We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rock Hall of Fame Package
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

If you are spending any time in downtown Cleveland this hotel offers a great location. Easy walk to First Energy Stadium, Rock & Roll Museum and Progressive Field.

If you want to visit the art museums or Botanical Gardens, just hop on the HealthLine bus which has a stop blocks away at Euclid and 9th street. Free trolleys also run during weekdays.

Tower City is also an easy 10 minute walk which provides access to an indoor shopping mall, food court, theaters and the Cleveland RTA rail line.

The hotel itself is also very nice. The rooms have been updated and the bathrooms have nice granite and tile. There is also a bar on the 1st floor that offers drinks and popcorn in the evenings.

The fitness center is wonderful and the treadmills have built in LCD TV's and cooling fans.

The only downside of this hotel is the crowded check in area which is small and the $20 fee for valet parking.

The next time I am in Cleveland I will be staying at this hotel again.

Don't miss the USS Cod submarine tour which is a 15 minute walk from the hotel on the lake.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. It is encouraging to hear that your stay was enjoyable; we work hard to provide a pleasant experience. Your kind comments are appreciated and we look forward to a return visit.

Best,
Michael Reidy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    316
    89
    46
    29
See reviews for
210
247
58
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I stayed here with my nephew so that we could visit the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and the zoo. The location is great!

The hotel is well-maintained and has good security. The only thing I disliked was the $20/night for valet parking on top of the room price; however, I guess that's cheap for a downtown hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the room where the housekeepers assemble their products: they act like the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
It’s wonderful to know your stay was pleasant. We love hearing you were pleased with our hotel amenities, location and service. Your review helps us to monitor and improve our guest experience. Thank you for your time in reviewing your stay, and we hope to host you again soon.

Best,
Michael Reidy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed two nights this past weekend, The hotel is in the heart of downtown.

Cleveland has many unique buildings some with amazing glass roofs and atriums.
The downtown area felt very alive and very safe on the weekend we were there.
Hotel is easy walking distance to all the main attractions and restaurant areas downtown.
Free trolleys that scoot around downtown and the waterfront/R&R Hall of Fame take you to within a block of the hotel, if you get tired walking.

Rooms in the hotel are on the compact size, but very clean and functional, with updated bathrooms, flat screen TV and real HDTV channels including HBO. Staff are pleasant and helpful. Manager generously comped us some Hilton points after the guests next to our room kept their wedding party going till late, late. Breakfast is plentiful with both hot and cold items, lots of fruit and juices as well.

Valet parking is $20+tax per day.
On Saturday, Sunday and Holidays on-street parking is free. Just remember to feed the parking meter or move the car by 7AM on Monday morning. There are also reasonably priced pay lots a few blocks away.

We visited the Cleveland Museum of Art on a rainy Sunday afternoon. World-class art world-class building with another massive glass atrium and the price (free) was right !

Only issue I had was with Hilton Reservations. When I called, they could not or would not match the non-refundable Expedia price I found. Also no success so far in getting the HILTON BEST RATE GUARANTEE after I eventually booked via Expedia.

All in all, a great weekend in a surprisingly Great City.

Room Tip: Facing the Church across the street, higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your kind review and recommendation! I’m thrilled to know your stay was pleasant and we appreciate you choosing us. I will be sure to share your kind comments with our entire team as they work hard to make our guests feel at home.

Best,
Michael Reidy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed a week in this hotel in interior 9th floor room facing office building next door. You can hear there cooling fans rumble all night long. Light sleepers get street side and high. Only valet parking $20/day. Good clean room. Breakfast was good but more limited choices than most Hampton's I have stayed in. Good PM eating places found on 4th St & in Warehouse District

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Robert S,

Our staff makes sincere hospitality their priority; I’m glad you enjoyed our clean room and good location. Reflections like yours allow us to monitor and improve our guest experience. Thank you for your time in reviewing your stay, and we hope to host you again soon.

Best,
Michael Reidy, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton RI
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stayed one night to visit the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Hotel is perfectly located for that, no more than a 10 minute walk. We arrived early, but there was a room available and we were ale to check in right away. Valet parking was efficient. Everyone in the hotel was friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable and clean, and breakfast was well prepared with good variety. Hotel also convenient to the Browns' stadium and the Indians field.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Tom S,

I’m thrilled to learn we satisfied your travel needs. It’s wonderful to know you enjoyed our friendly associates, ample breakfast and location. We appreciate your recommendation, but of course the highest form of praise would be your return!
Best,

Best,
Michael Reidy, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stayed on a Saturday night recently for a guys trip. We used the Valet parking which was fast and efficient. Room was clean, standard Hampton Inn setup. Nice bedding and pillows. Breakfast was good, enough choices for everyone and of course, make your own waffles.

Walking distance to R&R Hall of Fame right up 9th street. Also very close to Browns and Indians Stadiums. Plenty of dining within 4 blocks. Can't go wrong.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your kind review and recommendation. I’m thrilled to know you enjoyed our clean rooms, comfortable bedding, ample breakfast and nice location. We appreciate you choosing us and we hope to see you on a return visit.

Best,
Michael Reidy, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albemarle, NC, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I'm from the Cleveland area, and booked this hotel for my honeymoon weekend. My husband is a North Carolina man, and had never seen Cleveland, or even Ohio. I was a little nervous about taking him to the area because northerners aren't known for their friendliness. The hotel staff went above and beyond, and I was proud of my city. The room was clean and neat. The valet parking worried me a little bit, but the valet staff was efficient and friendly. We had a very late arrival and the valet was at my door before I could even open it. They made the inconvenience and the cost of parking worth it. The hotel is within walking distance of all the great downtown attractions. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Misty B,

Congratulations on your marriage! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Our associates make sincere hospitality their priority and we appreciate you recognizing our friendly service and convenient location. I look forward to sharing your kind comments with our entire team. I'm glad we could be a part of this special occasion.

Best,
Michael Reidy, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
0.2 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.2 mi away
Metropolitan at The 9
Metropolitan at The 9
#1 of 35 in Cleveland
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#10 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate in comfortable and convenient hotels in Cleveland, Ohio at the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown, located 13 miles from Cleveland-Hopkins International Airport. This hotel in downtown Cleveland is perfectly situated near the greatest attractions that Cleveland has to offer. Visit the Playhouse Square Theater District, or catch a Cleveland Browns or Indians game during your visit. Enjoy a day of fun at The Greater Cleveland Aquarium, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Horseshoe Casino or visit Cleveland's financial district, all within walking distance from the hotel.Start your day right with our free hot breakfast and unwind in the evening at our lobby bar, open Monday through Saturday from 5.00pm to 11.00pm. Stay connected in our 24-hour business center and enjoy complimentary high-speed internet access in every guest room. The fitness center features cardio and weight equipment to help you maintain your healthy lifestyle. The Suite Shop is available 24-hours for snacks and beverages. Among downtown Cleveland hotels, you’ll find the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown is close to it all but far from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.