We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally Located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Centrally Located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This hotel is centrally located in downtown Cleveland minutes away from the casino, ball barks, rock and roll hall of fame, shopping, and dining. The hotel staff including the guys in valet were friendly and eager to help in any way. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The bed wasnt the best I've slept in but I did get a good night of sleep and I didn't have any back pain the next day which is always a plus when I travel. The only negative I can think of was the noise. We could hear everyone in the halls including the housekeepers. Overall, its a nice hotel for money and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear brandon v,

We are happy to hear from you and glad to know your stay was pleasant. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments, which highlight strengths and areas for improvement, serve as encouragement to our associates who genuinely care about providing each guest with an enjoyable stay. We look forward to a return visit.

Best,
Michael Reidy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    237
    67
    36
    21
See reviews for
159
186
45
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barrie ON
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Our group arrived, we were greeted at the front door with Valet Parking attendants, since we were on motorcycles, they were not able to park are vehicles. They advised us of Hampton Inn parking in the garage. We were thankful to have covered parking:) the location of hotel was close to all attractions most a short walk away! The room was spacious and clean. The beds were very comfy. Good variety of foods to chose from for breakfast. Only suggestion would be to have glass wine wear as opposed plastic or paper.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Lynne1964,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience. Our team understands and believes that our guests deserve a pleasant stay and we continue to seek new ways to impress. I will be sure to share your nice comments with our associates; they work hard to deliver superior service. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.

Best,
Michael Reidy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This hotel is very conveniently located downtown within walking distance of many attractions. It was very quiet on the 15th floor and the included breakfast had a wide variety to satisfy all. The bathroom had many added touches(i.e.a nightlight, mouthwash) and was sparkling clean. The hairdryer was full-sized brand name and not one of those mini ones everyone else has. It would be nice to have a mini-fridge and maybe a magnifier mirror in bathroom. The best part was the surprise we got when we opened the door: a white rose on the bed and a chilling bottle of champagne with some chocolates added in also! We were in town for a concert to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary and my daughter had called to have a little welcoming surprise in our room but the front desk said that they would take care of it at no charge!! What a way to treat guests!! The valet service was also very nice and professional. Thanks for a great trip!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear mickmom,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience. Our team understands and believes that our guests deserve a pleasant stay and we continue to seek new ways to impress. I will be sure to share your nice comments with our associates; they work hard to deliver superior service. Thanks again and Happy Anniversary!

Best,
Michael Reidy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I have stayed at this Hampton Inn twice and it is, by far, my favorite Hampton Inn! The location downtown is perfect- close to everything you could want in a city center. Breakfast is good and the rooms are well-appointed, with extremely comfortable beds and good views of the surrounding area. The staff is outstanding and Melissa at the front desk is to be commended for her welcoming and friendly personality and for remembering me from my first stay a few months ago- as well as for accommodating a request to stay next door to friends who were also staying at the hotel! Other front-desk agents have also helped with restaurant recommendations and transportation needs. Even though it is downtown, it's a quiet environment inside the hotel- a perfect respite from the hustle and bustle of a busier part of downtown Cleveland. Valet is efficient and friendly- I was pleasantly surprised when they retrieved the car in 5 minutes during a busy time and also took time to open the door for me and for my partner. I really enjoy this hotel!

Room Tip: I was in a corner room on the 4th floor and 7th floor for my two visits. Both were quiet and comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear John H,

We are happy to hear from you and glad to know your stay was pleasant. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your recommendation serves as encouragement to our associates who genuinely care about providing each guest with an enjoyable stay. We look forward to a return visit.

Best,
Michael Reidy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We spent 3 nights here. Great location in downtown Cleveland. The staff was friendly and helpful. Walking distance to the Rock n Roll Hall of Fame. Valet parking for extra fee with in and out privileges. Only complaint is that there was no mini fridge in the room and the bathroom could use a few extra hooks.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Stacie F,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience. Our team understands and believes that our guests deserve a pleasant stay and we continue to seek new ways to impress. Your kind comments, which highlight our successes and areas for improvement, are appreciated as they foster change for the better. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.

Best,
Michael Reidy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Have stayed in several Hampton Inns across the US and this was the most expensive and was not as nice as many others. Front desk staff not really friendly and out of maps of area. And not sure where places were or anything to do. Valet parking only at $20 a day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Sandra L,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience. Our team strives to deliver sincere and attentive service to all our guests. We clearly fell short of this goal during your stay; please forgive us. I’m sorry you were disappointed in your stay and we hate to have left you with a poor impression. I will discuss your review with our associates to encourage improvement for future stays. For this reason, I hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Until now I have been satisfied with Hampton Inn. This Inn was dirty, the cleaning staff did not clean the room properly. The charge for parking is not acceptable as was the length of time to retrieve the auto. !!! No option for self parking is noted!!!! Staff in dining area were welcoming and the breakfast food presentation was good. Did not receive any specific benefit at time of arrival, except parking valet. Will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Robert R,

Thank you for acknowledging our welcoming staff and ample breakfast even though you were disappointed with valet parking and the cleanliness of your room. My sincere apologies that the cleanliness of your room was not up to our usual standards. Your comments are appreciated as they foster change for the better, for this reason I’d like to further discuss the details of your stay so I can properly share them with our team. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel at your convenience to review the specifics of your experience. By addressing your concerns I hope to retain your loyalty and see you on a return visit.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy
General Manager
216.241.6600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate in comfortable and convenient hotels in Cleveland, Ohio at the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown, located 13 miles from Cleveland-Hopkins International Airport. This hotel in downtown Cleveland is perfectly situated near the greatest attractions that Cleveland has to offer. Visit the Playhouse Square Theater District, or catch a Cleveland Browns or Indians game during your visit. Enjoy a day of fun at The Greater Cleveland Aquarium, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Horseshoe Casino or visit Cleveland's financial district, all within walking distance from the hotel.Start your day right with our free hot breakfast and unwind in the evening at our lobby bar, open Monday through Saturday from 5.00pm to 11.00pm. Stay connected in our 24-hour business center and enjoy complimentary high-speed internet access in every guest room. The fitness center features cardio and weight equipment to help you maintain your healthy lifestyle. The Suite Shop is available 24-hours for snacks and beverages. Among downtown Cleveland hotels, you’ll find the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown is close to it all but far from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.