We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase
Ranked #6 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Write a Review

588 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    248
    219
    65
    35
    21
See reviews for
151
165
42
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I struggle with this review. Generally a place is either just terrible or fantastic, occasionally terrible with great staff or a mix. This place isn't bad at all. It's clean, quiet and the beds are comfortable - generally the most important for a good nights sleep.

The staff from the front desk to the on-duty manager were fantastic.(I never asked to speak to a manager, she took it on herself to call me, which I appreciate).

So - the problem here is room design. The rooms are your typical design, walk in the door, bathroom off to the side and a big room with bed, TV and dresser at the foot of bed and a chair next to the bed. What's wrong is there is NO desk next to that TV/small dresser. There is a big open wall with a lamp and cord running along the wall. The exterior wall where you generally have a window and a chair or something has a narrow built in closet and a little alcove with a waist high table in it. This is your desk. So you have a desk chair and a tall table where, as I type for 10 minutes, my arms hurt from typing so high up.

Terrible terrible design, whomever designed this should not be designing hotel rooms. It is going to be a terrible 2 days here trying to work in this room. I will add however, they did actually add a box on the night stand with extra outlets and USB ports - kudos for that.

Staff A+++. Room design, pitiful. If you are a business traveler and need to actually work comfortably while in Cleveland. Avoid this hotel. If it's a leisure trip, go for it - I recommend.

I would give them 5 stars just for the friendly staff but as a business traveler who needs to spend some time working in my room the next 2 days it's 1 star, I pulled it up to a 2 to be nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Ron M,
Thank you for writing. I appreciate you acknowledging the excellent service delivered by our staff, even though the room design failed to meet your expectations. Your feedback is important to us and assists in our mission to continuously improve our guest experience. We're very sorry for the inconveniences you encountered and hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yfc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Nice clean rooms, great location for rock n roll hal of fame, progressive field(baseball) and football stadium. Close to public transit. Great breakfast and friendly staff, especially Mohamed always smiling and making sure that you are enjoying your time.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
baseballtraveller1,
We appreciate you writing a review about your stay at Hampton Inn Cleveland. Thank you especially for recognizing Mohamed's sincere hospitality, your kind comments will make his day. We're glad you enjoyed our great location and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Clair Shores, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The hotel was within walking distance from several restaurants and the Gateway area. If you want to stay in Downtown Cleveland this is the place to stay. Valet parking made the trip easy and they offer packages that include parking.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Geneva O,
Thank you for sharing feedback and your recommendations of Hampton Inn Cleveland. It's great to know our location and services perfectly suited your travel needs. We hope you'll return for another visit again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Kind regards,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Prices beat other nearby hotels. Perfect location within walking distance of eateries, cinema, tower city, etc. Public parking available next door. Fitness center could have been better although it was clean and towels and water were available.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Menna D,
Thank you for selecting Hampton Inn Cleveland. We appreciate your review and feedback on the value that we have to offer at our hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We always stay at a Hampton inn while traveling and have never been disappointed until now. The hotel itself was fine...clean and typical of a Hampton Inn. Our disappointment was with the receptionist at the front desk. She was very unfriendly and when we asked for a suggestion for nearby restaurant she hardly looked up and said, "go out the front door, go right and walk 3 blocks". That was it! Second incident was when I called down for help getting on the Internet and her tone was unfriendly and very impatient with me for not understanding. I just hung up. Hotel great....staff gets an F.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Ellie H,
Thank you for writing. I appreciate your honest feedback and sincerely apologize that you did not receive the exceptional service that our guests deserve and expect. Your comments have been addressed with our front office team in order to make improvements and provide consistent, friendly service. We value you as our guest and we hope you'll visit us the next time you're in the area and experience a higher level of customer service. Thank you again.

Kind regards,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Cleveland... If you have to go there then stay here. Staff was very courteous and helpful. Rooms were a step above the normal Hampton experience. The location is great if you are visiting a bank or getting free money from the Fed next door. It's about five blocks from good food. Phoenix Coffee is one block away and it is amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
John K,
We appreciate your review and recommendations of Hampton Inn Cleveland. It's great to hear our staff was courteous and helpful throughout your stay, and you found our accommodations to exceed your expectations. Please continue to make us your number once choice hotel in Cleveland. We hope to see you back very soon. Thanks again.

Kind regards,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate in comfortable and convenient hotels in Cleveland, Ohio at the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown, located 13 miles from Cleveland-Hopkins International Airport. This hotel in downtown Cleveland is perfectly situated near the greatest attractions that Cleveland has to offer. Visit the Playhouse Square Theater District, or catch a Cleveland Browns or Indians game during your visit. Enjoy a day of fun at The Greater Cleveland Aquarium, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Horseshoe Casino or visit Cleveland's financial district, all within walking distance from the hotel.Start your day right with our free hot breakfast and unwind in the evening at our lobby bar, open Monday through Saturday from 5.00pm to 11.00pm. Stay connected in our 24-hour business center and enjoy complimentary high-speed internet access in every guest room. The fitness center features cardio and weight equipment to help you maintain your healthy lifestyle. The Suite Shop is available 24-hours for snacks and beverages. Among downtown Cleveland hotels, you’ll find the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown is close to it all but far from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.