We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast Bonaza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase
Ranked #6 of 33 hotels in Cleveland
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Breakfast Bonaza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The first impression was that the hotel actually looked BETTER in person than how it was portrayed on the website, especially the exterior which from the website’s photo looked as if Hampton was trying to hide something- I’m not sure why they show such an unappealing exterior photo. The lobby appeared to be newly renovated as were the floor hallways and the rooms with trendy finishes and lighting (not so for the elevators- I hope Hampton plans to spend a few more dollars on an elevator facelift). The room verged on glamorous, with nice black out roman shades, trendy new carpet, built-in wood desk and indirect lighting. The bath was loaded with toiletries and towels too and felt quite upscale.

The staff was both friendly and professional. And what a breakfast! Vast, hot and well stocked, even when a line appeared Saturday morning the crowd seemed to be well managed. OK, the potatoes weren’t particularly edible and the eggs came premade from the same factory as those at Holiday Inn express but were at least hot. Kudos for the large range of offerings and the additional items which surpassed that of other hotels in this league such as the fruit salad and the toppings for oatmeal. Wifi is free and fast- much appreciated. Parking is valet only at 20 bucks but with a weekend arrival, we were able to park nearby on the street for free. All in all a fantastic experience and highly recommended for a visit to the Hall of Fame which is located only a few blocks away. Hampton Inn has a new fan

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Hi SteveDesign,

We’re so glad we’ve made you a Hampton Inn fan! Thanks very much for your kind review, you are correct that we are newly renovated. So recently that we just had our photo shoot and anticipate the new photos will be on our website very soon. I’m pleased to know you enjoyed breakfast, I couldn’t have described the variety we offer better myself!

Take care,

Mike Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    220
    65
    35
    21
See reviews for
151
167
42
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I agree with the review "“Excellent attention to detail and value!”". The worst thing about this place is how the building looks from the outside. The lobby, elevators and lobby could be better but isn't so bad.
The staff is fantastic. The rooms were surprisingly beautiful (Staying in room 1118, overlooking the church across the street). The breakfast had a good spread in a such a small space - eggs, oatmeal, bread, cereal, croissants, waffles, pancakes, fruits, yogurt, etc. They have coffee/tea and fruits all day in the lobby. Free internet everywhere. It's $20 a day for parking (valet).
Location- dont know if there is necessarily a most optimal location downtown. We were close to the lake/rock and roll hall of fame/science museum/the submarine... on the downtown side, also pretty close to E 4th Street, the arcade, the terminal tower. We walked to the warehouse district and even to the flats (don't recommend walking to the flats).
Bottom line- would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Many thanks from all of us for the five star review RM12! It’s great you were able to experience so much of the area while you were in town and we look forward to the chance to see you again.

Take care,

Mike Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Recent complete renovation of this Hilton property make it an excellent value for downtown Cleveland accomodations. Staff is extremely attentive and there are numerous details such as four coffee selections throughout the day in lobby as well as fresh fruit, an outstanding free breakfast buffet, free local calls and in-room wifi. Decor is contemporary upscale and for the business or solo traveler, you will not be disappointed. Parking at $20 is a little steep but other than that, great location, close to Rock Hall, Science Center, USS Cod museum and RTA North Coast rapid line, which goes to Tower City (This line does NOT run on weekends though!).

Room Tip: Avoid 5th floor on end of hallway near housekeeping station. The ladies can get a little loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
We’re so glad you enjoyed our hotel matt787! I see on your profile that you’re from Cleveland, perhaps this was a local getaway for you, thanks for choosing our hotel for your “Staycation”. We appreciate your compliments and hope you had a great time seeing the local sights.

