We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful downtown hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rock Hall of Fame Package
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Madeira, Ohio
Level Contributor
244 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Wonderful downtown hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Love the modern decor, great location and friendly staff. Clean, comfortable rooms with beautiful bathrooms. Breakfast Buffett had the best variety I have seen at a Hampton and was kept well stocked. I will return- thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: View of the church across the street is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
You are more than welcome luckyno39, thank YOU for staying with us! Hope you had a chance to check out some of the local attractions while you were here.

Until next time,

Mike Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    330
    92
    47
    30
See reviews for
224
253
57
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I was running late, enough said. David English at the front desk zoomed me through check in and from that point on everything was great. The room was spotless, and the bed was excellent. The linens were soft as butter it was an excellent stay. If in Cleveland again this is where I will be.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Leslie L,

We are thrilled to be your hotel of choice in Cleveland and that we inspired you to write your first TripAdvisor review! Thanks very much for the kudos and for going out of your way to mention David, I agree he’s a great asset to the team.

Best,

Mike Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We booked 2 nights here while we visited Cedar Point and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. We arrived about 5 pm on the appointed day only to be told that there was only one king bed in the room I had specifically booked for 3 people. We're a close family but not that close. The guy on the desk told us that they weren't allowed to allocate rollaway beds because of fire dept regulations which sounds garbage enough to be true. Anyway, they dug out extra bedding for us and my son spent 2 comfortable nights sleeping on the floor (the receptionist did try to get us into another hotel but, as our car had been valet parked by this time and I was disinclined to cart bags around to a hotel goodness knows where, we stayed put). On the plus side, the room was quiet and the hotel is well-situated for the R& hall of fame and some excellent restaurants. We'd probably stay here again though it would be interesting to see how we got on booking a room with one person sleeping on the floor.
One word of warning - the $20 a day plus tax for valet parking is obscene considering the local garages charge $8 a day. If you're staying here, you'd do well to park your car in a nearby garage and walk - there's plenty of room out front to unload.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
johnmnzAsheville_NC,
Thank you for your review and recommendation.  We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments.

Yours truly,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We arrived after an 11 hour ride to the Hampton on a Friday at rush hour and a few hours before a baseball game and thought we were in a nightmare! After finally checking and settling in we were very surprised. We had a suite on the 6th floor yes the view was not to desirable but the room was very spacious and clean. Comfortable beds, cold A/C, nice Tv's and refrigerator. Brittany and Machelle were very helpful at the front desk. Also the polite interaction from all the employees were great from the woman who kept the breakfast fully stocked to the valet guys we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Mikenyce,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel and for recommending us. I will pass along all of your comments to our team during our next weekly meeting. We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Michael Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I would have said that this Hampton was about average, but when I went to use the workout room I was told that it is under construction, and that guests are welcome to use an off-site facility. Like I'm really going to walk around downtown Cleveland at night by myself in my workout clothes. Someone didn't think this option through, and I wish I would have known this before I booked with them because I would have stayed elsewhere. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Elizabeth L,

I’m sorry we disappointed you during your stay while our fitness center was under construction. I understand your frustration but hope that you’ll return now that our renovations are complete. We’d love to have the opportunity to provide you with an outstanding experience.

Yours truly,

Mike Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I really enjoyed our recent stay as the hotel is walking distance to the Quicken Arena and the Rock 'n Roll Hall of Fame. The staff is very friendly and polite, the rooms are very clean and the breakfast was above average. It is good to see such a well managed hotel and to enjoy the stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear OLJ7,

I greatly appreciate your review, most especially your comment on seeing a well-managed hotel. I’m very proud of my team and am delighted you enjoyed the hotel.

Yours truly,

Mike Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We arrived around 4:00 pm and the valet promptly greeted us and took our luggage to the front desk where we quickly checked in - there were no lines and we were in our room in a matter of minutes.

Our room (#1101) was very clean and furnished nicely with a flat screen tv and king-sized bed. The air conditioner was already turned on so the room was comfortable (it was 90 outside). The bathroom had a granite counter top and while it was small, it was adequate. The window faced Superior Avenue - there was no view to enjoy - just the office building across the street. Perhaps a room on Ninth Street might offer a better view.

We walked to Public Square to visit the Horseshoe Casino and next day to Progressive Field for the Reds/Indians game. The Hampton is very convenient and walking was easy wearing comfortable shoes. It is also within walking distance for the Rock 'n Roll Hall of Fame and a good look at Lake Erie.

We enjoyed our stay at the Hampton - we would have rated it five stars but the room lacked a refrigerator - and the valet parking was $20/per day.

Room Tip: Rooms with window facing Ninth Street gives a better view - not great, but better than Superior Aven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Twoeaasytravelers,

It’s great to hear you enjoyed the hotel and our location, thanks very much for the review! I hope you had a great time at the game and came away from the casino a winner. We hope you come back to visit us again; we do have spare mini-fridges available upon request, we would be happy to ensure you have one waiting for you in your room, please just ask!

Take care,

Mike Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cleveland Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
Cleveland Marriott Downtown at Key Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Cleveland Downtown / Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#9 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#10 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate in comfortable and convenient hotels in Cleveland, Ohio at the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown, located 13 miles from Cleveland-Hopkins International Airport. This hotel in downtown Cleveland is perfectly situated near the greatest attractions that Cleveland has to offer. Visit the Playhouse Square Theater District, or catch a Cleveland Browns or Indians game during your visit. Enjoy a day of fun at The Greater Cleveland Aquarium, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Horseshoe Casino or visit Cleveland's financial district, all within walking distance from the hotel.Start your day right with our free hot breakfast and unwind in the evening at our lobby bar, open Monday through Saturday from 5.00pm to 11.00pm. Stay connected in our 24-hour business center and enjoy complimentary high-speed internet access in every guest room. The fitness center features cardio and weight equipment to help you maintain your healthy lifestyle. The Suite Shop is available 24-hours for snacks and beverages. Among downtown Cleveland hotels, you’ll find the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown is close to it all but far from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.