We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't let the bad reviews by others scare you away!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of University Hotel and Suites

Save Saved
You added University Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
University Hotel and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3614 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44115 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Cleveland Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“don't let the bad reviews by others scare you away!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed 2 nights (Sat and Sun) so we could go to the Bills-Browns game. We checked in at 4pm on Saturday and saw that all of the people checking in and most of the hotel guests in general were all Bills fans in town for the game. We booked our stay here because there was literally NOTHING in the downtown Cleveland area for a decent price. My boyfriend and I do not consider $150 per night for a place to crash after a day of drinking affordable.

We booked through Hotwire and were told after making our reservation that the hotel had been downgraded after we booked from a 2 star to a 1 star based on the amenities. Despite reading the horrible reviews, we stuck with the plan and figured it couldn't really be that bad.

The hotel was what I would expect of a cheap, 1 star, convenient place to stay. We were not expecting luxury, and were very happy with our stay. The hotel in general was run down, but I would not call it dirty or the conditions substandard. Our room was clean and comfortable. The beds were good, the bathroom was fine, and we had no concerns for our safety. We walked back from downtown around 7pm on the Sunday after the game and had no issues walking. We did not feel unsafe. We know not to leave valuables in our car, so we did not have concerns with the parking lot either. If you want a cheap place to stay and you aren't setting your expectations at a 4 star level this is a great place to stay. For the drink and go to the game crowd I'd highly recommend it. It was super loud on the Saturday night and everyone was partying before the game the next morning, but I don't blame the hotel for that and I really don't mind listening to people yelling LET'S GO BILLS! in the hallways as much as they want. We had a fridge and a microwave that were VERY handy.

The only complaints I would have are that 1) we could not connect to the internet which was supposed to be available, and 2) the breakfast was not great. Weak coffee and my boyfriend ate some waffles out of a cereal bowl on Monday morning because they were out of plates - and several other supplies. Probably due to the mad rush of people on Sunday morning. Overall we had a very comfortable stay and don't feel the harsh reviews we read before going on our trip were warranted!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    27
    18
    63
See reviews for
15
29
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hinesville, Georgia, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

when i got here on a monday,everything looked normal,went to the rock n roll hall of fame,1st day,and then it rained the next morning but only for an hour,then i went to the metroparks zoo.this hotel on the left side overlooks the road with a bus stop in the middle of it.the elevator is black and silver swirls in it,nice.in the front lobby,to the left is a bar n grill,and to the right is a wishing fountain,with chinese vases nearby.cheap--87.19 per night.it is the cheapest rated hotel in cleveland according to the cab driver.everything else is over $200 a night.had pizza and soda on the first night.

Room Tip: what swimming pool?had no room service,didn't need it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akron
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed Saturday night after a concert. Our room was supposed to be ready at 4 pm and we didn't gain entry to the room until 6. we waited in the lobby for ANOTHER half hour while other guests were helped; everything was filthy dirty. Our sheets had been used, there were dirty wash rags in the shower, the blanket had crusty stains all throughout, the remote had no batteries, there was only 2 working lights in the room, out of 4...no hot water in the sink, no microwave or fridge when we were told there would be..the front desk staff were of no help-not rude just treated us as an inconvenience. Also, the fact that I was charged before I even got there, was UNACCEPTABLE. The whole place reeked of bbq chicken. Needless to say, this was a MAJOR disappointment. We chose to not stay a second night.

Room Tip: do not choose this facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel, generally, was fine and affordable. The room I staid in had visible stains on some walls, and there were markings on the box spring which suggest bed bugs. I had two bites from the night I slept here, but since I did not check for bed bugs I cannot be sure if they were the cause.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed one night with a bunch of family for the Yankees game and let me tell you, the place was disgusting... Even for one night we didn't want to be there. It was like a crack shack.... Old tissues on the ground, food inside of our air conditioner, no nobs on the air conditioner to adjust, the TV had no sound for some channels, the bar at one bartender who kept walking away from the bar leaving everyone aggravated, the elevators wouldn't come when we hit the button, toilet sit was attacked to toilet, bed sheets were absolutely filthy stained, rooms smelled. I do not recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Avoid this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed here the other night and not only will never stay here again but will tell anyone and everyone to do the same. This hotel not only should be torn down but actually investigated. The hotel staff were kind but not put together and frankly the entire lobby smelled. The hotel is in bad shape in terms of up keep and cleanliness. We brought out little dogs and I was even afraid to let them out of their crates. The hotel room was dirty, smelled, and the materials within the hotel room were YEARS old, including the blankets, pillows, etc. The blankets had numerous stains and the bathroom was filthy! Stay away!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I were quite apprehensive about spending three nights in this hotel with our young son.after reading all of the negative reviews here.
We visited Cleveland to see some Red Sox games, visit the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. and to to see the city, shop, etc.
Anyways, the room was spacious, clean and the beds were quite large and comfortable.
There was also a fridge and microwave in the room which came in quite handy.
The bus stopped very regularly right next to the hotel in both directions.
The hotel is located on the portion of Euclid St., that is not heavily settled or traveled as opposed to the other end of Euclid a mile and a half or two away which is in the downtown section.
That said, we only rode the bus one time and the other times we walked from the hotel to the downtown section including late at night and NEVER once felt threatened.as some said or implied.
The street near the hotel while not heavily traveled is very well lit, and as stated not once during our regular walks feel threatened.
We were also treated courteously by the staff and they took the time to answer questions regarding directions and other matters.
No the hotel is not the Hilton, Bellagio, etc., and it is a bit old.
However, unless you are planning to live your vacation in your hotel room, overall it was just fine and even more so with the amenities.
Overall I recommend this place and even more so if your don't want to pay double or even triple what the big name hotels charge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Hotel and Suites

Address: 3614 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44115 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Cleveland Downtown)
Location: United States > Ohio > Cleveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — University Hotel and Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline and Venere so you can book your University Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Cleveland
University Hotel And Suites Cleveland, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.