We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Budget Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Oxford, NC
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Nice Budget Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Hampton Inn Downtown is a nice, centrally located budget hotel. Our room was a little small and dark and the furniture was arranged in an unusual way - the desk and closet was right beside the bed which made it cramped. Everything worked properly so we had no problems. One of the elevators was broken for our entire stay, despite assurances that it was going to be fixed. The free hot breakfast was not cooked, only heated, and so it was vile. The coffee was great, however. The front desk staff was pleasant and attentive. I would recommend this hotel because of its price and location.

Room Tip: Get a room on the side away from the church for more quiet (but you will have no view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
NCSmokey,
We're happy to hear from you and receive feedback from your stay with us at Hampton Inn Cleveland. We appreciate your recommendations of our hotel to future travelers, and we're glad our central location and attentive service added value to your stay. It's unfortunate to hear about your disappointment with the breakfast service. Please know that your comments are being addressed with our staff to assure we're maintaining the highest safety standards for our food. Thank you once again for writing. We hope you'll visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    255
    72
    37
    23
See reviews for
166
206
48
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend. Nice place ... comfortable ... clean ... well located (walkable to R&R Hall of Fame, convention center, restaurants, stadiums, waterfront) ... excellent customer service ... decent breakfast with a lot of selection ... in-room amenities were good. All in all, a great place for the price! Every time we left our room, there was some staff person asking us how our stay was! Nice touch!
The only negative ... DO NOT USE THEIR VALET PARKING!! It's $20 a day. We found a local parking structure for $13 weekdays/$5 weekend days. Much better! Just be careful that the off-site lot allows overnight parking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
connieandmark,
We appreciate you selecting Hampton Inn Cleveland for your weekend visit. We’re glad you enjoyed a comfortable stay and found our excellent service, clean accommodations, and great location to meet your expectations. Your feedback is valuable to us so we’re happy to hear from you. Thank you again for writing. We hope you’ll visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great location! The hotel was clean and was in a great location if you were to stay a couple of nights. Close to the R&R hall of fame and plenty of great places to grab a bite. If you decide to have a late one there is a church across the street- while beautiful, the bells do chime so maybe ask for the non-church side. Again, great location for downtown, eating and easy access driving in and out of the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
A TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you for writing a review regarding your overnight stay with us at Hampton Inn Cleveland. We're glad you had a pleasant stay and found our great location to offer many dining and entertainment options. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the Cleveland area. Thanks again.

Best regards,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.ohio
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

was very happy with the hotel. Room comfortable and clean. Staff very nice and accommodating. I would stay here again next time we are in Cleveland. Close to convention center. Felt safe walking there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
pathfinderwavohio,
It's fantastic to hear of your comfortable stay, and appreciation of our staff at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown. We're glad our clean accommodations and central location met your satisfaction. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Best regards,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was happy how easy it was to get to the hotel from airport: Red Line to Tower City, and less than a 10 minute walk straight down the street (on Superior) to 9th. The location can't be beat: easy walk to Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, the stadium, and public transportation (which, by the way, is cheap: $5 for a day pass on busses and trains, including the airport).
The best part of my stay was that we got to the hotel at 9am after flying overnight and they let us check in! It was great to have a shower and rest a bit before heading out!
Service was great, everything was clean, and I thought it was a value considering the prices of others in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
lvpassport,
Thank you for sharing your great review regarding your experience at Hampton Inn Cleveland. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us, and we're glad our convenient location, clean accommodations, and excellent service made for an enjoyable stay. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again in the near future. Thank you again.

Best regards,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison Twp, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Was leery about previous reviews when I booked this location - there were complaints about remodeling and such. There was no construction or mess and everything looked updated. Breakfast was quality with a variety of hot choices, fresh fruit, and great coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Lora A,
Thank you for taking the time to share your Hampton Inn Cleveland experience. We're happy to have exceeded your expectations, and it's great to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We hope to have an opportunity to extend our hospitality to you again in the near future. Thanks again.

Best regards,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night for a work trip and found the staff to be very friendly, from the front desk, to maid service personnel, to breakfast manager, I actually was pleasantly surprised, you just don't get that much of a consistent positive service experience anywhere anymore. The gym was updated and clean as well as entire hotel, I would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Jen O,
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown during your business trip. We appreciate you sharing feedback on your positive experience, and we're pleased to hear our staff exceeded your expectations with their excellence in customer service. I look forward to sharing your kind comments with our entire staff. Thank you again for writing and sharing your recommendations of our great hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#8 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate in comfortable and convenient hotels in Cleveland, Ohio at the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown, located 13 miles from Cleveland-Hopkins International Airport. This hotel in downtown Cleveland is perfectly situated near the greatest attractions that Cleveland has to offer. Visit the Playhouse Square Theater District, or catch a Cleveland Browns or Indians game during your visit. Enjoy a day of fun at The Greater Cleveland Aquarium, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Horseshoe Casino or visit Cleveland's financial district, all within walking distance from the hotel.Start your day right with our free hot breakfast and unwind in the evening at our lobby bar, open Monday through Saturday from 5.00pm to 11.00pm. Stay connected in our 24-hour business center and enjoy complimentary high-speed internet access in every guest room. The fitness center features cardio and weight equipment to help you maintain your healthy lifestyle. The Suite Shop is available 24-hours for snacks and beverages. Among downtown Cleveland hotels, you’ll find the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown is close to it all but far from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Reservation Counter, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.