We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Stay Here...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Racine, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Do Not Stay Here...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

This hotel is the worst! For starters, the room decor is very dated and shabby. The beds are horrible, I tossed and turned on my "rock" all night. I went downstairs for breakfast at 10 am and there was a dining room full of housekeeping, maintenance, and valet parking staff eating everything in site. When I tried to find something to eat, everything was gone. The staff were loud and laughing. When I walked over to the waffle machine, one of the women sitting in the dining area loudly proclaimed "there ain't no mo." Whoever was supposed to be replenishing the food was nowhere to be found and the hotel desk clerk just ignored everyone. By the way, breakfast was supposed to be served until 11am. The premium TV was a joke and the pay per view movies would not work. I called the desk twice and they ensured me they were "rebooting" and I could buy a movie in about 20 minutes. Needless to say, two hours went by and I still couldn't buy a movie. I would NEVER stay in this dump again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    257
    72
    38
    23
See reviews for
168
211
48
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

The staff is super helpful and friendly. They take a lot of time to explain where to eat or where to visit. Overall the hotel is pretty clean... and I would definitely stay here again. Only a couple little things... the window looking out was dirty, a 30 second cleaning would have helped, and a tiny bit of mold in shower. (I admit, I am picky)

Second night we couldnt find remote, and staff was up to bring us another in less than 5 minutes. Parking is free, or for $3 there is valet. The lot is right across the street, One time we had trouble getting into lot with our card key and started to walk around, and the hotel doorman ran across right away and let us in. The free breakfast was so/so... not stocked great, but worth the "price."

Indoor shoppinng mall, restaraunts and Rock N Roll Hall of Fame and other museuems all within walking distance, so location is great! Based on location, the price was reasonable. Sure wish we could have seen Cleveland 10 or 20 years ago... there are a lot of empty store fronts in what looks to have been a beautiful downtown at one time.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon, OH
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

This place is a great, friendly, clean and safe hotel. The staff must be trained to be super nice to guests, because everyone was delightful. Yes, the complimentary breakfast was something I had to pass on, but it's complimentary! The rate was the best in town and the location is ideal for the Cleveland 'nightlife'.

The room was slightly dated, but large. The bed was super-duper comfortable with very nice linens.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnCleveland, Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, January 11, 2010
Hello,

Thank you for your stay on New Year's Eve! We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. Hope to see you back this New Year's Eve!

Have a healthy and safe New Year!

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

Booked this hotel because the Hampton brand has been relatively standardized over the past few years with their new look, comfy beds, clean decor. This location must still be on the list because it was like the Hampton Dive. The pillows felt like somone rolled up a bunch of socks and stuck them in a pillowcase. The room was dark and dreary, old and needed updating and cleaning. I couldn't find a speck of granite in the entire hotel and most Hampton's these days have the nice upgraded granite bathroom counters. Not this place. I showered while my feet bathed with standing water in the tub past my ankles. Dirty bathroom. Uncomfortable bed. The heating/cooling vent thing in the window was filthy. Coffee was cold.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnCleveland, Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, January 11, 2010
Hello,

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown for your stay in Cleveland. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I can assure you that not all rooms were as you described. We would have happily changed rooms for you if we had known of the opportunities you and your spouse/ partner experienced. It is our goal to make sure that you have a restful night's sleep and enjoy the Hampton experience. We hope that you will change your mind and visit us again soon!

Thank you for your business and comments. We make sure to read the comments and share them at each staff meetings to better our service to all our guests.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

My family (my wife and I, my daughter and her husband, and a single adult daughter) drove here to see the Rock N' Roll Hall of Fame and the house used in the movie "A Christmas Story". We booked a suite for 5 adults.

Checkin was fine. Parking is $15 per day across the street in a parking building.

The room was clean. There were 2 double beds in one room and a pull out couch in the sitting room. There was no door between the two rooms. Both rooms had older TVs, with fair-to-poor reception. The beds had a single bedstand between them (not much space). There was an armoire rather than a closet, and 2 sets of drawers. The sitting room has a pullout couch, microwave, small fridge, desk with chair, a coffee table, and a couple of couch side tables.

Bathroom was OK (sink was inside, making it hard to get 5 adults moving since they all used the bathroom one at a time). A couple of cracked tiles in the bathroom. Plastic cups.

Internet service was free and relatively speedy. The room heat/air conditioner tended to dehydrate us during the night.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Stayed in the Hampton Inn Cleveland in May 2009. The hotel is very central and very near the R&R hall of fame and the baseball stadium.

The room I had was huge, 5 stars for the bowed shower curtain rail (why doesn't every hotel have this?), could use updating though.

Breakfast buffet was average at best. Pay parking available opposite hotel (valet parking) at very reasonable rates.

The area is very quiet by night, drug/convenience store is located less than a block away.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnCleveland, manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2009
Hello,

Thank you for recent stay at the Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us while in Cleveland. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

Stayed at the Hamptin Inn Cleveland Downtown on a trip to the Rock n Roll Hall of fame.

This hotel has an excellent location. It is within a 5 to 10 minute walk to Progressive Field, Cleveland Browns Stadium, the Rock n Roll Hall of Fame, and many other attractions.

The hotel is very clean and comfortable and the staff is very friendly and attentive.

Parking is extra as with most downtown hotels and valet service is available and recommended (it is only $3 more).

If traveling to Cleveland this is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnCleveland, Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2009
Hello,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel to be an excellent value. We take great pride in making sure that we give the best customer service and every check in has a clean room. I will share this comment with our staff! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#7 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate in comfortable and convenient hotels in Cleveland, Ohio at the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown, located 13 miles from Cleveland-Hopkins International Airport. This hotel in downtown Cleveland is perfectly situated near the greatest attractions that Cleveland has to offer. Visit the Playhouse Square Theater District, or catch a Cleveland Browns or Indians game during your visit. Enjoy a day of fun at The Greater Cleveland Aquarium, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Horseshoe Casino or visit Cleveland's financial district, all within walking distance from the hotel.Start your day right with our free hot breakfast and unwind in the evening at our lobby bar, open Monday through Saturday from 5.00pm to 11.00pm. Stay connected in our 24-hour business center and enjoy complimentary high-speed internet access in every guest room. The fitness center features cardio and weight equipment to help you maintain your healthy lifestyle. The Suite Shop is available 24-hours for snacks and beverages. Among downtown Cleveland hotels, you’ll find the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown is close to it all but far from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.