We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean and Great HotelBut Not wifi is not free to everyone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase
Ranked #6 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Lewiston, Maine
1 review
“Very Clean and Great HotelBut Not wifi is not free to everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I thought the hotel was very clean and the service great. Caution Call ahead to find out how to get the free internet. It is not Free for everyone!! as advertised. Our room was clean and the bed was so comfortable. Valet is $20.00 plus tip, or you park on street.there is a garage but that cost the some amount as the valet. The pool is small but inside.

Room Tip: If you like a room with view then ask for a room on the 11 floor or above. very pretty view of the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
bumpylee,
Thank you for writing a review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Hampton Inn. I'm glad you found our hotel clean, service great, and room comfortable. We welcome you to come and visit us again the next time you're in Cleveland.
Sincerely,
Mike Reidy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    233
    66
    36
    21
See reviews for
158
180
43
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is an excellent, well-priced hotel in downtown Cleveland. My room (on the top floor) was very comfortable, clean and functional. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The breakfast room is excellent - much improved since the hotel's renovation last year. The hotel is located fairly close to an area that has several restaurants - off Superior Ave, there are a number of great restaurants (mexican, vietnamese, upscale italian, coffee shops, etc.). And a minor thing - the TV has probably one of the most extensive selection of channels compared to many hotels I stay at. Finally, while I did not try it - they have a bar off the lobby. This is rare for Hampton Inns, and a nice addition!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
cls4,
Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your pleasant stay with us at Hampton Inn. It sounds like you've stayed with us before so we welcome you back and appreciate your kind compliments. I'm pleased you liked our renovations, and I'm glad our delicious breakfast, convenient location, and wide channel selections were all positives for you! We hope you'll come and visit us again. Safe travels.
Sincerely,
Mike Reidy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and I were very pleased with the service, location and cleanliness. The room we had was large, comfortable and completly updated. The breakfast in the morning was above average with dozens of options/food selections hot and cold. We love to visit Cleveland for all of the obvious reasons and will again stay at the Hampton Inn. It is great to be 3 blocks from the bars and restaruants. The only drawback was the $20per night valet parking fee but we expect to pay for parking--much better/safer and easier than parking in NYC!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
opb154,
We're happy to hear from you and appreciate your kind review. I'm glad you and your wife had a nice time visiting Cleveland and especially enjoyed our hotel. We hope you'll make plans to visit us again. There are many great events planned in Cleveland this year, so we hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Mike Reidy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed here for a work conference. The conference was at the Marriott just 3 blocks down the road but I stayed here and saved well over $75. The complimentary breakfast was one of the best ones I have seen. The room was clean and inviting and free internet access was a plus and easy to connect. My only reason for giving it 4 instead of 5 stars is the air quality in the room. The heat/fan ran most of the night due to the cold weather but the air was incredibly dry. The bed was incredibly comfortable but I woke up at least 3 times during the night with an incredibly dry throat. One time I was having difficulty breathing/swallowing it was so dry. I'm not sure this would be something fixable as I've experience something similar in other hotels but was really my only complaint. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something with a downtown location. I know I will be coming back with the family to visit some local attractions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Tony P,
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Hampton Inn, and we're glad you enjoyed your visit. I'm pleased to hear that you liked our complimentary breakfast and found it to be one of your favorites. We hope you will return with your family and stay with us. There are many attractions within walking distance and Cleveland is a great town to visit. Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Mike Reidy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife and I took a weekend trip to Cleveland this weekend (1/18-1/20) and chose the Hampton Inn for its proximity to several of the main tourist attractions, etc. (You can walk to the science center, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, all of the sports stadiums) The valet parking was convenient given the blustery weather, the hotel's hallways and rooms were updated and the staff was friendly. On our second night, we had slamming doors and yelling in the hallways from 2-3:30 a.m. I kept hoping it would go away but should have called the front desk to complain.

When I mentioned it the next morning, the staff admitted they'd had a problem on a different floor and agreed that I should have let them know as they have security at night on the weekends. They suggested that they rarely if ever had problems during the week when the patrons are mostly business people.

The breakfast was typical Hampton Inn--my consistent gripe year after year is that when scrambled eggs are offered, they're pretty lackluster. The omelets are much better.

The price was right, the location was good, and other than the noisy neighbors and a squeaky bathroom door, everything was lovely. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
stonerjc,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you and your wife staying with us while visiting Cleveland. I hope you had a nice time visiting some of the nearby venues. I'm glad to hear that you liked our hotel and felt well received by our staff. I apologize for the noisy neighbors. If notified, we would have put a stop to it right away because we don't tolerate rowdiness that keeps other guests from getting a good night's sleep. We hope you and your wife will plan another special getaway to Cleveland and visit us again. We will keep things quiet for you and provide another exceptional stay.
Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Only about 5 minutes walking to the new casino. Across from a subway and 2 other small restaurants that do carry out or dine in. Had the flatbread for lunch, very good. Rooms were very modern with laptop area, and other basic ammenties, but just everything was very modern. Breakfast had everything you need to get started in the morning. Check out and in was very smooth.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
jetlag89,
Thank you for your review. We're glad you stayed with us at Hampton Inn and enjoyed your visit. I'm pleased to know that you liked our modern hotel, delicious breakfast, and convenient location to many venues. I hope you had a great time in Cleveland! Please plan to visit us again.
Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Bay, Alaska
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My family of four stayed here for one night as a halfway stop between Kentucky and New York, and I wanted to visit the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. I called them because they had a package deal online, but the lady who answered the phone was nice enough to tell me it would be cheaper for me to pay a la carte since I qualify for military discounts. I think I paid $106 a night. The hotel is on a main drag between the baseball stadium and the museum, so it's convenient for those going to one or the other. Valet parking only as far as I know, and I think it was $10 a night. Room was very nice, almost posh. Breakfast room was crowded but a good hot meal. Elevators worked, staff were friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
BavariaJG,
Thank you for your nice review. We're glad you chose to stay with us while visiting Cleveland. I hope you and your family enjoyed your visit to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Please make plans to visit us again. We enjoyed having you as our guest.
Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#7 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate in comfortable and convenient hotels in Cleveland, Ohio at the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown, located 13 miles from Cleveland-Hopkins International Airport. This hotel in downtown Cleveland is perfectly situated near the greatest attractions that Cleveland has to offer. Visit the Playhouse Square Theater District, or catch a Cleveland Browns or Indians game during your visit. Enjoy a day of fun at The Greater Cleveland Aquarium, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Horseshoe Casino or visit Cleveland's financial district, all within walking distance from the hotel.Start your day right with our free hot breakfast and unwind in the evening at our lobby bar, open Monday through Saturday from 5.00pm to 11.00pm. Stay connected in our 24-hour business center and enjoy complimentary high-speed internet access in every guest room. The fitness center features cardio and weight equipment to help you maintain your healthy lifestyle. The Suite Shop is available 24-hours for snacks and beverages. Among downtown Cleveland hotels, you’ll find the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown is close to it all but far from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.