We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated well and very clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rock Hall of Fame Package
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Treated well and very clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Very pleasant staff, clean rooms, location is great. We had gone to the West side Mkt. and had our goodies..meats, snacks. Sent up a refrigerator for us. Loved the room.
Would totally stay there again, great breakfast but bad bar.Not much of anything in stock. Next time we will will skip the bar . Great location for the "Rock & Roll Hall of Fame." Just took a maybe 10min walk, if that long. Would stay again, talked to many who stay there every time they visit Cleveland. Good choice!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
sharon528,
Thank you for writing a review from your Hampton Inn Cleveland experience. We appreciate you recognizing our strengths in service while providing us some areas of opportunity. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    330
    92
    47
    30
See reviews for
224
253
57
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Have stayed at the Hampton several times, which started out as a convenience as it's close to where I work when in town, but has turned out to be a rather pleasant experience. The staff are extremely polite and go out of their way for their guests. The breakfast is great and the happy hour in the lobby certainly doesn't hurt. All in all a nice little stay at a comfortable price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Michael G,
We appreciate your review and return visits with us at Hampton Inn Cleveland. It's wonderful to know you chose our hotel out of convenience, but continue to stay with us for the hospitality and amenities that consistently make for a pleasant experience. We're happy to have you as our guest and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you again for writing.


Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Almost everything about this hotel is great. The room, wifi, free breakfast, location, are all at least 9/10. Absolutely, the only problem is the slow valet service. There are only 2. The valet rate is $20/day. For some reason managers don't help during the morning surge, so you wait 20+ minutes.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Marcus B,
Thank you for writing a review from your visit to Hampton Inn Cleveland. It's great to know our accommodations, amenities, and location met your satisfaction. I am very sorry for any inconveniences you experienced with the valet service. Please know I have shared your comments with our valet company in order to improve service. We value you as our guest and hope you will visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MACOMB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this location two months ago, and were so impressed we again chose to stay here this past weekend.

The facility is in a great location, very secure, modern and updated, and very clean. The employees are friendly, and accommodating. One employee however stands out from all others, and should be a role-model for all organizations (not just Hampton) in friendly customer service.

The employee's name is Mohamed. When I left the room to go down for breakfast, Mohamed was waiting for the elevator as well. He greeted me with a "good morning" and asked how my stay was. I said "great - which was true of course". but he surprised me by saying that if he could make it any better - to let him know. He asked where I was from, and how the weather was back home. Upon leaving breakfast, Mohamed rode up to the guest rooms with several guests and I, and he greeted everyone and asked similar questions and was very gracious to everyone.

It is my belief that you cannot train someone to exhibit this type of customer service, hospitality and friendliness. It is a combination of training, work ethic, respect and a great personality.

This Hampton location is lucky to have him - but I think we can benefit the Hampton chain to a larger scale. He should not be asked to train anyone, but he should be a role model for all employees. New hires should be required to send a few days with him.

Congrats on a great location, great stay and a great employee.

Todd M.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
T M,
We appreciate your return visit and thank you for sharing reflections from your experience. Mohamed's genuine passion for exemplary customer service leads him to enhance each guest's visit, making him an essential part of our team. I look forward to sharing your complimentary feedback and will make sure Mohamed is recognized with a special commendation for his sincere hospitality. We appreciate you taking the time to share your kind comments. We hope to welcome you and your wife as our guests again soon at Hampton Inn Cleveland.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I travel every week and mostly stay at Hampton Inns and am a Hilton Diamond member. The greeting was friendly enough but I had to ask for my complimentary water and snack. I walked by the front desk at breakfast each morning, as I left the hotel for the office, return from the office and to and from dinner. I was neve acknowledged by the staff at the front desk. Typically they were to busy talking to one another. Probably would not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Terry T,
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your stay. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand and we sincerely apologize that you did not receive the exceptional level of service you've come to expect from us. Your valuable comments have been addressed with our staff and improvements will be made to ensure each guest has a rewarding stay. We hope you will give us another chance the next time you travel to Cleveland on business. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I've stayed here several times over the past five years.
Consistently clean & friendly. Both the hotel staff & the valet staff are pleasant and personable.
Location works well for walking to local attractions as well as a quick jaunt to the Cleveland Clinic.
These folks take good care of patients.

My family and I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Brennon O,
We appreciate your review and continued patronage over the past five years at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown. It's fantastic to know we consistently deliver friendly service and clean accommodations during your visits. Please continue to make us your number one choice hotel in Cleveland. Thank you again for your review and high recommendations of our great hotel.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Great rooms and amenities including homemade breakfast that everyone can enjoy. Beds are comfortable enough for a toddler to settle down and go to sleep. Staff is friendly and helpful. The location in downtown Cleveland is perfect to experience the city sites and the lake.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Sabrina O,
Thank you for writing a review from your Hampton Inn Cleveland experience. We're glad our comfortable accommodations, friendly staff, and breakfast selection made for an enjoyable stay as your home away from home. Please visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#9 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#10 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate in comfortable and convenient hotels in Cleveland, Ohio at the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown, located 13 miles from Cleveland-Hopkins International Airport. This hotel in downtown Cleveland is perfectly situated near the greatest attractions that Cleveland has to offer. Visit the Playhouse Square Theater District, or catch a Cleveland Browns or Indians game during your visit. Enjoy a day of fun at The Greater Cleveland Aquarium, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Horseshoe Casino or visit Cleveland's financial district, all within walking distance from the hotel.Start your day right with our free hot breakfast and unwind in the evening at our lobby bar, open Monday through Saturday from 5.00pm to 11.00pm. Stay connected in our 24-hour business center and enjoy complimentary high-speed internet access in every guest room. The fitness center features cardio and weight equipment to help you maintain your healthy lifestyle. The Suite Shop is available 24-hours for snacks and beverages. Among downtown Cleveland hotels, you’ll find the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown is close to it all but far from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.