We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Peekskill, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We always stay at a Hampton inn while traveling and have never been disappointed until now. The hotel itself was fine...clean and typical of a Hampton Inn. Our disappointment was with the receptionist at the front desk. She was very unfriendly and when we asked for a suggestion for nearby restaurant she hardly looked up and said, "go out the front door, go right and walk 3 blocks". That was it! Second incident was when I called down for help getting on the Internet and her tone was unfriendly and very impatient with me for not understanding. I just hung up. Hotel great....staff gets an F.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Ellie H,
Thank you for writing. I appreciate your honest feedback and sincerely apologize that you did not receive the exceptional service that our guests deserve and expect. Your comments have been addressed with our front office team in order to make improvements and provide consistent, friendly service. We value you as our guest and we hope you'll visit us the next time you're in the area and experience a higher level of customer service. Thank you again.

Kind regards,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    249
    70
    37
    22
See reviews for
161
202
48
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Huron, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Cleveland... If you have to go there then stay here. Staff was very courteous and helpful. Rooms were a step above the normal Hampton experience. The location is great if you are visiting a bank or getting free money from the Fed next door. It's about five blocks from good food. Phoenix Coffee is one block away and it is amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
John K,
We appreciate your review and recommendations of Hampton Inn Cleveland. It's great to hear our staff was courteous and helpful throughout your stay, and you found our accommodations to exceed your expectations. Please continue to make us your number once choice hotel in Cleveland. We hope to see you back very soon. Thanks again.

Kind regards,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed here for two weeks. The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. I've never felt so at-home in a hotel in my whole life. The room was quiet, spacious, clean, and modern. The breakfast was really good (yay waffles!) and the exercise room was well equipped and had clean towels and free earbuds.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame is just a few blocks away. Walking a few minutes the other direction will get you downtown with shops and restaurants. The hotel is in a neighborhood with grand old buildings from Cleveland's heyday. This place is awesome!

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have much sunlight because they face a building next door. All the rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
EthanJewett,
Thank you for reflecting on your time with us at Hampton Inn Cleveland. We're pleased to know our friendly staff, clean rooms, and variety of amenities made you feel right at home. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you again.

Kind regards,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The hotel itself would rate a 3.5 with me, but, the staff rocks.
Everyone is constantly asking if I need anything, without being pushy at all.
Very friendly.
Hotel is very clean.
Rooms are just a bit noisy (hallway and door closing noise), but, not terrible. I run a noise app on my cell so it did not affect me.
Breakfast we not bad, but, it is a Hampton Inn (not an Embassy - yummiest).
Would recommend this location for sure if you are looking at downtown Cleveland.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Douglas H,
Thank you for your recommendations of our hotel and feedback on the excellent service delivered by our staff at Hampton Inn Cleveland. I appreciate your compliments and look forward to sharing your review with our team. Each member will be excited to hear that their attentive service had a positive impact on your stay. We value your feedback on all areas and hope to have you as our guest again in the future. Thank you once again for writing.

Kind regards,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great location in downtown area. Close to lots of activities: Q arena, Tower City, Hard Rock, Rock & Roll Hall of Fame & Museum of Natural History. Room was comfortable, clean & had a great view of the cathedral. (Church bells/chimes didn't bother us.) Valet is pretty much required & additional ($20) as is in most or all downtown hotels in big cities. $20 is pretty reasonable when compared to other cities' hotels. I've paid $50 in NY. I've also paid close to $20 for self parking in Orlando. The valet attendants were superior to most hotels. (Attentive, quick even when busy, friendly, professional & great with providing directions.) Roy also was very pleasant & provided excellent customer service. Mohamed was nice & quick to help with our luggage. Front desk staff at evening check in on a Friday night was adequate but not overly friendly. Front desk staff on Saturday morning & Sunday evening was very welcoming. Breakfast was standard Hampton, good, fully stocked (not like other locations where many guests stand by waiting for food to be replenished ), breakfast attendant was wonderful & kind. Housekeeping did not replenish bath amenities, cups, etc. 1 day of our stay. (Our only possible very minor complaint.) However, towels were changed & room was always very clean. Wished the room had a microwave & mini-fridge but still would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
el52095,
We greatly appreciate your review and high recommendations of Hampton Inn Cleveland. We're glad our close proximity to many area attractions perfectly suited your travels needs and it's great to know you enjoyed a comfortable stay. I apologize for the oversight of replenished amenities and thank you for bringing this concern to my attention so we can work to prevent this from occurring in the future. I appreciate you recognizing Roy and Mohamed on the excellent service each delivered, and I will be certain to share your kind comments. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to see you again soon. Thanks again.

Kind regards,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great hotel, the rooms were very nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. A very nice hot continental breakfast. Walking distance to many attractions. I would definitely stay here again, and will be recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
dobee21,
Thank you for writing a review and sharing your recommendations of our great hotel to your friends. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay, along with our downtown location and complimentary breakfast. We hope to see you again soon at Hampton Inn Cleveland.

Kind regards,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#7 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate in comfortable and convenient hotels in Cleveland, Ohio at the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown, located 13 miles from Cleveland-Hopkins International Airport. This hotel in downtown Cleveland is perfectly situated near the greatest attractions that Cleveland has to offer. Visit the Playhouse Square Theater District, or catch a Cleveland Browns or Indians game during your visit. Enjoy a day of fun at The Greater Cleveland Aquarium, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Horseshoe Casino or visit Cleveland's financial district, all within walking distance from the hotel.Start your day right with our free hot breakfast and unwind in the evening at our lobby bar, open Monday through Saturday from 5.00pm to 11.00pm. Stay connected in our 24-hour business center and enjoy complimentary high-speed internet access in every guest room. The fitness center features cardio and weight equipment to help you maintain your healthy lifestyle. The Suite Shop is available 24-hours for snacks and beverages. Among downtown Cleveland hotels, you’ll find the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown is close to it all but far from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.