We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Convenient Dowtown Hotel Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase
Ranked #6 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Alliance, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice, Convenient Dowtown Hotel Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at the downtown Cleveland Hampton Inn when we were in town for an Elvis Costello concert at the Palace Theatre. Although the Hampton is not right at Playhouse Square, it's easy walking distance, as evidence by others who took the same route we took from the Square to the Hampton after the concert. The staff was friendly and attentive and the our room was clean and well-appointed. Although this is not a full-service hotel like some of the higher-end facilities in downtown Cleveland, they do have a beer and wine lounge, which we didn't use. The free wifi, which Hamptons typically offer is a nice touch, and the breakfast was typical Hampton Inn fare -- nothing fancy, but reliable and consistent. The beds were quite comfortable. One minor quibble is with what's apparently Hilton's corporate policy of now leaving "Your bed and bed coverings are clean and ready" post-it notes on the headboards. Frankly, it looks tacky, and we found the same thing at another Hampton Inn at which we stayed a couple of weeks ago. This Hampton is a doable walking distance to Playhouse Square, but it's even more conveniently located with respect to the downtown sports facilities. In fact, we met a number of people on their way back from the Indians' game. Decent prices, nice comfortable rooms, and a good location -- we'd unquestionably stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a decent view, ask for a room that faces east or north. West faces directly into an off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for sharing feedback on your experience at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown. We’re pleased to hear our clean hotel, friendly staff, and convenient location made for an enjoyable stay. We look forward to seeing you again!
Best,
Michael Reidy, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    219
    65
    35
    21
See reviews for
151
167
42
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Uniontown, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I would like to commend the security office who was on duty that night as he was professional and pleasant to deal with regarding our experience. However, the woman who claimed to be the night manager was extremely rude and unaccommodating. Two of our guests came back to the hotel much earlier in the night and checked-in at that time. They both fell asleep. When the rest of us came back to check in the doors were locked (understandably), but we were told there was nothing that could be done because we didn't have a key to the room. The guy working valet (at 2 in the morning) was completely out of line adding his two cents at every opportunity escalating the situation. The "manager" had the worst attitude I've ever encountered when dealing with someone in the customer service industry. I requested the number for corporate during the incident and she claimed to not have it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Anthony P,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. As I'm sure you can understand the privacy and security of our guests is taken very seriously. When we called the room you requested on the telephone there was no answer indicating no one was in the room. Without prior authorization from the registered guest of the room we are unable to issue additional keys as your name was not on the reservation, we were given no record of your name at any time. At that hour in the morning we do our best to keep a quiet environment and not disturb our guests, however, at your request security did go to the room and knocked on the door several times waking up the rest of your party. I'm glad that security was able to wake the rest of your party to reunite you once again. If you would like to discuss with me directly please call 216.241.6600.

Thank you,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Everyone I interacted with in the hotel was kind and courteous. The breakfast was okay (fruit, coffee, oatmeal, cereal selection, eggs, breakfast potatoes, bagels, waffles, juice), but there was not quite enough tables during the rush time. The room itself was clean and cozy and the bed was SO comfortable. The hotel is located near tons of restaurants and the life of Downtown cleveland - the breweries were a quick 7-10 minute cab ride away, which was very inexpensive. Overall, I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
AnnieRoser27,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is so nice to hear you were able to get a good night’s sleep and enjoy some of the local culture and breweries that Downtown Cleveland has to offer. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Great staff, very welcoming. Walking distance to Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, Progressive Park, Restaurants and Casino. Older hotel that has had a very good remodel. Free hot breakfast is good. High rate to park.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Loram1243,
Thank you for your review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the staff and the convenient location. We appreciate you choosing the Hampton Inn for your trip to Downtown Cleveland. Please visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My family and I very much enjoyed our stay at Hampton Inn (four nights). We stayed in room 1508 - high enough to avoid any street noise and to get a good view of the beautiful church across the street. We were directly across from the elevators and were never once bothered by them. The room was a good size, very clean, comfortable beds (love the duvets!), fresh linens, nice pillows, ample storage, modern decor, nice bathroom, very friendly staff. We called on the first night to ask for a mini fridge for our room and it was delivered with a smile in less than five minutes, free of charge. The included breakfast is great - not just cold cereal and stale muffins like you get some places, but real, hot food, including bacon, sausage, eggs, omelets, oatmeal, waffles, toast, bagels, yogurt, etc., along with a variety of juices, coffee, and milk. Even their bagged breakfasts for people on the go are good. Valet staff was very friendly at drop-off and pick-up. Many attractions within walking distance, and several cab companies available when you need to go a little further. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, from the front desk clerk to those serving breakfast to the woman who kept our room clean (thank you!). Would love to visit Cleveland again, and would definitely stay here, no hesitation!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Jessica S,
Many thanks for your complimentary review of Hampton Inn Cleveland. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, along with the level of service, comfort, and convenience that our hotel has to offer. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope you'll have an opportunity to return. Thanks again!

Kind regards,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This place is a classic Hampton with a great location. Easy walking distance to the lake, Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, Baseball & Football Stadiums, restaurants, etc. Valet parking is $20 per 24 hours - not too bad for downtown.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
CJT1997,
We're happy to hear from you and glad you enjoyed all the conveniences that our great location has to offer. We appreciate you review and hope to see you again soon. Thanks again!

Kind regards,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
350 helpful votes 350 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

The hotel his right downtown, but has easy access to 90 and 71 if you are going out to Oberlin or over to Case Western. The restaurant district is a 10 minute walk and the museum district is about 15 mins by car or train. valet parking was very quick, and worth the $20/night. The hotel had clearly trained all staff as everyone was helpful and courteous. The breakfast staff were really efficient and pleasant as it was crazy crowded on the Saturday morning and they kept everything running smoothly in an unusually compact space for such a large hotel. There is no insight restaurant and the bar is pretty sad. The bartender (beer & wine) does his best with the corner they gave him. He greets everyone and is welcoming, but it isn't a bar that offers drinks or food. I would stay again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Gemma'smum,
Sincere thanks for writing a review from your visit to Hampton Inn Cleveland. I look forward to sharing your kind comments with our staff and thank you for recognizing their excellence in service. We're happy to have had you as our guest and hope to welcome you back again soon. Thanks again!

Kind regards,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate in comfortable and convenient hotels in Cleveland, Ohio at the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown, located 13 miles from Cleveland-Hopkins International Airport. This hotel in downtown Cleveland is perfectly situated near the greatest attractions that Cleveland has to offer. Visit the Playhouse Square Theater District, or catch a Cleveland Browns or Indians game during your visit. Enjoy a day of fun at The Greater Cleveland Aquarium, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Horseshoe Casino or visit Cleveland's financial district, all within walking distance from the hotel.Start your day right with our free hot breakfast and unwind in the evening at our lobby bar, open Monday through Saturday from 5.00pm to 11.00pm. Stay connected in our 24-hour business center and enjoy complimentary high-speed internet access in every guest room. The fitness center features cardio and weight equipment to help you maintain your healthy lifestyle. The Suite Shop is available 24-hours for snacks and beverages. Among downtown Cleveland hotels, you’ll find the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown is close to it all but far from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.