We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't stay here again.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of University Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added University Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
University Hotel and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3614 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44115 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Cleveland Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Ashtabula, Oh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Won't stay here again.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Waited too long to make reservations and had to settle for this hole in the wall. Was in town for the Cleveland Marathon and this was the closest hotel that still had rooms available for the weekend. Did not feel very secure in this neighborhood, in fact we were awakened by a loud argument in the parking lot around 3am.

Totally outdated electrical service in the room. We had to unplug alarm clock, coffee pot and microwave to have enough outlets for our laptops and cell phone chargers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    30
    18
    64
See reviews for
15
31
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The place seemed like such a bargain -- until we woke up with bites all over. It wasn’t all bad; the free wireless was very helpful to locate another hotel and we spent several hours in the very convenient laundry room to clean and heat dry everything before coming home...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

If you want to use the wi-fi w/o getting homicidal urges, stay on an even numbered floor. They really do try to compete on the "hotel" front, but it's really more like a cross between student dorms & a cheap motel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel is between downtown Cleveland and University circle. The neighborhood is basically deserted. You don't want to walk alone in the streets. However, there is a metro station right in front of the hotel and there is a free shuttle service to Case Western Reserve University. The rooms are clean. The bathrooms too. The breakfast is decent. I am pretty sure you can not get a better service for cheaper than this hotel. We made a very thorough research before choosing it. Some motels are more expensive and further from downtown. This really is a great deal.

Room Tip: The price depends on the period , so the price for 2 weeks is less than if you are staying only 1 we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The first room we were in had brown gritty stuff in the sink & we were told that it was chemicals that had been poured down the sink earlier. Then the toilet leaked & we had about 1/2 an inch of water on the floor. Then when I flushed the toilet after that was fixed the toilet backup into the sink. They moved us to another room had holes in the walls & the wallpaper was ripping. & you can hear people having showers.
The second night, the people next door came in @ 4am & were making alot of noise. I went over to their room & the door was open & I could smell pot. Told them to quiet down but that didn't last. Finally called the front desk & complained but the noise went on until after 5am. We learned the next day that they were kicked out. Took them long enough to do that. It is not in a good part of the city & I would never stay there again. They were going to charge us an extra $20 for the 2nd room because we booked on line but after all the trouble we had they cancelled the extra charge.
The staff was friendly & eager to help out.

Room Tip: The higher you are the WiFi is worse. It really sucked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel was a perfect place to sleep on a budget. We visited Cleveland for a Cavs game and did not want to pay the high prices downtown. This hotel was the perfect solution. It's only a 1.5 miles from downtown with a bus stop right out in front and it's only $5 for an all day ticket. Way better than paying cab prices and waiting on a cab if you don't call early. The hotel was average, we had a nice hot shower, the rooms were clean, and the staff was helpful. I agree you get what you pay for, but when you just need a place to sleep, this is your place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We went to cleveland to see a browns game and visit the rock and roll hall of fame. This hotel was a good price and a good location. Unfourtunately, the hotel was filthy. We checked in and found our room was not clean, stains on the walls and carpet but the worst was a large stain on our blanket that was clearly not washed. The staff was polite and we changed rooms. The new room had 4 dirty used towels crumpled on the floor and no clean ones. I would not recomend staying here at all. Very unsanitary.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to University Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Hotel and Suites

Address: 3614 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44115 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Cleveland Downtown)
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — University Hotel and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your University Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Cleveland
University Hotel And Suites Cleveland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.