Best,

Mike Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We checked in around 5:00 in the afternoon and stayed for 1 night. From the valet to the front desk to housekeeping, every encounter with the staff was pleasant. The room was really clean and updated. The only (minor) drawback is the amount of noise. Between the traffic, the church across the street and the air conditioner, I was glad that I traveled with earplugs. The hotel was located perfectly between the casino and R & R Hall of Fame. We walked back and forth to both. If we visit Cleveland again, we would definitely stay at this property. The free breakfast was an added bonus.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear MKGPittsburgh,

It’s great to know you had a good time during your visit to Cleveland, we’re glad we could be a part of it, thanks for staying with us and for the review!

Yours truly,

Mike Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Overall a very nice stay. The room was renovated and very clean. The breakfast was free and although it was crowded it wasnt too bad at all to get the food and it was fairly tasty and a nice assortment for free.

The hotel has a great location right in the middle of downtown.

A few non-positives (wouldnt really call them negatives) were that valet parking was a pain in the rear (there just wasnt enough space and it seemed to take a while to get your car back), the air conditioner should have been replaced during renovation as it was a little loud and obnoxious and that they should have renovated the elevators as you could really tell they didnt

Overall a great stay for the money and I would go back

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Your review is appreciated PLM2534, thank you for your comments. It’s important to hear the negative along with the positive, and I’m glad you took the time to share them both.

Yours truly,

Mike Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

If you have read any of my other hotel reviews, you will see that a favorite thing for me to look for in a good hotel is the location. This hotel qualifies for one of the best locations I have ever stayed in while visiting a city. My traveling group and I have always been big fans of Hampton Inns because of their quality and this one was no exception. It was clean, well lit, and friendly. The valets who park your car are some of the best in the business. They are polite, prompt, and if you interact with them at all they can be hilarious. We had an ongoing joke with one of them that we played every time we walked through the lobby. The breakfast was very good with a couple of hot options which is always a plus. The room itself was very spacious but it was a little bit dark even in the middle of the day and the view was of the machinery in the back of the building but if you're going to stay in a downtown hotel, the idea is not to spend time cooped up in your hotel room. The hotel sits on the corner of a street and is within walking distance of Progressive Field, the USS Cod, the Science Museum, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, and there is a great cathedral just across the street from the hotel as well as several great little restaurants and a neat pedestrian only walkway that has an outstanding nightlife scene. Smack in the middle of things and, most of all, affordable!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
We’re thrilled to be considered as being in one of the best locations you’ve stayed at ryandvy, that speaks volumes from a seasoned traveler such as yourself. We’re fortunate to have a great team, I’m glad our valet team members added a bit of fun to your stay.

Safe travels,

Mike Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Went to Cleveland to visit the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and go to a baseball game at Progressive Field. This hotel is an excellent choice for walking to either one. The hotel has been recently remodeled and the rooms were outstanding. The layout was excellent and spacious. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful with choices for many tastes and varied daily. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Hi Infowmn,

Hope you had a great time at the Rock Hall and the game! Thanks from all of us for your excellent review.

Best,

Mike Reidy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown

Address: 1460 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cleveland
#4 Family Hotel in Cleveland
#5 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate in comfortable and convenient hotels in Cleveland, Ohio at the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown, located 13 miles from Cleveland-Hopkins International Airport. This hotel in downtown Cleveland is perfectly situated near the greatest attractions that Cleveland has to offer. Visit the Playhouse Square Theater District, or catch a Cleveland Browns or Indians game during your visit. Enjoy a day of fun at The Greater Cleveland Aquarium, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Horseshoe Casino or visit Cleveland's financial district, all within walking distance from the hotel.Start your day right with our free hot breakfast and unwind in the evening at our lobby bar, open Monday through Saturday from 5.00pm to 11.00pm. Stay connected in our 24-hour business center and enjoy complimentary high-speed internet access in every guest room. The fitness center features cardio and weight equipment to help you maintain your healthy lifestyle. The Suite Shop is available 24-hours for snacks and beverages. Among downtown Cleveland hotels, you’ll find the Hampton Inn Cleveland-Downtown is close to it all but far from the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Cleveland Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.