting Cleveland. Everything is within an easy walking distance of the hotel. We parked our vehicle and walked to the football game, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, and to the Quicken Loans Arena for a Cavs game. There are plenty of resturants within an easy walking distance of the hotel; Hard Rock, House of Blues, Corner Alley (which by the way is great), just to name a few.

Our room was very comfortable and clean. A flat screen tv would be a nice touch, but you'll not be in your room long enough to watch it most of the time.

We found the hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful. There is a free breakfast offered every morning down in the lobby area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We had been on the road for 4 days and really needed a rest. This hotel was our answer. If I could have the bed shipped home, I would do it! The staff was extrememly friendly and accomodating. The rooms were very nice. Only issue there is older tv's but definately not a deal breaker! We were there for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and not tv anyway! Approx. 1/2 a mile from the Hall made it great to take a nice little walk. Food and shopping also near by. We would definately reccomend this hotel to anyone else who may be coming to downtown Cleveland. The hotel could use a little freshening up on a visual level but really is nice and clean. DO come!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#7 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate in comfortable and convenient hotels in Cleveland, Ohio at the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown, located 13 miles from Cleveland-Hopkins International Airport. This hotel in downtown Cleveland is perfectly situated near the greatest attractions that Cleveland has to offer. Visit the Playhouse Square Theater District, or catch a Cleveland Browns or Indians game during your visit. Enjoy a day of fun at The Greater Cleveland Aquarium, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Horseshoe Casino or visit Cleveland's financial district, all within walking distance from the hotel.Start your day right with our free hot breakfast and unwind in the evening at our lobby bar, open Monday through Saturday from 5.00pm to 11.00pm. Stay connected in our 24-hour business center and enjoy complimentary high-speed internet access in every guest room. The fitness center features cardio and weight equipment to help you maintain your healthy lifestyle. The Suite Shop is available 24-hours for snacks and beverages. Among downtown Cleveland hotels, you’ll find the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown is close to it all but far from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.