We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, pleasant staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Sterling Heights, MI
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, pleasant staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I chose this because it was within walking distance of my customer. I arrived on a very snowy night. The valet carefully explained the parking situation (valet only, $20, billed to room) and gave me a rather disappointed look when I handed him only a dollar tip. It was freezing outside and I didn't want to take the time to get change, but I felt bad for not being a little more generous. The next day, I bumped into another diner at breakfast (literally) and knocked some food out of his hands. I was about to mop up and the breakfast attendant smiled and said, "Ma'am, that's my job - I'll do it." I left my car at the Hampton all day and walked back from my meeting, again in a snowstorm. While waiting for my car, I handed a couple extra bucks to the guy who had parked my vehicle the night before. I explained I hadn't had any more singles. He gave me a broad smile and thanked me. I was pleased the hotel front desk let me store my bag all day, too.

Room Tip: I was in 1511. The high floor makes it quiet from a street-noise perspective, but the rooms numbered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
professordoctormom,
Thank you for writing a review and sharing feedback from your stay with us at Hampton Inn Cleveland. We're happy to have had you as our guest, and we're glad our staff's service and sincere hospitality made for a pleasant stay. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again in the future. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    257
    72
    38
    23
See reviews for
167
211
48
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indiana, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Overall the facilities are average. Room was clean, but hallways were dingy. Plus: It's near the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. Minus: There are few restaurants open over the weekend and hotel directory of restaurants that deliver is inaccurate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Paul O,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your stay. It's great to know our clean accommodations and close proximity to Rock & Roll Hall of Fame met your satisfaction. Your feedback is important to us and we will take your comments into consideration for improving our property and overall guest experience. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Not too bad. but not top of the line either. The staff was very helpful. Fairly typical Hampton Inn breakfast. Fruit was fresh and good. Housekeeping was very good. I feel that I got my money's worth. Minor nits, like the elevators being slow and one not working. This hotel is very convenient to everything downtown. I'd really say this is not quite a "4" but definitely on the order of "3.75."

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
throckmortonSanaa,
Thank you for writing. We always appreciate hearing from our guests on positive feedback, as well as areas we can enhance guest satisfaction. We're glad you enjoyed your stay overall and found our helpful staff, clean accommodations, and convenient location well suited for your travels. We hope you'll return for another visit in the future. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete, FL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night so that we could visit the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame on Sunday. Parking is valet only for $20, but we could keep the car with them through Sunday, and there was no problem having them bring it around so we could stow our luggage after checking out. The location was great...about four blocks to the Hall, and also walking distance to Progressive Field, First Energy Stadium, and a number of restaurants and lounges.

The check-in staff was friendly and helpful. The room was not huge, but definitely spacious enough. Everything was clean and looked well maintained. The king size bed was comfortable. Breakfast buffet was included. And the price was reasonable as well. I would certainly stay here again on any future visit to Cleveland.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
MichaelR86,
Thank you for writing a review from your stay with us at Hampton Inn Cleveland. We're glad you enjoyed a comfortable stay and found our location, accommodations, and service to meet your expectations. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Recently, we spent the weekend in Cleveland. The check-in staff were awesome and very helpful. The room decor, bathrooms, and overall appearance of the hotel was very nice. The breakfast was tasty and nicely done. The downtown casino was an easy 10 minute walk. I would have no reservations with staying at this hotel when I return to Cleveland.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
cessnapilot2,
Thank you writing a review from your recent stay with us at Hampton Inn Cleveland. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, our friendly staff, and convenient location. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ortonville, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This hotel, for being in the heart of downtown Cleveland is very reasonably priced and offers a nice breakfast, friendly staff, clean / quiet rooms, all in a safe location. It was perfect for the two weeks I visited Cleveland for business purposes. A++

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Matthew F,
We appreciate you selecting Hampton Inn Cleveland for your business travels, and we thank you for sharing your experience. I'm pleased to know our friendly staff, great location, and value added amenities made for an enjoyable stay. Please plan to visit us the next time you travel to Cleveland. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Hotel has a great location within walking distance of major attractions and convenient to public transportation; staff very friendly and helpful. Great value for the money. Highly recommended and would stay at this location again when traveling to Cleveland.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
A TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you for your review and high recommendations of Hampton Inn Cleveland. We're pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay, along with our friendly staff, central location, and the value added amenities that we're proud to offer our guests. We hope to extend our hospitality to you again soon. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#7 Business Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Family Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate in comfortable and convenient hotels in Cleveland, Ohio at the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown, located 13 miles from Cleveland-Hopkins International Airport. This hotel in downtown Cleveland is perfectly situated near the greatest attractions that Cleveland has to offer. Visit the Playhouse Square Theater District, or catch a Cleveland Browns or Indians game during your visit. Enjoy a day of fun at The Greater Cleveland Aquarium, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Horseshoe Casino or visit Cleveland's financial district, all within walking distance from the hotel.Start your day right with our free hot breakfast and unwind in the evening at our lobby bar, open Monday through Saturday from 5.00pm to 11.00pm. Stay connected in our 24-hour business center and enjoy complimentary high-speed internet access in every guest room. The fitness center features cardio and weight equipment to help you maintain your healthy lifestyle. The Suite Shop is available 24-hours for snacks and beverages. Among downtown Cleveland hotels, you’ll find the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown is close to it all but far from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.