We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Mistake On the Lake Here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
Centerville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“No Mistake On the Lake Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Downtown hotels everywhere can be pricey and this is no exception, but we were there for a wedding and got a discount. The registration desk is small, which leaves more room for the breakfast area and a morning spread that was a cut above (at least the morning we were there). Our room had a view down the street to the lake, the bathroom was spacious and the bed and pillows so very comfortable. True, there is no parking on-site, so you have to pay the $20 valet fee, but the hotel is close to a number of eateries and attractions and The Flats area is only 5-8 minutes driving time away. We expected to take a cab to Sammy's, but the doorman contacted a car service instead, which turned out to be very affordable and run by a young man who was personable and accommodating. The bar was open and well attended late into the evening. Warning: 2013 must be national construction year everywhere because orange barrel detours abound in Cleveland as well and you have to stay alert to navigate the detour signs.

Room Tip: As always, stay away from the elevator bank. The end of the hall tends to be quieter than other loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
jettan,
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your experience with us at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay, our great breakfast selections, as well as our spacious and comfortable accommodations. It’s great to hear our central location afforded you an opportunity to explore the night life in Cleveland. We’re happy to have had you as our guest and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Kind regards,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    242
    67
    36
    21
See reviews for
159
190
45
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

One of the reasons I chose this Hampton Inn was because the lobby bar was supposed to be pleasant, relaxing, and accommodating for the single traveler. When I got there, the bar was closed, the front desk clerk seemed to not know why or for how long it would be closed. She did apologize, and told me a customer has just "cussed her out" for this reason and for the valet parking being $20 (which was ridculous too - made me feel I'd been taken advantage of - parking for your hotel should be complimentary - shame on Hampton Inn!). I felt sorry for the poor girl (she was very nice), but it made me feel badly towards Hampton Inn for placing their employee in this situation. She said I could buy a bottle of Miller Lite for $5 apiece (that REALLY annoyed me - advertised bar is closed and bottled beer in a help-yourself cooler is ridiculously overpriced). The room was very nice, but overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Donna M,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize for the disappointment you experienced with the bar being closed but we do not offer lounge hours on Sundays. As I’m sure you know parking in a downtown environment can have its challenges. There are several area parking lots that are open to the public but unfortunately not all of them are secured or have covered parking as our valet lot does. Your feedback is important to us as we are continuously looking for ways to offer enhanced services for our guest’s comfort and convenience while keeping costs low. Next time you’re in town we’d love to have you as our guest and we can direct you towards some of the local bars and or lounges for your enjoyment.

Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Hotel seemed to have been recently refreshed. Room and bath were clean and stylish. Convenient to Rock Hall & riverfront as well as Jacobs Field and restaurant district. Free wireless, breakfast. Valet parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Julie M,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hampton Inn Cleveland. We appreciate you taking that time to write a review about your experience. It’s great to know you enjoyed our clean and stylish rooms, as well as our convenient location to many dining options and area attractions. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

was travelling on business, other business associates were to stay here and asked me to stay at same hotel.hotel room was dull & furnishings were Dark wood. NO parking available had to use valet parking at cost of $20 per day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
n1sff,
Thank you for writing a review. We appreciate you and your associates choosing to stay with us while traveling on business. We apologize for your discontent with the valet parking and we’re sorry to hear the accommodations were not to your liking. Your feedback is important to us. We value you as our guest and hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you travel to Cleveland. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel and were very pleased. The staff was friendly, the breakfast was good, and the rooms were clean and quiet. Just about everything downtown was within walking distance, from Progressive field to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. Nice Place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Robin L,
We’re happy to hear from you, and we’re glad you had a pleasant stay with us at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown. It’s great to receive your kind comments about our friendly staff, clean rooms and convenient location. We hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Clean rooms, unbeatable breakfast, wonderful staff! Was treated like royalty. The staff was extremely helpful and the internet was fast. I would definitely return. I also liked the fitness room. it was not too big, but had ample equipment

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
David H,
We appreciate your review and complimentary feedback on our great hotel. I'm pleased to hear our clean rooms, delicious breakfast, and wonderful staff made for an enjoyable stay. I’ll be certain to pass along your complimentary feedback to our team. Please plan to visit us again soon at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel was perfectly located for our needs, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Progressive field. Both were easily within walking distance, (the furthest maybe a 15 minute walk...Hall of Fame). The people of Cleveland, as well as, the Hampton staff, were very friendly and polite. The breakfast in the front of the hotel was very good, and the food very fresh. The coffee was the best I've had at a hotel in some time, if that matters to any one. lol I would visit Cleveland again and make the Hampton Inn my first choice when selecting a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Nick C,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown. I’m pleased to hear our hotel was perfectly located for your needs and you found our staff friendly and polite during your stay. We appreciate you making us your number one choice hotel in Cleveland and we hope to see you soon. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#9 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate in comfortable and convenient hotels in Cleveland, Ohio at the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown, located 13 miles from Cleveland-Hopkins International Airport. This hotel in downtown Cleveland is perfectly situated near the greatest attractions that Cleveland has to offer. Visit the Playhouse Square Theater District, or catch a Cleveland Browns or Indians game during your visit. Enjoy a day of fun at The Greater Cleveland Aquarium, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Horseshoe Casino or visit Cleveland's financial district, all within walking distance from the hotel.Start your day right with our free hot breakfast and unwind in the evening at our lobby bar, open Monday through Saturday from 5.00pm to 11.00pm. Stay connected in our 24-hour business center and enjoy complimentary high-speed internet access in every guest room. The fitness center features cardio and weight equipment to help you maintain your healthy lifestyle. The Suite Shop is available 24-hours for snacks and beverages. Among downtown Cleveland hotels, you’ll find the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown is close to it all but far from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.