We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

On East 9th St which has a direct off ramp from I-90 - about 1/2 mile away from highway -- so easy to find - plus a short walk to Rock n Roll HoF and Progressive Field .

We had double queen room on 15th floor facing 9th street -- room, linens and washroom all clean - beds and pillows comfortable and with no ickky factor.

The usual Hampton breakfast - but this place is busy so get down there early or expect bit of a wait for your curds 'n whey.

Parking is valet only so have a couple dollars handy to tip the valet who runs quickly across street to fetch your auto.

One thing I wish they had was a card lock on the elevator to restrict access to those who have rooms -- never did encounter a problem , just saying . They have in Buffalo Hampton and seems this hotel ought to do same.

You will find very friendly staff, particularly Miss Charlotte . who works the breakfast shift -- she is darling .

No pool here, but I think there is a health center.

CVS drugmart close by - sell limited selection of beer / wine -- and some OK restaurants also in easy walking distance.

Overall we were quite comfortable and we would recommend family friends stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other travelers. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our clean comfortable room, breakfast and efficient valet, but most importantly our friendly staff. I appreciate you recognizing our strengths while providing us some areas of opportunity for improvement. I will be sure to share your kind comments. A return visit is the best compliment, so we hope to see you again.

Best,
Michael Reidy, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    242
    67
    36
    21
See reviews for
159
189
45
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Hartford, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I have stayed in many, many hotels in my times of travel, but I have found that the Hilton Properties are the best. My husband and I have stayed many times in the DoubleTree Hotel in Cleveland Ohio many times during medical visits to Cleveland Clinic. We also now stay in Hampton Inns overnight in DuBois Pa and also Wilkes Barrie Pa. The staff is friendly, willing to help with recommending restaurants in the area, the rooms are always clean and fresh and it always feels like home. Will continue to stay at these properties.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Rosalie D,

Thank you for your kind review! We’re pleased to hear our clean rooms and friendly associates made for an enjoyable stay; I look forward to sharing your feedback with the team. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand. It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best,
Michael Reidy, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakville, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed two nights for my girlfriends birthday. The concierge went to Colossal Cupcakes around the corner and picked up cupcakes and put them up in our room for check in!!! Hotels in Toronto could learn a thing or two from this hotel about service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Peter T,

Thanks for your review and recommendation. We appreciate hearing from you and are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and the level of service we deliver. Your feedback provides motivation for our team. Please come see us again!

Best,
Michael Reidy, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I travelled to Cleveland to attend a baseball game on June 21st with a buddy. We received an early check-in at 11am and liked the room facing and old church and Lake Erie. Valet parking service was nice. Friendly staff, clean rooms, great location as it took about a 5 minute walk to get to the stadium and lots of bars. We had to wait a bit for eggs and sausages but free breakfast was a bonus. I think the only thing missing is a small pub with service on the main level.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We're happy to hear from you, and we're glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's great to learn that you enjoyed our clean rooms, valet parking and friendly staff in addition to our convenient location. A return visit is the best compliment; please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the area!

Best,
Michael Reidy, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We loved the location of the hotel, downtown Cleveland we could walk every where, and if not walk, get on local transportation, and even a free trolley, just for a smile, We were only 3 - 4 blocks from the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, & the Science Museum, the lake front, or the Theater area. The Hotel was clean, bed rooms where good, a lovely free breakfast, and really friendly staff, we had a great time at the hotel and the city.

Room Tip: Location is the best right down town you can walk to nearly everything, they will also park your car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our clean rooms, breakfast, friendly staff and convenient location. Our team strives to make every stay memorable and we continue to seek new ways to positively impact the guest experience; thank you for sharing your feedback. We hope to host you again soon.

Best,
Michael Reidy, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Hampton Inn is a very good choice for Cleveland stay. location is excellent - walking distance to most points of interest. Room was good. Comfortable bed, good washroom/shower. Clean, well equipped room. Valet parking is very convenient. Staff was friendly, Breakfast typical. Good value!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We are happy to hear from you and thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay at the Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown. I’m glad to learn you found our staff friendly, room well equipped and valet parking convenient. Please visit us again the next time you are in the Cleveland area.

Kind Regards,
Michael Reidy, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The entire visit at Hampton Inn, downtown Cleveland was most enjoyable. The staff were very knowledgeable, cheerful and helpful. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was best we have experienced in all hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear David,

We appreciate your kind comments. I’m glad to learn you found our staff cheerful while knowledgeable and that you enjoyed our ample breakfast. I will be sure to share your kind feedback. Please visit us again the next time you are in the Cleveland area.

Best,
Michael Reidy, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate in comfortable and convenient hotels in Cleveland, Ohio at the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown, located 13 miles from Cleveland-Hopkins International Airport. This hotel in downtown Cleveland is perfectly situated near the greatest attractions that Cleveland has to offer. Visit the Playhouse Square Theater District, or catch a Cleveland Browns or Indians game during your visit. Enjoy a day of fun at The Greater Cleveland Aquarium, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Horseshoe Casino or visit Cleveland's financial district, all within walking distance from the hotel.Start your day right with our free hot breakfast and unwind in the evening at our lobby bar, open Monday through Saturday from 5.00pm to 11.00pm. Stay connected in our 24-hour business center and enjoy complimentary high-speed internet access in every guest room. The fitness center features cardio and weight equipment to help you maintain your healthy lifestyle. The Suite Shop is available 24-hours for snacks and beverages. Among downtown Cleveland hotels, you’ll find the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown is close to it all but far from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.