We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of University Hotel and Suites

Save Saved
You added University Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
University Hotel and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3614 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44115 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Cleveland Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
Ottawa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Was surprised by the negative reviews. Yes this is by no means luxury accommodations, but for the price point and location, we were happy. Shower was pretty bad, breakfast was unappetizing, and rooms are outdated, but for a guys weekend, this place was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    27
    18
    64
See reviews for
15
29
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

very close to the hospitals, they provide a shuttle to get back and forth to the hospital, that way you don't have to pay for parking or deal with traffic. its very quaint and the staff are so nice and friendly. the rooms are average as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, Delaware, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Allow me to preface everything I write below with this: I am VERY low-maintenance.

The entire hotel reeks of detergent/cleaning solvent, which is ironic because it does not appear that anyone has ever cleaned anything in their lives in this building. The scent of cigarettes emanates from the elevators, and the carpets in the halls are completely disgusting. We also saw what we presumed to be some sort of drug baggies on the floor, which were not disposed of throughout the duration of our stay. The ceiling in our room was cracking and falling down. The refrigerator looked disgusting and I did not even dare to touch it. When my girlfriend decided to plug in her laptop, the tv, lamp, and refrigerator all gave out. Turning on the light in the bathroom proved to be a test of deft skill, as you had to jiggle the GFCI "reset" button to kick it on. The bed looked like it was made by a two-year-old, and there were disgusting stains on the comforter. The mirror in the bathroom looked as if someone had been popping zits on it for a century without wiping it down, and the water from the tap and shower had an unidentifiable odor that was appalling.

Oh, there were some GOOD things (insert sarcasm). There was a bottle-cap opener on the wall of the bathroom, and we found a nice new lighter under the bed.

I had read the reviews on here and thought that it was just a bunch of whiny complainers. I should have heeded the warnings. If I had been able to get my money back, I would have left immediately upon arrival. Pay the extra dough for a nicer place, because $87 a night is a ridiculous fee.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I don't usually write reviews, but feel like I must for this hotel, in order to warn others. We decided to stay here to save some money - the website made it look decent, and I decided to ignore the bad reviews....big mistake! The carpet was coming up from the floor, there was a huge dark pink stain next to the bed, we found a goldfish cracker on the floor, the bathroom fixtures were rusty, the headboard for the bed wasn't even connected to the bed, there were hairs all over the bathroom floor...but the WORST of all is that we found hairs (including short, curly black ones) in the sheets of our bed, and stains on the sheets. Needless to say, we put a blanket we had in our car over the bed and pillows, and slept on top of that. The staff was nice, but that was the ONLY good thing. Location was kind of scary too. Luckily we were only in town for a night to see a concert at The Grog Shop. We didn't even take a look at their "continental breakfast" because our room was so dirty we were afraid to eat food from the hotel. Ha. Worst hotel we've (husband and me) ever stayed at! If you think this is a good "deal," like we did, I suggest you look elsewhere. We wish we had spent a little bit more, and gotten a nice and clean room elsewhere!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were surprised at what we saw. No kidding, dark dingy rooms and hallway, rugs not vacuumed, food behind the bedside tables, a short in the lighting for the bathroom. It was $87 for the night. Too bad, this property has a lot of potential, and great locations to the Cleveland clinic and Progressive fields we visited. Unlike the previous reviews, the staff is pleasant and they are doing their best in this unfortunate situation. Some developer should take over this and complete the much needed tear down restart renovations

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife booked this hotel though a popular travel site and didn't pay much attention to reviews because we were only staying in Cleveland one night after checking out the R&R Hall of Fame. This place was probably built in the 60's or 70's and mustn't have ever been remodeled. The parking lot is kinda gravely because the blacktop is so deteriorated, it looked like an abandoned car in one corner. Building exterior is worn out and parts are falling off. Lobby is like I said probably 40 years old and should have been updated 10 years ago. We thought maybe the rooms are in better shape.....not a chance. Our room was old dingy and dirty. I used the bathroom and there was a (fill in the blank) hair on the toilet seat. My wife and 2 teenage daughters were absolutely grossed out. We left after 10 minutes and got a great room at the DoubleTree.

Bottom line is don't consider this dive. The only thing that can help this joint is a wrecking ball.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Friend booked this place for our road trip without checking reviews, obviously. It's a hole. Basically a nasty dorm. They would not let us check in until 4pm, so we went downtown and came back around 11pm. The desk staff were so-so but looked like bikers. The room looked mediocre, and I could tell it was going to be noisy, but then we had a look at the beds and saw evidence of bed bugs. There was no way I was chancing it. I think the desk staff are used to people bailing because they did not seem surprised. As we waited in the lobby, we got a good sense of the clientele - pretty sketchy. We had to jump through some hoops by getting Expedia to cancel for us, but then we were on our way and not looking back. If you have ANY standards, do not waste your time here. It is NOT worth the reduced expense.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Hotel and Suites

Address: 3614 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44115 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Cleveland Downtown)
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — University Hotel and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Venere so you can book your University Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Cleveland
University Hotel And Suites Cleveland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.