We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of University Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added University Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
University Hotel and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3614 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44115 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Cleveland Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My buddy and I were in Cleveland for some baseball and didn't want to pay the top dollar right downtown. Very reasonable rates. The room was clean, and the staff very helpful. This isn't the taj mahal, but for some guys wanting to spend their money on food and beer instead of a $300 hotel room, it's great. There is a transit line right at the door which will get you into the heart of the city within 15 minutes. Having said that, I wouldn't take my wife there.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    28
    18
    64
See reviews for
15
30
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE OR GIVE THIS HOTEL ANY OF YOUR FINANCIAL INFORMATION!!!!!!
After originally booking for two nights and only staying one I was told by the front desk that I would only be charged the one day and the manager would state that to hotels.com when they call in regards to issuing a refund. Instead, the hotel fraudulently place my signature on a document with policies that I did not have a chance to review or was not made aware of. The document was clearly altered and I was charged for time I did not spend there. I contacted hotels.com and they would not issue a refund even after being made fully aware of the situation and said there was nothing they could do about it. BUYER BEWARE!!!! These companies will not be on your side and do not care about keeping your business!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Deseptive trade practices comes to mind when we arrived at this hotel. It was worse than a motel six The breakfast should not be offered to an animal. It was awful. The rooms were filled with old furniture and we could only get 13 channels on the tv although they said they had 70? Will not recommend this Inn to my worse enemy.

Room Tip: This hotel needs serious renovations immediately before they charge rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtabula, Oh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Waited too long to make reservations and had to settle for this hole in the wall. Was in town for the Cleveland Marathon and this was the closest hotel that still had rooms available for the weekend. Did not feel very secure in this neighborhood, in fact we were awakened by a loud argument in the parking lot around 3am.

Totally outdated electrical service in the room. We had to unplug alarm clock, coffee pot and microwave to have enough outlets for our laptops and cell phone chargers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The place seemed like such a bargain -- until we woke up with bites all over. It wasn’t all bad; the free wireless was very helpful to locate another hotel and we spent several hours in the very convenient laundry room to clean and heat dry everything before coming home...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

If you want to use the wi-fi w/o getting homicidal urges, stay on an even numbered floor. They really do try to compete on the "hotel" front, but it's really more like a cross between student dorms & a cheap motel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel is between downtown Cleveland and University circle. The neighborhood is basically deserted. You don't want to walk alone in the streets. However, there is a metro station right in front of the hotel and there is a free shuttle service to Case Western Reserve University. The rooms are clean. The bathrooms too. The breakfast is decent. I am pretty sure you can not get a better service for cheaper than this hotel. We made a very thorough research before choosing it. Some motels are more expensive and further from downtown. This really is a great deal.

Room Tip: The price depends on the period , so the price for 2 weeks is less than if you are staying only 1 we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Hotel and Suites

Address: 3614 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44115 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Cleveland Downtown)
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — University Hotel and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your University Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Cleveland
University Hotel And Suites Cleveland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.